We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelona Center Hotel
Ranked #195 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of our trip. The rooms were very comfortable. Location was excellent. Underground parking very close by. The bar tender made us the most wonderful cocktails on both nights.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank quinnj66 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    406
    111
    22
    11
See reviews for
127
407
36
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at the Center Hotel for 10 days during a business trip in June. The location of the hotel is just perfect. Nice shops and a lot of very good restaurants and bars are in walking distance. If you need to go further away a taxi stand is right opposite the hotel and the subway is just one block away.

The room was very clean and looked quite new. The room itself wasn't too spacious but the bathroom was big with a bathtub and a walk-in shower. Unfortunately the wifi in my room was pretty unstable (in other parts of the hotel and in my colleagues room it was good) but at least it was for free. I really didn't like that it was impossible to close the curtains completely.

THe breakfast was very average. Nothing to complain about but also nothing that made me get up for the breakfast on days I didn't have to attend early meetings. I would recommend to book the room without breakfast and eat in one of the nice cafes/restaurants in the area.

Pretty nice is the roof-top terrace with two jacuzzis - one is hot one is warm. I often had a drink or a snack up here. Bit quite a few times there was no service when I went there.

Overall I enjoyed the stay. Also because the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janbeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a great hotel! I absolutely had the best time ever! First of all; the staff is very nice and very helpful. I was with a large group and they did everything to make our stay better. Elsa; my contact person spoke very good English and was very kind and helpful. The people from the catering were very sweet and helpfull as well as the guys that were working at the reception (and 1 guy from the office behind the reception that was always there for me when I had a question or needed help in general). Second of all; the breakfast was very, very good. The variety was big and tasty. Third of all; the location is right in the middle of all the great shops and other great locations. You can walk everywhere which is fantastic! Last but not least; the rooms were very nice (much better in real life than on the pictures on their website) and very, very clean! Safe to say that I will come back here next time when I visit Barcelona (Business or Pleasure!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Ibrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is very clean, our bedroom was spacious and had a dressing room (superior room). Maid service was good, breakfast was buffet style continental and quite adequate. The staff seemed friendly if you spoke to them, but they didn't go out of their way to speak to us. It is a 4 star, but there was no porter or offer of help with bags etc. it has a hot tub on the roof terrace, but we didn't use it, as there were no robes available and strangely only one pair of slippers.

Over all a fairly good experience, but not as nice as our previous hotel in Barcelona last year

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakery3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The initial impression on arrival was that the room was quite dark but I think this is deliberate to ensure it remains cool in the summer. Your eyes quickly adjust or you can draw back the curtains. The bed was huge and quite firm, which I liked. Due to the layout of the building our room (120 at the end of a corridor), had a larger than average bathroom (with both bath and shower). Barcelona is a big city so it is hard to find the perfect location. That said, you are just a few blocks away from some of the finest modernista buildings and the Gothic area is only 20 minutes walk away. It actually felt nice to be in the city rather than on the fringe in one of the sea front hotels. Having read some of the reviews here on Tripadvisor, we chose to go room only so I cannot comment on the breakfast at the hotel. However, one block away on Carrer Mallorca is Catalana, a very popular place which serves Spanish style breakfasts in the morning and some of the best tapas to be found in the city in the evening. It is a lot cheaper than the hotel too. Would I stay at the Barcelona Centre again? Definitely as long as I could get a good price!

Note: it seems there are two hotels with this name in Barcelona, this is the one on Carrer Balmes, also you should be aware that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent 3 nights here with my husband. Great location, approx 15 mins walk to La Rambla. From the airport get off at Passig de Gracia approx 10 mins walk to hotel. Nice room, but bed was very ,very hard. Our room was facing to the back of hotel, so very quiet. Staff stand out as the most helpful I encountered . Booked tickets for us for Sagrada Familia, and produced an umbrella on a very wet morning. Can recommend having a mojita on the terrace bar..great views.
Overall, great hotel, friendly helpful staff, but hard bed. Did not have breakfast so cannot comment on food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariebCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan. NJ
Level Contributor
270 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Located at the corner of Mallorca & Balmes in Eixample, we stayed here for four nights at the end of a Gate 1 tour of Spain. It's a block off Rambla de Catalunya and a 15 minute walk to La Rambla. The excellent La Palmera Restaurant is down the next corner. The hotel has a good breakfast buffet, reliable Wi-Fi and comfortable rooms, and there's a taxi stand at the corner. The shower is a challenge; neither of us was able to shower without having water splash out onto the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyShoreJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#71 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#143 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#102 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Center Hotel

Property: Barcelona Center Hotel
Address: Calle Balmes, 103-105 | Esquina Mallorca, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Barcelona Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Center
Barcelona Center Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing