We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in a busy city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelona Center Hotel
Ranked #196 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in a busy city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is superb! Staff are friendly, hotel is clean, jacuzzi on the roof! What more do you want? When staying there we didnt have the breakfast they provided, we walked around the corner to a little cafe called El Fornet! Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    406
    111
    22
    11
See reviews for
127
407
36
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

First the good: Excellent location and a consistently helpful and friendly staff. Unfortunately, the rest is downhill. This place is worthy of 3 stars at best in my humble opinion. Common areas are dreary and dated and disjointed and the whole vibe is 70's. Unfortunately, my room was the worst of it. A dark, smallish dungeon that induced a feeling of claustrophobia and suffocation. Opening the curtains only made matters worse, as the window faced out to another of the hotel's inside brick walls with a small inset window. This seriously sparked empathic thoughts about prisoners and the physical sensations of light deprivation. I asked to be moved to another room but was told there was no availability. This is the only place on my 5-stop Spain adventure to which I wouldn't return or recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandiego
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location is great. They charged us 50 euro extra for kids however they upgraded the room. The hotel have excellent currency exchange rate much better than center. Overall the rooms are nice. Parking is expensive about 24 euros a day. The brunch 13/ euro including toddlers are expensive much easier to walk 5 minutes to café. Most café don't take AMEX. The service was good 24 hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safari035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a couple of nights. Amazing staff, very friendly and always willing to help. Housekeeping very good and attentive. Front desk agents were really helpful with our questions. Service in restaurant friendly as well and always proper and careful in the service. However, bar was closed all the days we were there and the food choices were kind of limited. Nonetheless I am looking forward to staying there again in my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g89p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel August 15th thru 17th and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is very clean and the staff is extremely helpful. Enjoyed the jacuzzi on the top level and had a wonderful bartender who stayed open late just for us both nights. The hotel is in a very nice area and is just a short metro stride to all the nearby attractions. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank English_Arnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice old-world hotel. Spacious room, smaller bathroom with only one washbasin. Thanks to the airco it was a very cool place to stay in a very hot Barcelona. The jacuzzi on the roof is lovely, the roof as a whole is a great place to sit and relax with good simple food for a nice price.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YPhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

After what felt a lengthy walk from the City Centre to the hotel we were pleasantly suprised about the up market appearance of our hotel for the next 3 nights. We wrer greeted by friendly and helpful english speaking staff,and this continued during our stay.
Our room was our next suprise,very spacious, big bathroom,and even the musty smell disappeared quickly. One gripe was the air conditioning which gave the impression it was going to explode at times.
The location once we found our feet was fine we used the bus service more than the metro but it wasnt much of a stroll to the fabulous eating avenues.
The breakfast was very good with a good selection from the buffet.
A pleasant stay at a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Dont worry about a room with a view, nice and quiet with an internal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#72 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#143 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#104 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Center Hotel

Property: Barcelona Center Hotel
Address: Calle Balmes, 103-105 | Esquina Mallorca, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelona Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Center
Barcelona Center Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing