We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms but a perfect place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small rooms but a perfect place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is very styled, with red and black in the rooms. But it is not very comfortable, it's to designed, with a very small and open place to wash yourself at, for instance. The beds are ok, men nothing in the hotel is very friendly, even though you can sit outside and eat along a wall thats from the 15th century.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cecilia989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    591
    133
    29
    23
See reviews for
355
1,041
64
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is centrally located, right on the Plaza de Catalunya and steps away from la Rambla and a metro station. For a tourist, you really can't beat the location.
Unfortunately, I wasn't a tourist, I was there on business and was freakishly busy and trapped in the room, which was smallish by North American standards, but really quite decent for a central location in a large European city.
The shower and toilet arrangement, as described by other reviewers, isunique, with a sliding glass door that goes across both of these small rooms. Whatever... the shower was the rain type and was the highlight of the room. If you're really tall, you may have a problem fitting in the tiny toilet room, though.
My big problem with the room was that there is really nowhere to work comfortably. There is an overhanging shelf at the end of the bed that I used as my desk. Not conducive to getting work done in an efficient or comfortable manner. My room faced the inner atrium, and it could get quite noisy at times. No biggie--I didn't really sleep much anyway.
I ordered room service a couple of times, and it was prompt and delicious.
The staff were great. Everyone I dealt with spoke English well and were very friendly and accommodating.
If I was going back here as a tourist, I'd be happy to stay here again. If I was to return on another business trip, I would definitely look elsewhere, to save my back and neck the agony.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a quick trip to Barcelona with my father. I wanted a hotel that put us in a central location so he wasn't walking too far to any one place. We could not have picked a better hotel! Hotel Olivia Plaza is steps away from the Aerobus (which takes you to and from the airport in about 30 minutes for a little over 10EUR one way), Las Ramblas and the hop on hop off bus stop.

The hotel staff were friendly in particular the manager. He spoke to us at breakfast one day for quite some time and suggested an amazing restaurant to go to. He and his staff made the reservations on our behalf. I am a bit of a foodie and found Osmosis excellent. It is a small restaurant that is striving for a Michelin star and I believe they are well on their way.

As for the hotel, again the location is by far key. Rooms are small, sparsely modern and clean. Breakfast was included and provided a fantastic selection. Staff was friendly and did speak English. We had a higher up room that was not facing the Plaza and did not hear any noise.

I would definitely stay here again for a fun long weekend in Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_D0lce_Vita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia P, Director General at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide Olivia Plaza with feedback. I am delighted to hear that the team here made your stay extra special .We aim to surpass our guest’s expectations and offer a true tailored service to make Olivia Plaza their home from home and recommend little gems restaurants. Barcelona is a great foodies lovers destination.I hope welcoming you very soon. Enric Garcia. Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Funky stylish hotel. Excellent location within easy access to transport, shopping, bars and restaurants. Easy walk to the waterfront and other attractions. Hop On Hop Off Buss right outside the the hotel from Catalunya Square.
Hotel staff very helpful.
If Barcelona, I would book again.

Room Tip: Rooms very comfortable and quiet considering we were in the middle of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanT2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia P, Director General at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear SusanT222.Thank you so very much for sharing your recent experience with us. We truly appreciate all comments but positive ones are always a pleasure to read!
We are delighted to read about your experience, which we will share with our team.
I hope welcoming you very soon. Enric Garcia. Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This modern hotel is located in Plaza Catalunya, excellent location from which getting around and enjoy the whole city. After a brief misunderstood related with the reservation, that was quickly solved and in the best way, we had a wonderful stay with all the confort that a nice, big enough suite with a view to the Square can provide. We also have dinner in the hotel, which I highly recommend for its quality and service -which is not so frequent in Barcelona. At the hotel, it was impecable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maiten_Panella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia P, Director General at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
I was so pleased to read your lovely feedback. Many thanks for taking the time to do this. We always try our hardest to meet our Guests expectations . Please visit us once again in the near future. Enric Garcia-Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Olivia Plaza Hotel is a modern and stylish hotel, centrally located in Barcelona.
It looks out onto Catalunya Square and is at the top end of Las Ramblas.
The Hotel is in a great location within easy reach of all the main sight seeing attractions.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a great view, but the back os probably a little quieter. Although we ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baggers95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and loved it. The hotel is clean, modern and the staff is so friendly, especially Rebecca. We had a room facing Placa de Catalunya with a balcony that was great. Turn right outside the hotel you are at La Rambles and you can pick up the hop on hop off bus and and the tour guide buses are right out front. You can walk to the Barcelona Cathedral, the Barri Gotic quarter, the Guell Palace and Placa Rieal. An added plus is a cafe right in front of the hotel, we could have cappuccino whenever we wanted! Don't bother to take a taxi from the airport the airport bus will drop you off right on the Catalunya Square for less then 6 euros.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the balconies in the hotel, the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridalynn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia P, Director General at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide Olivia Plaza with feedback. I am delighted to hear that the team here made your stay extra special and memorable. We aim to surpass our guest’s expectations and offer a true tailored service to make Olivia Plaza their home from home. I shall be certain to pass on these comments to Rebecca. I look forward to welcoming you back to Olivia Plaza on your return visit very soon. Please do get in touch if I can offer any further information or assistance. Enric Garcia-Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#80 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#19 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing