We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Hotel”
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Perfect location...off airport bus at Plaza Catalunya and cross the road.
We celebrated my wifes' birthday during our stay..I requested cava and flowers (like you do!), reception staff were extremely courteous & helpful with a nice birthday greeting and strawberries dipped in chocolate....a perfect start to the holiday.
The hotel room had a great view of Plaza Catualunya, and if you looked the other way you had a view of the glass walled shower...a bit wasted on ourselves as we are a little bit the wrong side of 65! Open plan bathrooms look great, but not sure on praticalities.
Breakfast was good, with most tastes catered for.Nice bread... good coffee... hot food (eggs, sausage, ham) if that's your thing, and you could eat between 7 - 11am.
Didn't get chance to sample dinner...too many good places around!
Thanks to all at the Olivia Plaza for helping to make it a memorable visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgib64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    606
    135
    29
    23
See reviews for
373
1,069
65
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Fantastic new hotel on Plaza Catalunya! Perfect ! Wonderful rooms and breakfast buffet. Helpful staff.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BodilL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahus, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We got a spacious room facing Plaza Catalunia. Very trendy interior that suited us fine. The breakfast was perfect in we had ours outside in the small garden on a glassfloor.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanziluel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Olivia Plaza hotel for 2 nights prior to our cruise departure. Like previous reviews, the location is fantastic. We took the Aerobus from the airport to Placa Catayluna and the hotel was just a very short walk away. There is easy access to taxis, double-decker buses, las Ramblas, etc.

We enjoyed the modern look of the rooms. The open style bathrooms may not be for everyone. We did not eat at the restaurant . The staff spoke Engligh and were very helpfull. The airlines had lost 1 of our bags and the hotel staff took care of arranging the delivery of our bag to the hotel for us.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We visited Barcelona last weekend with another couple and had a brilliant time.
Olivia Plaza is really well located to reach all the most popular parts of town, and we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel itself. The design is very modern and stylish, with lots of glass. Particularly the outside terrace area which has been squeezed into a tiny space, but is a wonderful oasis in a busy city.
Our room had a fantastic view over the main square. The windows are full height and do not open, and this means that noise is mimimal. However, our friends had a room with a view of the lift, which wasnt so much fun. The view made all the difference to me, so be sure to avoid the 'internal' rooms.
We ate lunch at the hotel a couple of times, and the food and wine selection/quality were good. We found the service rather slow. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, but it was usual to wait 15 minutes for a drink. It wasnt too much of a problem, and the hotel was pretty busy.
A nearby restaurant not to be missed is Les Caracoles (The Snails), Escudellers - just off La Rambla. Open since 1835, you have to walk through the kitchen to reach your table ! Impossible to get a booking, so you have to just turn up and wait for a table. A real novelty, and the sangria is leathal!
A great city to spend the weekend in autumn, as the temperature was around 26 degrees, and you didnt need a jacket out in the evenings. This hotel was a good central bases to explore from and relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The location is perfect - on the Plaza Catalunya at the top of the Ramblas. All the buses - airport and tourist - stop here, and there are subway stops too.
The hotel is gorgeous - all modernist and yet comfortable. We paid a bit extra for an upgrade so that we would have a good view onto the plaza and also so that we had the enclosed bathroom which was great - big soaker tub, separate shower stall with rain shower - lovely!
There is a great coffee bar next door, and in the opposite direction a Hard Rock Cafe. Great eats at both, and at the Pizza Marzano at the top of the Ramblas.
The front desk staff were great especially when my husband's wallet was stolen on the Ramblas. Leave your wallet in the hotel safe and take just the cash you can afford to lose.
Other than the pickpocket, we had a great time in Barcelona!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Anyone who has stayed here will agree that the hotel is outstanding, looks great inside, beds lovely and comfy, staff really helpful and we had a lovely view from the 6th floor overlooking the gothic quarter from the back of the hotel.

Brilliant location for the city, with metro, busses, shops etc.

My only word of warning is during the night, you can hear everything inside the hotel.

I am not a light sleeper yet I was woken up on all the 3 nights that we stayed there. From the closing of doors in the adjoing rooms to people having showers at 4.00am. My partner even said he could hear the lifts bell bong when they arrived.

We both actually woke up thinking someone was in our room the noise it was so loud!

It could just have been bad luck on our part, with the room. But you have been warned!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
625 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,313 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,179 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#48 of 513 in Barcelona
1,132 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing