We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints!”
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #35 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No complaints!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

No better location and extremely convenient for people who are using the Aerobus. Very near La Ramblas, Passeig de Gràcia, all major shops, Catalunya metro station, etc.

Staff was very friendly. Hotel room was very comfortable and clean. We got a room on the highest floor and enjoyed superb views onto Placa Catalunya!

Safety was a big concern for us when we were booking a hotel. Originally we were looking at hotels on Passeig de Gràcia but chose Hotel Olivia on Placa Catalunya because of the convenient location. Turned out to be a great choice. We felt safe walking back to the hotel even around midnight! It is true that there are many pickpockets in Barcelona but as long as you take the necessary precautions and are aware of your surroundings at all times, you should be fine. We did not feel unsafe in the Metro or La Ramblas. I chose not to bring my DLSR because I was afraid of being a target but in retrospect given the amazing photography opportunities in Barcelona I regret not having done so.

Just a tip to other travelers - shops are NOT open on Sunday. Do not make the mistake we did and plan for Sunday as shopping day. The only mall open on Sunday is the mall near the Harbour.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkbeetroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    606
    135
    29
    23
See reviews for
373
1,071
65
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UnIted Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel from Monday 4th June to Friday 8th June. We can agree that the hotel is in a great location but the room itself (Room 211) was cramoed and felt very claustraphobic.The sliding door which slid between the toilet and shower was difficult to move when your hands were wet from the shower and there was very little storage space for clothes and only a small cupboard with 3 shelves for any clothes that you didn't need to hang up and one of these shelves you couldn't use as the room safe was there.
We had twin beds pushed together but unfortunately the wheels were so good on the bed that the slightest movement caused the bed to roll.
The room was quiet as we were looking towards the inner courtyard. The hotel did seem busy with a mixture of tourists and business people.
the breakfast was plentiful and a good variety although the fried eggs were not particulary plesant as they were left under a hot lamp and became rubbery. Also, on the 2nd day we were there we did not get up that early and went down for reakfats at about 10.35am and were told by the waitress quite curtly that breakfast finished at 11.00am! rather strange as we had at least 25 minutes to go. Apart from this waitress we did not really have that much contact with the staff but what we did they seemed fine, especially the nice doormen who were always plesant on opening the front door of the hotel for guests.
Location good - room we stayed in small and did not like doors sliding over toilet and shower also very small area around wash basin.Storage inadequate.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CofidreUnItedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 12 day vacation in Europe that included a stop in Barcelona. We selected the Hotel Olivia as it was a recommended property from American Express and the location appeared to be ideal.

Upon arrival, we found the location to be more than ideal...it was in the epicenter of activity just steps from Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter.

We arrived early, so the friendly staff (yes, they speak english) stored our luggage so that we could begin sightseeing. There was so much to see within a short walking distance and the "hop on, hop off" bus tours stopped directly across the street. They also sell passes for these tours at the front counter of the Olivia.

If arriving to the hotel by bus from the airport, you really need to pay attention or you'll miss the front of the hotel. It is a very narrow entry and easy to miss with all of the visual stimulation that occurs in the square. The bus stop is just a few steps away, but it actually took us a while to locate the hotel.

Our room was modern, clean, and very cozy. We were placed on the 10th floor and found it be extremely quiet. We had a great view and was actually surprised in the spaciousness of the layout. Our expectation was a small, tiny euro style room - but it was anything but.

If this is your first trip to Barcelona - I really don't think you could select a better location or facility. It was the perfect start to our vacation and I look forward to a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raweekley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

THE perfect location to explore Barcelona, on Plca Catalunya, between historical old town Barrio Gotico and fashionable Psg de Gracia. Excellent access to public transportation with direct bus to airport and train.
Hip decoration, comfortable rooms, really good breakfast buffet which can be taken in the interior courtyard. Great staff, very well managed by Mr Senpau

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Just came back from a Holiday from Spain. The first place we came was Barcelona, and had booked this hotel from a review which we had from a friend. In one word, the hotel was Perfect. Was travelling with 2 kids, one 10 months and one 3 years. Stayed in one room and it was spacious enough for all 4 of us. The room is very modern and the view is too good. The service and the hotel staff are very helpful. The breakfast is also good. Overall I feel it is too good a hotel and I hope that they keep up the service and good work.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thackern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeno, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

A modern, well designed hotel in a great location. Arriving with the airport bus it's only a few footsteps from the bus stop. Ramblas, Gothic Quarter, Teatro del Liceu and shopping malls are just around the corner.The staff is very friendly, the public areas in the hotel as well as the rooms are well designed, with nice furniture and a great bathroom with separate shower and toilet. We booked a superior room, fairly spacious and with a great view to Plaza Catalunya. The only thing to complain a little is the very closely "hall", with no space if more than 6 people are wishing to check-in or check-out or have something to ask to the concierge. Everything else is very well organized, well managed, I will choose this hotel also for my next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfgangpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

You cannot beat this hotel's super central location. Location! Location! Location! Request for a room facing in the inner courtyard if you like it quiet.

Some awesome restaurants to try are Tapas 24 and Ilgueldo. Skip La Boqueria for Santa Catherina market instead (the one with the Gaudi undulating roof). There are much less people and the tapas bar are just as good. To skip the lines at Casa Milla and Picasso's museum please get the ArtInfo pass from the tourist booths. You get to go to 7 museums for the price 30ish euros. For Picasso and Casa Milla alone you'd save sooo much time. Also get your ticket for Gaudi's cathedral online. There is ticket booth that recognizes e-ticket on your iphone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
628 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,313 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,181 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#48 of 513 in Barcelona
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing