We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$260
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$550
US$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Constanza Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$153
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
US$581
US$399
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$280
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Musik Boutique Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$366
US$324
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,245)
Filter reviews
2,245 results
Traveller rating
1,406
646
139
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,406
646
139
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationla ramblathe hard rock cafesliding glass doorairport bustoilet and showertour busesfree upgradetourist busescatalunya squaremodern hotelbottle of cavahop on hopsuperior roomthe heart of the citywonderful hotelgothic quarter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,294 - 1,299 of 2,245 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I do not have one bad word to say about this hotel.
The location, the staff & service, the cool design, the fantastic view, the comfy beds. Everything was on the spot!
We were celebrating our 6th aniversary and had cava and strawberries waiting for us in our room. The view was breathtaking and - staying in room 1008 - we were one door away from the roof terrace, which we had pretty much to ourselves.
The heated outdoor bar downstairs with glass floor was very chic and great for pre- og post dinner drinks.
We will definitely stay here the next time we go to Barcelona. Thank you for making our anniversary weekend even more perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helga88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Olivia Plaza Hotel is right on Plaza Catalunya, which means the metro, Las Ramblas, Aerobus to and from the airport, Hop on Hop Off bus are all within about 50 metres. It is also an easy walk to old town, cathedrals, cafes and restuarants. We happened to be there when the annual fiesta (La Merci) was on and Barcelona was amazingly vibrant and busy. We experienced parades, concerts, displays, and cultural competitions.

Our room was a top floor room with a large balcony overlooking the Plaza where concerts were on each night of the fiesta. Sitting on the balcony, sipping local wine and enjoying a mezzo plate while watching and listening was a treat. You could also do some people watching from there: street dancing, buskers, tourists and locals.

The room itself was large by European standards and yes the bathroom is trendy and open plan. It is generally a trendy boutique hotel. We didn't find soundproofing a problem although the heavy rock concert on our third night penetrated the balcony doors. But it was so loud I am sure you would have heard it no matter where you were staying in that area. I don't think that would stop us staying there again as the location was just brilliant.
There is a restuarant in the hotel but we didn't use it. There are so many cafes around to choose from and there is also a fridge and table/chairs in the room so you can have a continental breakfast on the balcony (or in the room)if you wish.

Overall it was a great way to see Barcelona and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilhem_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Stayed at the Olivia Plaza for five nights in August. Hotel was clean, and staff was nothing but helpful! The location was perfect, right in the center of everything at the beginning of Las Ramblas! Hotel has a very new, trendy feel which was perfect for us because we are in our early 30's. We did eat breakfast one time in the hotel and I would suggest you simply leave the hotel for that! Very expensive!! Overall an amazing stay and no complaints! They treated us well and answered all of our questions, including restaurant recommendations and activities. We love it!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mercy0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We researched this hotel on trip advisor before booking and we were not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful it is modern with clean cut lines. The staff are fantastic nothing is too much trouble for them. We emailed prior to arriving asking for a nice room (we heard the higher up you are the better the views) for our anniversary. We got room 1008 on the 10th floor upon popping the key card into the light slot a blind on the floor to ceiling window in front us us rose up giving us breathtaking views of the square to the front. Shortly after settling in a knock on the door whereby a bell hop boy delivered us cava and strawberries dipped in chocolate courtesy of the hotel what a lovely touch.
We also had a meal in the hotel and the food was excellent we had fillet steak and we thought the price was reasonable 17 euro's. Getting to and from the airport was too easy thanks again to my research on this site you just come out of the airport turn left and get on the bus a2 get off at the last stop when you get off you are in front of the square look to your left and upwards you will see the hotel. We also went on the bus tour it cost 58 euros for both of us for 2 days you can go on the red route or the blue route or both personally we preferred the blue route as this took you to more historic sites the red route seemed to just go around the industrial area . All in all fantastic stay would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I visited Barcelona with my Husband over New Year to celebrate his 30th birthday. I had emailled the hotel prior to my visit to ask for a room with a view of Cataluyna Square and when we checked in, our request had been fulfilled. Staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful, offering to take our bags and giving us information and maps about the area. After checking in, we went for an explore and realised just how central the hotel was to all the key areas of interest. You can access many key areas by foot and, when your legs need a rest, there are 3 metro stations (access to different lines) in very close walking distance. We though the price of a 2 day ticket was very reasonable (10 euros I think). On returning to the room, the hotel had given a gift of water and apples to celebrate our stay which I thought was a nice touch. The room itself was very comfortable. Ultra modern, with some quirky aspects but which is fitting with a central city hotel, in our opinion. Little niggles like the bathroom layout and privacy in the loo or shower (which I had read about from other people's reviews here) could be an issue for some, but not for us. We felt this added to the character of the room and enjoyed the 'unusual-ness' of this feature. We would definitately recommend this hotel to a friend and would love to go back. Barcelona is a fantastic city - you must visit!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelphi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews