We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Had a great stay here for christmas with the family. Central location, modern justified 4 star hotel, friendly staff. Our room was large and comfortable with a great view and no issues with noise despite the very central location. Buffet breakfast was varied and good. Overall we thought very good value for money and would definetely consider staying here again on a next trip to wonderful Barcelona.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10below
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

Picked the hotel for 3 reasons - larger rooms than typical in Barcelona, free Wifi, and location. None disappointed. Airport bus stops right outside and metro is near, but hotel as other reviewers say is very quiet. Staff very pleasant, rooms immaculate, lots of storage space and wodnerfull showers. Room spacious, light and airy, (and onky a standard room, I think) good bed and terrific view over the Plaza. we stayed four days over Christmas and it was good value. Only ate in the restaurant once - breakfast was OK but obviously hotel prices and there are much better places down towards the old town. Our one dinner was good if unremarkable. Wifi signal weak in room (8th floor) but very good in public areas and computer area was nice.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view over the Plaza - ours was 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We recently stayed at Olivia Hotels for the first time, besides being right at the center of the City, the hotel was very well taken care of and their staff was always very helpful in any questions and needs we had.
We were staying at one of their suites, the room was very nice, comfortable beds and pretty big considering such a centered location, showers were very nice and with all the amenities needed..
Our room had a full wall window view of Placa Catalunya.
Very charming hotel and right at the heart of Barcelona, you can walk everywhere or take any subway, bus, train since you have the main station within 2 minutes walk.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordies5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Don't expect huge rooms unless you're booking their suites. The standard rooms are small but fantastically designed to make good use of space.

The best feature of this hotel is, without a doubt, the shower. They are monsoon style and simply wonderful.

The bar downstairs is useful as it's open late, staffed by a friendly team and usually quiet in the evenings.

The hotel location is ideal for checking out Barcelona -- it's right on Plaza Cataluna and about 100 paces from the top of Las Ramblas and the underground.

The internet has always been a problem. Some rooms have excellent WiFi reception, others not. So be explicit with the team when you check-in if you're needing a decent connection.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Located in the Plaza Catalunya, you can't stay a more central place in the city. Best for city dwellers. Good rooms, good breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akyuruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Olivia plaza is so well located, right on the Plaza Catalunya. The hotel is modern in style--the rooms are pristine and the beds are very comfortable. Internet worked well and was included in my rate. I agree with the other reviewers that it is quiet despite being situated in the middle of town. Breakfast is delicious and worth including in your reservation. Take the airport bus which is a great value and drops you off close by. I cannot stress what a terrific value this hotel represents--with friendly staff and attractive accommodations, you will leave with a smile on your face.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aerotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We have stayed at this hotel between 13-18 Nov 2011 and I have to say it was a great choice :) We stayed in room 408 on the forth floor with a georgeous view ti Catalunya Plaza. I cant say a bad word about this hotel! The location is perfect, and hotel is very sound proof which makes it perfect to stay wit a toddler- feels like you are the only guest in this hotel :) Rooms were spotless, same with bathrooms and toilets. Bed was huge and the baby cot was provided, nice and colorful which our daughter loved.
Staff, always ready to help, proviede everything we needed.
Didnt use the hotel restaurant, so cant tell anything about the food, but it did look like they have a great variety.
I am happy to answer any questions if anyone needs an advice :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 516 in Barcelona
2,284 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 516 in Barcelona
956 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 516 in Barcelona
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#84 of 516 in Barcelona
677 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 516 in Barcelona
2,347 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 516 in Barcelona
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £97 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing