We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic looking hotel but a smile goes a long way”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic looking hotel but a smile goes a long way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This has to be one of the best looking hotels I have stayed in. The rooms are comfortable and modern with a cute design of bathroom that really appealed. I felt I had struck gold. The breakfast was spectacular with beautiful spanish and more traditional elements offered. The location was good too on Placa Catalunya, although, as this does get very busy, you do gat a feeling of being in a fortress more than a hotel. At the back too the modern architecture was contrasted with more traditional elements.

The down side however was the service. I found reception staff curt and unwelcoming, typified by the indifferent response to me asking the receptionist for directions to the police station to report my stollen mobile. In fact most staff seemed unhappy and barely smiled except for the doormen. This lessened the experience for me.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank robkielty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    593
    133
    29
    23
See reviews for
359
1,042
64
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Olivia Plaza Hotel is superbly positioned right on the Placa de la Catalunya and close to shopping and very good restaurants. It is a short walk (some 4 or 5 blocks) down to the waterfront and some excellent seafood restaurants.

People warned us about pickpockets in barcelna generally but here, in particular. happily we did not have any problems. Normal precautions such as fitting in with the locals (ie not stopping to look at maps to get your bearings) and keeping valuables safely inside clothing are a must.

The Hotel olivia Plaza was clean, modern and staff were friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The lifts are quite small. High floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangatraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Location : Right on Plaza Catalunya, next to ramblas entrance, steps from Aerobus transport and touristic buses main stop. In the center of everything. You can easily walk to he ramblas, gothic quarter, The Born neighborhood (recommended), or up to Paseo de Gracia and the shopping stores.
Staff and service: attentive, excellent concierge services, Very friendly, english speaking personnel.
Room, ambiance: ultra modern, trendy with a colorful decor. Rooms are comfortable and large by Europe standards. Be aware: bed is on the hard side for american standards. Semi open bathroom with shower and toilette separate by a glass sliding door.Very modern european type shower. Good lighting although difficult at first to operate. Half of floor has thin, hard rug. Good A/C.
Breakfast: Very complete cold and hot buffet but not a la carte. May be a little expensive at 24 euros (lot of places for breakfast around), but convenient and with good service and includes excellent Nespresso coffee alternatives.
WI-FI: offered free, but signal was non existent in each of our two rooms at both extremes of the floor. Excellent near lobby area. Flat TV signal was also weak with only few channels option.
SUMMARY: with only the above concerns, this is a hotel that may meet most of your expectations and is truly a 4 star hotel , offering a good value in this price range. Staff is superb and attentive. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you NEED WI-FI check the signal immediately you get your room.It may be weak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJFRAGAPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Rooms are what we expected from a four star hotel but the two things that exceeded our expectations were the location and the personal service from the conceirge. Really excellent!
I am looking at hotels for our trip in October and this hotel will probably have our business again.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SB6o8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear SB6o8,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm really happy we exceeded your expectations. Reviews like yours helps us to keep our efforts. It would be great to have you back at the hotel in October.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel could not be in a better location. The public Aerobus goes from the airport to the hotel front door for 4.5 euros! The area is great - fun and full of shopping and dining and history, the staff are wonderful and friendly, the breakfasts superb. The room was clean and the bathroom was very nice. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshalltova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear marshalltova,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Olivia Plaza hotel. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I had been to Barcelona before, but this was my first stay at the Hotel Olivia Plaza. I am happy to say that I know where I'll be staying the next time I'm in town.

The location is obviously ideal: right on the Plaça de Catalunya. The bus to and from the airport literally stops in front of the hotel. Step out the front door and turn right and you are on Passeig de Gràcia, one of the two most famous street in Barcelona. Here is where you find sickeningly luxurious shopping and many of the glorious architectural wonders that define the city's cultural heritage. Turn left, and you are on La Rambla, the city's other most famous street, overflowing with tourists by day and a center for youthful, diverse and exuberant partiers by night. From this hotel you can walk to anything in the old city or Eixample. The metro and cabs are also right outside the door.

The hotel and the rooms are cool, clean and modern. They utilize my favorite color (red) a lot. If you're a fan of sleek, minimalist and modern, you'll probably dig the setup. We were lucky enough to get a room on the 10th floor. It looked exactly like the picture above. The bed was huge and firm and comfy and the floor to ceiling windows made the Plaça de Catalunya a spectacular backdrop to wake up to, or for having a nightcap before bed. (Late one night my boyfriend spotted one of the ubiquitous beer guys from our room, ran downstairs, and returned with the cheapest six pack of Estrella Damm in Barcelona.) From the elevator to the door of the room is an outdoor glass walkway/veranda type thing, great for hanging out on, as you have a ridiculous view of the Gothic quarter and much of the city. The bathroom setup was fine, but probably best for couples or friends who are really, really close; there's a divider you can pull out if you do not want your significant other to see you brush and floss. The shower and toilet leave something to be desired. A little more water pressure and handles on the inside of the door perhaps?

If you prefer a more classic style, you may like something like the Husa Avenida Palace (which has grand, ornate winding staircases and marble everywhere, but which I found to be dingy and reeking of half-century old smoke. But, the Beatles did stay there, and so did I, so I guess that's pretty cool).

We did not ask the staff at Olivia for much, but they were helpful when they needed to be. We did not eat at the hotel, because there is no earthly reason to subject yourself to that ignominy when you are visiting a city that has some of the best food in the world. Walk outside for 5 minutes and you will find something infinitely more delicious to have for breakfast than the hotel buffet. Try Ciudad Condal, which is steps away from your hotel, at least once; you'll never return to the buffet again. I promise.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaTravelingPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

we stayed at the hotel for a week on september 2011. The hotel is very modern and you'll notice it everywhere around. The location is superb - Right near placa catalunya which means you can get there straight from the airport and just cross the street. The Ramblas are just a few steps ahead. The room itself was large (we took the superior) and very welcoming and so was the hotel staff. I believe this is the best choice if you want to be centurally located in barcelona and enjoy a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr6633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#83 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#20 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing