We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small wonder..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anita's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #98 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A small wonder..”
Reviewed 22 May 2008

well, we just got back from Barcelona with it's busy energy.. it was fantastic...it was clean, and the food fresh..we love this city if you have not been here make it one of your places to see...now the best part..Barcelona tends to be expensive for hotels but, Anita's B&B was anything but, it was clean, nicely appointed, great breakfast a retreat from the city but yet you could see all the city from the windows and balcony all lite up at night.....we ask Anna to make us a dinner for two evenings since we were too exhausted to go back out (they eat late in Spain) we had the best meals and her homemade desserts were to frankly,TO DIE FOR!....we were picked up and dropped off at the airport for a small charge by her wonderful daughter Adriana, they speak perfect English and they were the most helpful and friendly we have encountered in our many, many, travels abroad...the Metro is the way to go to see this city and easy to navigate takes you right to "the Ramblas" where the heart beat of this city is never ending....I highly recommend this little Gem of a B&B ...in the Tibedabo mountain, take the funicular to the top and see the amusement park and it's fabulous church...the whole city is a museum ENJOY!!!

  • Liked — clean, safe, owners soooo very accommodating..retreat
  • Disliked — not for anyone who has trouble walking or have problems with hills......
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Morganna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
58
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2008

We stayed for 3 days and it was great:
- reply on booking email within 24 hours
- airport pick-up was perfect
- nice, clean room with large balcony and great view over Barcelona
- quiet neighbourhood area
- good breakfast
- family run, very friendly people, always willing to help
- access to the city with metro in 7 minutes
- c15 min walk to the metro, which could be tiring on the way back (uphill)
- Unless you are in Barcelona to party only, I would highly recommend this place

  • Liked — great view
  • Disliked — c 15 min walk uphill to het there from the metro
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BOKA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2008

Anita's is a great little spot and although it has the hospitality of a BnB, it also has the privacy of a hotel. Our room was on the 3rd level with the shared terrace and we loved it. It was great to have such a private outside space to sit in the morning sunshine... if we'd been there more than a weekend I would have spent a lot more time out there in the mornings.

The view is fantastic and the neighbourhood is quiet and safe in the evenings.

We were collected at the airport due to the time we arrived and it was a great service and Ariadna gave us good introduction to the city [€25 one way or €45 return].

We paid €85 per night [which is exceptional value for the quality of room]. The rooms have been renovated to a high standard and the shower is excellent.

Our only negatives were that we thought the breakfast was very nicely done but maybe a little light and although it was great to have the bar fridge in our room but the whirring almost kept me up all night the first night.

I would definitely stay at this BnB again and it would be a great location for a longer visit as it would have been wonderful to have had the time to enjoy the terrace and fantastic views more.

  • Liked — The terrace anf the view
  • Disliked — A bit of noise from upstairs and that noisy fridge
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank susy_mc_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

When I read the reviews on trip advisior before booking Anitas BnB, I should admit, I was taking the reviews with a little suspicion as all were praising this BnB. Still, I went ahead and made the booking for three nights. It wasn't until we landed there that i started agreeing to all those reviews about this BnB.
We had a room with balcony on 2nd floor (above the social room) and boy, what a room it was. It may seem exaggerated, but this was simply the best BnB we have ever stayed at. Every thing there was so nice - everything from the room to bathroom to breakfast to the sunrise view - its beyond words to describe. We planned our Barcelona visits around the local bus which stops very close to this BnB and takes you to the Metro station Penitents. From there, you get direct train to Placa Catalunya, Diagona, and Placa Espanya. Ideal for all tourist attraction along the way.

We rue our decision of not extending our stay in Barcelona by one more day. Without a second thought, we will stay here again when we visit Barcelona again.

  • Liked — Sunrise View from Our Balcony, unforgettable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Socorro_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We loved the warm, friendly welcome we received at Anita's B&B along with the quiet neighborhood location and lofty view over Barcelona from our shared patio. Parc Guell is within a mile and Sagrada Familia is clearly in view with the Mediterranian beyond. The folks at Anita's go out of their way to help visitors find good restaurants and to negotiate Barcelona's public transportation system. The simple but hearty communal breakfasts served by Ariadna and her Mom feel like time spent visiting favorite relatives. The rooms are quite nice, though could do with some decoration, such as pictures on the walls, but still a great value with breakfast included and free internet access. Tip: Don't plan on renting a car during your stay at Anita's since there is no place to park. Even if you're in good shape, you'll grow weary of hiking up and down the steep hill between Anita's and the nearest Metro stop, but the good news is there is a convenient bario bus that stops every half hour just 1/2 block away and you'll get to meet friendly neighbors during each 10 minute ride to and from the Metro. Note: Barcelona's Metro system is quite safe and efficient and can take you anywhere in the city within approx. 25 minutes.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, View, Price, quiet, comfortable room, free internet, breakfast included
  • Disliked — Steep climb from metro station if you miss the barrio bus
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Phaed0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

The B&B is located about 1/4 way up Mt Tibidabo (542m). Access to the B&B is via Bus 124 (a 5-min journey from Metro Station Penitents). Or a 15-min uphill walk from the same metro station. It is possible to walk if you are used to walking uphill and if you have no "load" (no heavy bags or luggage), and if the weather is pleasant. The last bus leaves Penitents metro at 9pm, and it runs infrequently, so we walked uphill most nights instead of waiting around for the next bus. Which we all looked upon as a pleasant stroll to end the day, albeit uphill.

The room we had on the same floor of the common room is big and spacious. The bathroom is clean and there is a bathtub. The room was cleaned everyday but the towels were not replaced everyday.

As it is an old neighbourhood, every night we could hear water dripping/flowing from the neighbour's pipes behind the wall of our room. However, we were told this problem would be fixed in the next weeks.

The breakdast consisted of very delicious crossiants, freshly-made toasted sandwiches, cereal, coffee, juice, cold milk. Our daughter had strawberry yoghurt bought especially for her, which I thought was a really nice touch.

The host Ariadna is genuinely friendly, accommodating, helpful, and sincere. She made our stay truely enjoyable and that is what matters most.

  • Liked — Spacious room and sincere host and delicious crossiants.
  • Disliked — Towels not changed everyday.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CYKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

A nice B&B with clean rooms and standard breakfast (coffee, juice, cereal and a sandwich). Very friendly family. But be ready to climb up high in the hill to enjoy the promising view over the city. It is about 5-6 metro stations from the downtown, plus a 10-minute ride by a bus (which goes every 30-40 minutes until 21.00) or very sportive walking up to the hill within 15 minutes. On the 3d day your legs are aching and you may feel despaired especially if the bus drivers are on strike for a week. Gaudi park, Funiculair station are in the walking distance. 1 night stay is 80-90 euros per room.

  • Liked — A great view over Barcelona
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank timolechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#224 of 513 in Barcelona
1,130 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#15 of 308 in Barcelona
568 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
Barcelona Nice & Cozy
Barcelona Nice & Cozy
#141 of 728 in Barcelona
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcino 147
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
599 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anita's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anita's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Anita's Bed & Breakfast
Address: C/ August Font 24, 08035 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very comfortable accomodation in the high zone of Barcelona with a great view of the city. Familiar and relaxed atmosphere. 3 rooms with ensuite bathroom, tv, DVD and wireless ADSL. Rooms can be double or triple. Dining and social room with tv, books and guides of Barcelona and Catalunya. Breakfast is included and is one of our best features. Dinner can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anita's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anita`s Bed And Breakfast
Anita`s Hotel Barcelona
Anita's Bed & Breakfast Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing