We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
charleston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Olivia Plaza hotel for three nights in July before our cruise. The hotel is very centrally located. We had a room overlooking the Catalunya Plaza which was very nice and comfortable. However, the floor was so old which made it look dirty. Oddly, the bathroom vanities didn't come with a soap. And the hotel's breakfast was very unreasonable priced. The free wi-fi works but slow sometimes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2worldtravelleers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    593
    133
    29
    23
See reviews for
359
1,042
64
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 4 days.
Its on a very busy place, Plaza Catalunya, but not to worry, once you enter the hotel, its a oasis Of calm. Beautiful, and fancy rooms, especially the bathrooms. Very modern and clean. Ceiling to floor Windows overlooking the plaza was excellent! Good breakfast buffet, and very Nice staff, helping us book restaurants etc. We stayed with two kids, Room divided with colored glass- door.
Excellent location-- walking distance to a lot, If not, buses and taxis right outside the door. Perfect!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Had an amazing time.Room was lovely. Suite 806.
Location was amazing.
Staff were so friendly, couldn't do enough for us.Even arranged a meal reservation at Hard Rock Cafe for my son's 8th birthday.
Breakfast was excellent with a vast choice . A good start to the day.
Loved it. Loved it. Loved it.!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgoodman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The location is absolutely wonderful. The rooms are very nice and big for European standards. We had a wonderful view of the piazza from our room. The staff is great and recommended different things for us to do. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luqa, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We just stayed at the Olivia hotel for 2 nights. The room we were in was beautiful, as it had a panoramic view of Placa Catalunya. The hotel is in a very central location. Metro is just a few seconds away from the hotel, and it is surrounded by numerous shops and cafes. La Ramblas is just round the corner. Excellent Hotel and highly recommended.

The breakfast is a little expensive, but cafeteria is just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 906 is a must :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinEllul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYPRUS
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We visited the hotel in the beginning of August. We used the Aerobus that takes you directly outside the hotel. We arrived at 12:00 at noon ant the Receptionist kindly asked as if we can wait until 15:00 to give as our room. It worth the delay since the room was great on the 10th floor with a great view. The only bad thing was that it was not 100% clean but still it was nice.
The breakfast is also great and of good quality. The Wifi was good but not constant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YIANNOS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streamwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is a couple doors away from the Hard Rock Cafe and faces Placa de Catalunya (City Center). The Aerobus from the airport drops you off just around the corner. The location was very convenient and a short walk to La Rambla and exploring the many interesting streets of the Barri Gotic. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The view of Placa de Catalunya from our balcony was definitely a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LotusExplorerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#83 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#20 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing