We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star visit to a 4 star pad & 5 star hostess; nice!!”
Review of Barcelona Dreams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barcelona Dreams
Ranked #298 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Spent Christmas '13 in Barcelona (5 star hotel), loved city so much - returned May '14 for another visit. Selected this crash pad to reduce cost, but stay in the central areas we loved so much. When we confirmed our flight time was as expected Owners' Assistant Francesca not only emailed back quickly (10 minutes) - she handled direct pickup from the airport / delivery to our 'new' Barcelona home away from home.

Sure, we could have saved 5 - 7 euros had we taken a taxi but Francesca's offer to help and the ease in which we arrived was much appreciated. Prior posts mention hard to find. Not really as it's 2 blocks off of La Rambla in between the market and the pharmacy signs (gated door / keyed). If you get lost ... walk 12 steps further north, have a drink at a friendly neighborhood bar 'Martini Blue' (William & Emma bartenders / Owners) and call Francesca. She'll meet you with a smile bigger than the fullest moon you've ever seen.

I am not sure why some posts refer to this as a hostel. We had our own room with private bath, plenty of space for luggage, clothes, fridge, hairdryer, microwave, fresh towels, etc. The only thing we shared with other was the front door and greetings from the bubbly Francesca.

Peeked in some of the other rooms .. they were all as nice, if not nicer than ours. Clean linens, vintage (circa 1850's) tile, solid wood shutters, high ceiling, antique operable hardware ...

A shared kitchen (we never used as 4 - 6 outdoor cafes with great people watching were 2 minutes away) was clean / had all the makings for coffee, tea, etc. The shared hallway was fun .. large enough to nod hello and pass on by OR laugh when some Aussies spilled 4 bags of luggage all over the floor and were laughing that it happened there instead of the airport.

We'll be back (sorry, can't think of any complaints). Happy travels, to all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Warmly recomends this place!
Very good location, near too many things. Welcoming and helpful staff. We were picked up at the airport for a reasonably price. The room was nice and clean.
Will definitely book this place next time again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ak_jonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaDreams, Gerente at Barcelona Dreams, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for choosing us and for your review!
For us is important your feed back to do the best for our guests!

Hope see you again the next time,

It was a pleasure to meet you!

Hasta luego,


Francesca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We recently spent 3 nights in this wonderful establishment. It is refreshing to stay somewhere that is not the standard minimum hotel room. The furnishings and art were much appreciated. Touches such as a fridge and more than adequate tea and coffee making services in the shared kitchen were great. Unfortunately breakfast as mentioned in the other reviews is no longer left outside the door. It can also be a little noisy at night. Only one gripe the extra services such as taxi and guided walking tours are much more expensive than can be sourced elsewhere. See walking with Architects and Green Bean tours. Thank-you Francesca for an overall lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were met at the airport by taxi and greeted at the guest house entrance by Andre's who could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Our apartment room, though located in an older building had all the charm and quaintness as described on the website. We initially booked for 2 days and ended up staying for 6 as it was such an excellent location and the hosts Andre's and his lovely wife Susannah and assistant Franchesca were the most warm, friendly and helpful hosts we encountered on our 8 week holiday through Europe. We highly recommend Bacelona Dreams and absolutely will stay again next time we visit beautiful Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernadette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaDreams, Gerente at Barcelona Dreams, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,
For us it was a pleasure to host you!We hope see you again,
Best regards from Barcelona Dreams!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We've spent a fantastic time in Barcelona, and our staying at Barcelona Dreams made it perfect! We felt like home: the managers - a wonderful married couple and their friend - were so friendly, nice and charming so it was hard to farewell in the end of our trip!
The apartments are in an old yet beautiful building, it makes the atmosphere special! Also the location is great, it was easy to get to the places of interest (such as Placa Catalunya, La Rambla, Montjuic, Picasso Museum, Barceloneta beach, etc)
Every morning we ould find some fresh pastries, fruit, marmalade and bread outside the room, all for the perfect morning!
This place is very authentic, so if you don't wanna see another typical Sokos or smth like that, you should definitely choose this place! Big rooms, antique furniture, small balcony, high ceilings - all this very beautiful. You'll get an opportunity to meet three wonderful persons and have a great time!
P.S. DON'T FORGET TO VISIT a tea house (the adress is Sant Domenec del Call, 12, ask the managers how to get there), it's a nice and cosy small place where you can find A LOT OF delicious tea, of all sorts and types! It's really worth visiting!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sasha_Chernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaDreams, Gerente at Barcelona Dreams, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

It was a pleasure to meet you and your family, we enjoyed the time shared with you!
From Barcelona Dreams to Saint Petersburg we send you our best regards!
спасибо!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were made to feel so welcome, we had a difficult journey down and were much later than we should have been but Francesca met us and even gave us a bottle of wine to soothe our souls. The room was really wonderful and was perfectly located to access all areas of Barcelona. The only down side was the breakfast as we did not get fruit or coffee the second morning and being a vegetarian this left me with a slice of cheese. All in all this is a wonderful place to stay and would highly recommend to any one.

Room Tip: Room 1 had aspects of the street and side alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doowit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

husband & wife team along with their assistant Franchesca run a sumptuous & eclectic guesthouse some 100 meters from Monumento a Colon...the 60m high monument at the lower end of La Rambla, Barcelona...breakfast is served in your room on antique trays from Morocco...my room with balcony falling into the vibe & energy of La Rambla, huge Greta Garbo Pictures, beautiful mixes of antique furniture, marble, glass, pewter...really a Dream with huge bed, cotton bedding...candles are lit in the evenings all along the guesthouse passage...alternative healing practitioners are brought to your room at anytime of day or night by pre-booked request...i had a magical journey by a Reiki practitioner that was unsurpassed in her intuition...but the hospitality of these individuals is incomparable...it was simply a delicious experience exposing all 5 senses: taste, sound, sight, touch & smell...something really worth doing again...

Room Tip: if you dont want your sense of sound exposed to the vibe & energy of La Rambla below, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank room108_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 515 in Barcelona
204 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#312 of 515 in Barcelona
627 reviews
La Rambla
Ramblas Hotel
Ramblas Hotel
#394 of 515 in Barcelona
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#66 of 515 in Barcelona
580 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#215 of 515 in Barcelona
520 reviews
La Rambla
Ramblas by Pillow
Ramblas by Pillow
#89 of 307 in Barcelona
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Dreams

Address: Carrer de Josep Anselm Clave, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £80 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the sea and Las Ramblas, right in the heart of Barcelona. Ensuite rooms full of charachter and free hi speed internet in a small private Guesthouse located in a neoclassical building of 1856. A different way of lodging and expierence an ambience stay in a great location. A beautiful room with high ceilings and a lot of charm at the Best location in Barcelona next to Las Ramblas and next to the sea.The room has all this features: Ensuite Private Bathroom with Hidromassage Shower, Free HiSpeed 100mb/s LAN Internet, Free Wi-Fi, Air Conditioning, 42¨Flat TV, balcony.Located next to Plaza Colon, the port and Las Ramblas in a 1850s neoclassical residential building. It is a charming and private place to stay, right in the heart of Barcelona.The room apartments, with their handcrafted decorated wood and high ceilings, have been preserved and restored. Their history bring a classical atmosphere to the room. Some of the facilities have been refurbished for your comfort, like ensuite bathrooms in each room , to make your stay in Barcelona more pleasant.Each room is around 23m², equipped with free hi speed internet access, hidromassage shower, air conditioning system, a refrigerator, a microwave and some tableware. The building has a small supermarket and a pharmacy on the ground floor.Bcn D-Guesthouse is an Ideal location for your stay in Barcelona! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barcelona Dreams Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing