We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Experience”
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #30 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The Olivia Plaza Hotel is a perfect location hotel to experience the Heart of Barcelona; the Ramblas. Centrally located this hotel exceeded our expectations. It truly is a must to take advantage of when visiting Barcelona. The rooms were very up to date and modernized. The hotel staff were very warm and helpful. This hotel made the trip. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Abel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    613
    135
    29
    23
See reviews for
386
1,097
65
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My wife & I stayed two nights in this hotel at the end of a cruise & land tour. The Hotel Olivia Plaza is a modern hotel that is very, very convenient. It is located across from the large Plaza Catalunya where you can get purchase tickets for the 'hop on - hop off' bus; steps away from the pedestrian walk - La Rambla and within easy walking distance from a number of tourist attractions.

Our room on the sixth floor was large, clean and provided wifi. We opted for the extra charge for the breakfast and were not disappointed - there was an excellent variety of well prepared items to choose from. The staff was very friendly and helpful as we stored our bags the last day while we went on the HOHO bus sightseeing.

The only snafu that didn't amount to anything was that we requested a king-size bed and when we went into the room it was setup as two singles. We left it alone as I was not feeling too well at the time.

We did not use the swimming pool or fitness center so we cannot comment on these facilities..

Room Tip: Request an upper floor away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh_travelerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel was lovely, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The holiday was for my partner and her friends joint birthdays. They even had a bottle of champagne delivered to the room (free of charge. It was my partners' 50th birthday). Great room, 5-10 mins walk away from Las Ramblas. They absolutely loved the hotel and were well looked after. I would definitely book the hotel again,

Thank you so much,
Kevin McCurdy

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank capofero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The hotel has a nice central location for seeing Barcelona. We had a plaza view room - the room was surprisely quiet and was comfortable. We did not order the breakfast due to expense and prior reviews, forgot about this due to jet lag, and were shocked to learn that this cost about 19 euros each (of course, after we had eaten). The breakfast was not worth it. The coffee out of a machine - the kind you put a powder pkt in to make 1 cup. Good coffee in the morning is important to my husband and I, therefore, we would probably not stay here again.

However, if coffee (and a good breakfast) is not your thing this is an excellent hotel. Wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Olivia Plaza because of its central location. It is walking distance to everything and the tour buses pick up right in front of the hotel. We had an inside room so it was nice and quiet; however we had two huge support poles in the room so it made maneuvering a bit tricky. So try to avoid room 512 as it is made much smaller with the poles. The bathroom was a bit odd as described in other reviews so it wasn't too bad because I was expecting it. The shower was actually very nice but the toilet area was a bit uncomfortable because it was so small. All in all, the staff were great, the location was great and I definitely would stay there again. The pros outweigh the cons.

Room Tip: Avoid room 512 as it has big structural support poles. It is an inside room; however, and was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

This is the perfect hotel for exploring Barcelona! The beds are super comfy, the design are clean and nice. The rooms are spacious. I thought the breakfast where perfect. We ate at the Hotel restaurant, and the food where wery good ( the crouccets are perfect)
And there where not mutch noise, despite the location! Loved it!

Helpful?
Thank GroAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Very polite and helpful staff. The room was contemporary and comfortable. The location was excellent, around the corner from Las Ramblas and in the middle of much action in Barcelona. Yet, it was very quiet in our room. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel again. The subway was across the street. Even the tour bus was on the corner. How convenient! It was a very pleasing experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,217 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#20 of 513 in Barcelona
675 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 513 in Barcelona
1,338 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
450 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 513 in Barcelona
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing