We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
Ranked #280 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

(Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012 but trip advisor won't let me select it). The hotel was clean, the staff were really helpful and knowledgable about the area. It also felt safe and was close to the main street. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Barcelona.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elohtee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    313
    155
    37
    22
See reviews for
86
321
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Booked through BA Holidays. Had read previous comments on TripAdvisor so expected a reasonable stay.
Arrived and was checked in in 5 minutes, friendly staff! Hotel is modern, very clean throughout. Room was a double, and may be a little small but was in excellent order throughout. It was also very quiet for a city centre hotel.
Breakfast included and I was surprised by the amount of choice on offer - (I did not need lunch on both days after their breakfast!).
Was given lots of advice on where to visit by the reception staff, who were very pleasant and friendly and helpful.
Location of this hotel is great, cost was very reasonable and I will definitely use again and recommend to others! (I did take a picture of the room, and deleted it in error!!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel was located within 10 minutes of La Rambla in a calm neighborhood with a few cozy cafés etc. 2 minute walk to the metro was also a big plus. Our room was decent, good view from the balcony. Most of the staff were however pretty rude for no reason.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirTasteAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here 2 nights booked through BA Holidays and had a wonderful time.

The hotel is close to Universitat metro station and is a drop-off point for the Aerobus from the airport. Going back on the Aerobus it doesn't pickup here but it's only a 10 minute walk to Placa Del Catalunya so not too much of a problem.

Our room was small but well appointed with a kettle, tea & coffee, hairdryer, safe and minibar which was handy for keeping the beers bought in the local supermarket! The bed was quite hard but with comfy pillows and the temperature was good throughout our stay.

As has been mentioned in other reviews the soundproofing isn't the best and we could hear our neighbours walking about (with very clompy feet!) Thankfully they didn't start too early or finish late.

We didn't get offered breakfast and so found our own closeby - the Fabrica Moritz restaurant about three doors down did amazing breakfasts which we enjoyed trying to order (they have a few well thumbed English menus). We ate there one evening too - it's an old brewery and has a bakery and wine bar within. The food was excellent!

We were able to check in early and left our bags at the hotel on the last day. The receptionist was always cheerful and it was reassuring to be buzzed in to the hotel in the evening.

Overall this is a well placed hotel just off the well beaten tourist areas with a good variety of places to eat and drink closeby. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location, close to all you need. Reception really helpful. About 20 minutes taxi from airport. Room was small, basic but clean and comfortable. Free wifi and use of computer in reception area. would not bother with breakfast for 9 euro's as you can get a better deal out in one of the many local cafe/bars. If you are visiting for the first time i would recommend getting the hop on hop off bus to get to know your way around and use it to go back to places you want to see.

Room Tip: Room on the back was away from the noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I agree with others on here that the location is great but this review relates to the hotel. Had a three night stay here. Our first night we were given a tiny room (412), the small window overlooked the internal atrium of the hotel and the double bed was up against the wall thus meaning access was from 1 side only. There were no tea and coffee facilities despite the hotels website stating there would be. I complained and was told the hotel was full and to check with reception in the morning. When I spoke to the morning receptionist she was clearly annoyed that her colleague had left her to deal with it.

I was again told that the hotel was full but I insisted we were given a room with the correct facilities. We had to pack our suitcases and leave them at reception for the day to allow them to find us another room. Second room was better (510), we could at least access the bed from both sides!

There is no bar in the hotel and breakfast is served in the basement.

I would not recommend the hotel and would suggest no traveller accepts room 12 on any floor as they are tiny. (See the room plan photo)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Twiglet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had a very good experience staying at the hotel.

The location was great - very close to the Ramblas and Metro stop (Universitat). Lots of handy local shops and amenities. We always felt totally comfortable and safe.

Room was clean, spacious, modern and comfortable. Only reason for not awarding 5 out of 5 was because there wasn't a mirror in the room and the air con didn't really work well to cool the room at night. Other than that (and those were only very minor things), we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying on a budget.

It definitely helped make our brief stay in Barca very pleasant!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjnoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Bcn Urban Hotels Del Comte
Bcn Urban Hotels Del Comte
#253 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Eixample
Gran Ducat Hotel
Gran Ducat Hotel
#372 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Eixample
Hotel BCN Urban Gran Rosellon
Hotel BCN Urban Gran Rosellon
#258 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#283 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta Splendid
Hotel Acta Splendid
#206 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#202 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda

Property: BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
Address: Ronda Sant Antoni 49, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern, complete and personalised services of the Bcn Urban Hotels Gran Ronda offer you the possibility to enjoy an extra of attentions during your stay in Barcelona, either you travel for business or for leisure. Make a reservation at our 3-star hotel and enjoy all the necessary services for your stay: breakfasts, Business Corner, free wifi in the entire hotel, medical service, 24 hour reception, bike rental ($), left luggage office ($), cots depending on availability... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Gran Ronda Hotel
Apsis Gran Ronda Barcelona
Gran Ronda
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing