We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here 4 nights for our first trip to Barcelona. This location can not be topped in regards to sight seeing. Used a Rick Steeves guide and everything was starting at Plaza Cataluyna.

We stayed on the 7th floor and facing the plaza. Loved seeing out over the city and all the decorations for Christmas. Unfortunately we had the shorter windows so you couldn't sit by the window and peer out over the city. Would recommend 8th floor as they had the floor to ceiling windows. The room is very modern and a good size for European standards but there was not one drawer in the room. Drawers for some clothes is helpful and was missed. Bathroom had a great rain shower head. Bed was a little too firm but with all the walking every day, we still slept fine. We did have some problems with the air conditioning/heat in our room. It seemed that many others were having the same problem and that the hotel had "over ridden" the guests thermostats so that we couldn't control the temperature in our rooms. We had to call down to the desk a couple times to have them adjust our thermostat.

Staff was very helpful and it seemed that everyone spoke English and was patient with my Spanish even though they seem to speak Catalan primarily. Breakfast was great every morning and seemed to be a very traditional type of breakfast for the locals.

Room Tip: View of the plaza is a must. If you can get the 8th floor, that would be top pick or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and were very very satisfied.
The location is perfect, the service is excellent and the hotel itself is beautiful.
We were 3 (my mother, my sister & I) and upgraded to a suite with a huge window with a view of the square.
The hotel staff were very helpful - they let us have the room early and allowed us to stay for a couple of extra hours on our last day.
We hope to visit Barcelona and this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the square is highly recommended. The regular rooms have a semi-transparent d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Amazing weekend break at the Olivia! Fantastic location, great service, a beautifully designed room and a wonderful breakfast to set you up for a day of sightseeing and shopping! What could be better?

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are quiet and a wonderful view over the Plaza Catalunya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed here for a belated anniversary. Only mentioned it when checking in. The hotel upgraded our room without knowing and the first night got a wonderful surprise in our room. Chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne with a lovely happy anniversary note. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The ensuite was very modern like the rest of the hotel. Location was perfect. Overlooking the square and a perfect view. Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaDhesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had a fantastic stay mid December. The location of the hotel is perfect. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Even left a bottle of wine and some strawberries as it was my birthday. If I'm ever in Barcelona again, this will be the place I'll be staying.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmmmmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is lovely, beautiful and is characterized by an excellent location. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is limited but could be suitable for those who are in diet. Everything was fine however the noise of that busy street can't be solved for the first floor rooms. Anyhow Barcelona is a great city and Spanish people are so kind so nice and polite, I like them all.

Room Tip: Customers staying in the first floor rooms could be suffering from the street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hani-KSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was a lovely hotel right next to Plaza Catalunya. 2 minute walk from the airport express bus. Metro stations are 2 minute walk away. Lovely coffee shop next door. Really close to Barcelona Cathedral. Staff were wonderful and the room was comfortable and had everything I needed - very modern. Loved it - highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 516 in Barcelona
2,284 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 516 in Barcelona
956 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 516 in Barcelona
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#84 of 516 in Barcelona
677 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 516 in Barcelona
2,347 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 516 in Barcelona
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £97 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing