We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Barcelona”
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #35 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our first time in a real vacation since our daughters were born. We couldn't have picked a better place. Now, I can recommend Barcelona locations to see from here to next year, but the hotel's staff topped them all. We were given an upgrade to celebrate our anniversary, the staff were so patient to each and every question we asked (and we asked allot :-)) and they made it their mission to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Thank you so much and this is definitely the place to stay in Barcelona. I know that when we come back, we'll be staying at the Olivia for sure.
Cheers
Lior

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lior_Avni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,109)
There are newer reviews for Olivia Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 2,110 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I booked this hotel through lastminute.com about 2 weeks prior. I could not believe the price I was getting my 3 night stay for in a 4 star hotel located at the top of La Rambla, surely it was too good to be true??

Well actually, it got even better! We were given a free upgrade on arrival to a room overlooking the Placa de Catalunya, we were able to check in at 11.30am, which is always helpful, and the hotel very kindly left us a lovely bottle of cava with strawberries and chocolate as a gift for our anniversary!

The room itself was everything you could want from a city hotel; immaculately clean, comfortable, air conditioning and excellent shower. An excellent haven from the hustle and bustle of a day in Barcelona!

The staff were friendly throughout, especially the kind gentlemen at the front door at all hours!

All in all, a very lovely city break stay that I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

It was the first time I visited Barcelona, and booking my holiday online I was nervous about everything. The staff at this hotel and just Barcelona generally are very friendly. My partner left his phone in a taxi and we were told by other taxi drivers we would not find it if we didn't know the taxi drivers info, we went back to our hotel and the staff were very helpful they did everything possible to assist us calling the mobile for us and giving us advice on what to do.. My advice is to always book taxis from the hotel to track them down if ever you had a problem. This is also what the hotel staff said. And result the taxi driver came back with the phone so lucky! However he did try to con us and take €150!! This taxi driver, This also happened to us in Portugal and we had the worst experience! The hotel was clean towels could have been better little thin hand towels mainly. Perfect location right but the Hard Rock Cafe and airbus to take you back and forth to the hotel. Top of la rambles over all top holiday and the beach is beautiful.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sureena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived early before our check in time but the lovely ladies at the counter told us that our room was ready. And what a room! A beautifully modern spacious room on the top floor with amazing views! A definite highlight of our trip. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. The hotel has a great location int the heart of Barcelona and everything is walking distance. We were very impressed for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived early before check in prepared to store our luggage, we were stunned when Daniel advised they had a room ready. All the staff were so helpful and lovely which really made are stay. The room was great, really big with every thing we needed such as toiletries, vanity kit, toothbrushes, shoe horns etc... The mini fridge is extra, but they have a great bar and there's loads of shops near by. The bed was massive and really miss it. Would highly recommend and would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stef_on_hoilday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Previous reviews are not lying when they state this hotel has a great location.....step off the aerobus turn to your left and after a few paces you will see the hotel, a few doors down from the Hard Rock Cafe.
Close to tour bus stops, almost on top of the best known shopping street in Barcelona and the metro is about 2 mins away.

We arrived a few hours earlier than check in, hopeful to leave our bags in luggage storage but were delighted to be checked in early.

The reception staff will kindly print tickets for you if you book anything.

We tried the buffet breakfast one morning, a little steep at 20 euros each but delicious as a treat.

We had a room which faced internally into the hotel so we could not open a window but the air con was good and we only spent limited time in the room with so much to explore.
The room itself was immaculately clean, hairdryer, comb, sewing set....you name it....it was probably within the little box of essentials. Beds are huge, shower is powerful and yes....the sink is in the room but there is. Screen which sections off the bed area and the sink. The toilet and shower are both behind sliding doors.

I recommended going down las ramblas (turn left out of hotel it's the second turning), walking down as far as the 'erotic museum' and if you cross the road there, on the opposite site set back through an archway is a colourful and lively food market, great for snacks and as we found, brunch.

If I had to state a gripe.....a relative ordered a bottle of cava to our room as a surprise and whilst it was lovely to have this waiting for us in an ice bucket....it appeared the lending of two wine glasses was a stretch too far and we drank out of the glasses in the room.....however if I was bothered enough to ask for some I am certain I would have got them.

I'm definitely going back to this hotel if I ever visit Barcelona again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank 27love2travel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Google Map or Streetview this delightful 'boutique' city hotel and it doesn't get more central for an overnight business stay (my case) or a (recommended) weekend pied-a-terre base to explore this exciting, vibrant Spanish city. You need to like crowds because, even in mid-June, the area around here is heaving, at least till midnight, even mid-week.

The room was modern, spotless but very compact (much like an old Spanish flat atmosphere, recreated) with good a/c, an interesting olde city view and adequate mod cons (wifi not tried as corporate hosts made alternate arrangements).

We ate out at the superb Ocaña tapas bar/restaurant in Plaça Reia (recommended, do a preview 'visit' on Streetview) but the hotel staff did a great job with the breakfast buffet (especially clean-up after the hot section collapsed as a guest was helping himself) though we were too early for the eggs-to-order chef on the patio.

It was just a flying visit but I experienced enough to be confident. Recommended. And I'd pay my own way, gladly.

Room Tip: Quieter on the side facing church; people watchers should face Plaza Catalunya
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredmarkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
919 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,235 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#24 of 513 in Barcelona
689 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
486 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £148 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing