We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service, great hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, great hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived early before our check in time but the lovely ladies at the counter told us that our room was ready. And what a room! A beautifully modern spacious room on the top floor with amazing views! A definite highlight of our trip. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. The hotel has a great location int the heart of Barcelona and everything is walking distance. We were very impressed for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    593
    133
    29
    23
See reviews for
359
1,042
64
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived early before check in prepared to store our luggage, we were stunned when Daniel advised they had a room ready. All the staff were so helpful and lovely which really made are stay. The room was great, really big with every thing we needed such as toiletries, vanity kit, toothbrushes, shoe horns etc... The mini fridge is extra, but they have a great bar and there's loads of shops near by. The bed was massive and really miss it. Would highly recommend and would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stef_on_hoilday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Previous reviews are not lying when they state this hotel has a great location.....step off the aerobus turn to your left and after a few paces you will see the hotel, a few doors down from the Hard Rock Cafe.
Close to tour bus stops, almost on top of the best known shopping street in Barcelona and the metro is about 2 mins away.

We arrived a few hours earlier than check in, hopeful to leave our bags in luggage storage but were delighted to be checked in early.

The reception staff will kindly print tickets for you if you book anything.

We tried the buffet breakfast one morning, a little steep at 20 euros each but delicious as a treat.

We had a room which faced internally into the hotel so we could not open a window but the air con was good and we only spent limited time in the room with so much to explore.
The room itself was immaculately clean, hairdryer, comb, sewing set....you name it....it was probably within the little box of essentials. Beds are huge, shower is powerful and yes....the sink is in the room but there is. Screen which sections off the bed area and the sink. The toilet and shower are both behind sliding doors.

I recommended going down las ramblas (turn left out of hotel it's the second turning), walking down as far as the 'erotic museum' and if you cross the road there, on the opposite site set back through an archway is a colourful and lively food market, great for snacks and as we found, brunch.

If I had to state a gripe.....a relative ordered a bottle of cava to our room as a surprise and whilst it was lovely to have this waiting for us in an ice bucket....it appeared the lending of two wine glasses was a stretch too far and we drank out of the glasses in the room.....however if I was bothered enough to ask for some I am certain I would have got them.

I'm definitely going back to this hotel if I ever visit Barcelona again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 27love2travel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Google Map or Streetview this delightful 'boutique' city hotel and it doesn't get more central for an overnight business stay (my case) or a (recommended) weekend pied-a-terre base to explore this exciting, vibrant Spanish city. You need to like crowds because, even in mid-June, the area around here is heaving, at least till midnight, even mid-week.

The room was modern, spotless but very compact (much like an old Spanish flat atmosphere, recreated) with good a/c, an interesting olde city view and adequate mod cons (wifi not tried as corporate hosts made alternate arrangements).

We ate out at the superb Ocaña tapas bar/restaurant in Plaça Reia (recommended, do a preview 'visit' on Streetview) but the hotel staff did a great job with the breakfast buffet (especially clean-up after the hot section collapsed as a guest was helping himself) though we were too early for the eggs-to-order chef on the patio.

It was just a flying visit but I experienced enough to be confident. Recommended. And I'd pay my own way, gladly.

Room Tip: Quieter on the side facing church; people watchers should face Plaza Catalunya
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredmarkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

When we chose the hotel, our primary factor was its location. Having now spent the weekend there we are convinced we made the right choice.

Location:

The hotel is situated on Plaza Catalunya, next door to the Hard Rock Café. Across the road from the Aerobus stand (approx. 30 mins from El Prat airport and only 5.95 Euros each, superb value) and both of the open top double decker bus tour companies.

At one corner of the square you walk on to the top of Las Ramblas which will take you all the way down to the sea front. The opposite corner takes you towards the cathedral and an equally nice and cheaper area for tapas and bars (try the area around Santa Maria del Mar).

We would recommend this as the perfect location for anyone visiting Barcelona. Staying here means you can manage a significant part of the must see sights on foot or by making use of the locations transport links. There is no Metro station here but there are a number just a short walk away.

Hotel:

The hotel is immaculately clean, the staff were very attentive and genuinely welcoming at all hours.

Our modern and stylish room was at the rear of the hotel and was very quiet, in fact it was totally silent there and with the black out blinds closed on the windows we had to make good use of our alarms in order to not over sleep and waste important exploring time.

The bed was very comfortable, there was ample storage space for clothes and the shower was excellent with a choice of conventional shower head or very good over head "rain" shower head. Aircon worked really well, TV was good (but pretty much untouched). There is a mini bar but didn't bother to look at it or the price list (they are never good!!).

Hotel restaurant/bar:

We didn't use these as we felt staying in the heart of the city so close to many excellent places to eat and drink, we wanted to get out and about rather than stay in the hotel. They did quote us 21 Euros each for breakfast (bit steep), we didn't bother but instead ate at the Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria (about a third of the way down Las Ramblas on the right). Nothing against the hotel or the breakfast prices, but they can't compare with this place for choice and atmosphere.

Conclusion:

Would we stay here again? Definitely 100% yes and hope to do so very soon

Is it a good hotel? It is an excellent hotel

Staff helpful? Fantastic staff, even at the end when we were going out the door they offered to look after our luggage to allow the last hour free of hassle.

Good location? Superb location

Any hiccups/downsides? None apart from having to go home after our long weekend!!

We hope this helps, the hotel was great for our weekend break. Visit Barcelona and use the Olivia Plaza as your base, you will have a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrdinaryJoeandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
237 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just came back from an excellent stay in Barcelona.

This is a nice hotel with outstanding and I mean outstanding views. It is perfectly located in regards all the sights of Barcelona, close to everything.

I had a supreme room facing to front of the building. Everything was of a good standard apart from a couple of points.

1, who ever invented the design of bathroom needs to be sack. They probably think it's creative but sorry it's just dumb.

2, no iron available just a paid laundry service.

3, no replacement of tea bags, no biscuits.

For the price the above this needs to be looked at.

Would go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roni2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwent
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

From check in to leaving everything was 1st class, arrived early but our room 508 was ready, room well appointed clean and tidy and overlooking Plaza Catalunia only thing no tea/coffee facilities, breakfast served in restaurant good variety from cold/hot selection beware glass floor at first a bit off putting. Take a trip up to floor 10 go onto the outside terrace for some stunning views over the Gothic area down to the sea, overall a pleasant stay staff polite and helpful and willing to answer any questions will definately stay again and would reccommend it, ho well off to bed we have to leave tomorrow, thanks for a wonderful stay.
P.S. Had a brilliant view of the thunder storm this early morning.
PPS. Wi fi

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking Plaza Catalunia
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebboboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#83 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#20 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing