We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*CAUTION - Bed Bugs - No refund”
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and experienced bed bugs during my stay in this hotel. We complained at the frontdesk and were told we could get an upgrade on a room and would be given a refund for one of the nights we were there. Upon returning to Canada I gave them my banking information and received little response from the company. It has now been 2 months and the company has completely ignored me. I have received no compensation. I highly advise not to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: bed bugs in room, disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Krystal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

I forgot how I found this hotel on my research but this morning the transfer from the cruise ship after my Mediteranean cruise stopped right in front of this hotel. There were lots of envious people when they saw me taking my luggage and walking into the Olivia Plaza. I e-mailed the hotel a few days ago stating I am going to have a very early arrival. Sandra took care of checking me in and the room was ready. The hotel is very modern but very clean and everything is in its proper place. The location is fantastic as the ramblas is right next door, the Plaza
Catalunya is across the street with the on/off buses. Fantastic location. Even the Hard
Rock Cafe is just a minute walk - not to mention the many stores and restaurants. Free wifi
which is wonderful after being on a cruise ship - and paying very high prices per minute.
Breakfast also included.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank lanarose781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear lanarose781,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We ar very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Olivia Plaza hotel. Hope we can see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Arvind M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here after returning from a European cruise and we were pleasantly surprised! After reading a mountain of reviews, we chose the Olivia Plaza and we are so glad we did! The hotel is beautiful, modern, spotless and the front desk staff was exceptional. Marco was especially helpful and informative...he knew the best tapas bar just a couple blocks away and we loved it! Thanks, Marco! The hotel is a 2-3 minute walk to the hop on/off buses if you want to do a fabulous tour of the city and all the sights. Do not miss the Sagrada Familia church, the beaches and Las Ramblas (guard your purse and your wallets)! Loved Barcelona, only wish we were there longer. Stop searching the web, and book it! An extra...Starbucks on the corner!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneySights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

the rooms were a tad small but reasonable for being in the heart of barcelona. everything was within in walking distance. we did not need to use the metro the entire trip. la rambla was only 2 min away and there was a coffee shop directly downstairs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthia105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

No better location and extremely convenient for people who are using the Aerobus. Very near La Ramblas, Passeig de Gràcia, all major shops, Catalunya metro station, etc.

Staff was very friendly. Hotel room was very comfortable and clean. We got a room on the highest floor and enjoyed superb views onto Placa Catalunya!

Safety was a big concern for us when we were booking a hotel. Originally we were looking at hotels on Passeig de Gràcia but chose Hotel Olivia on Placa Catalunya because of the convenient location. Turned out to be a great choice. We felt safe walking back to the hotel even around midnight! It is true that there are many pickpockets in Barcelona but as long as you take the necessary precautions and are aware of your surroundings at all times, you should be fine. We did not feel unsafe in the Metro or La Ramblas. I chose not to bring my DLSR because I was afraid of being a target but in retrospect given the amazing photography opportunities in Barcelona I regret not having done so.

Just a tip to other travelers - shops are NOT open on Sunday. Do not make the mistake we did and plan for Sunday as shopping day. The only mall open on Sunday is the mall near the Harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkbeetroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel from Monday 4th June to Friday 8th June. We can agree that the hotel is in a great location but the room itself (Room 211) was cramoed and felt very claustraphobic.The sliding door which slid between the toilet and shower was difficult to move when your hands were wet from the shower and there was very little storage space for clothes and only a small cupboard with 3 shelves for any clothes that you didn't need to hang up and one of these shelves you couldn't use as the room safe was there.
We had twin beds pushed together but unfortunately the wheels were so good on the bed that the slightest movement caused the bed to roll.
The room was quiet as we were looking towards the inner courtyard. The hotel did seem busy with a mixture of tourists and business people.
the breakfast was plentiful and a good variety although the fried eggs were not particulary plesant as they were left under a hot lamp and became rubbery. Also, on the 2nd day we were there we did not get up that early and went down for reakfats at about 10.35am and were told by the waitress quite curtly that breakfast finished at 11.00am! rather strange as we had at least 25 minutes to go. Apart from this waitress we did not really have that much contact with the staff but what we did they seemed fine, especially the nice doormen who were always plesant on opening the front door of the hotel for guests.
Location good - room we stayed in small and did not like doors sliding over toilet and shower also very small area around wash basin.Storage inadequate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CofidreUnItedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 516 in Barcelona
2,284 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 516 in Barcelona
956 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 516 in Barcelona
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#84 of 516 in Barcelona
677 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 516 in Barcelona
2,347 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 516 in Barcelona
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £97 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing