We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, friendly and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelona Center Hotel
Ranked #195 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly and clean”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I'd normally stay at Axel but wanted something different for a change. This was a great alternative only a couple blocks from there. Very warm welcome, they knew my name as I came through the door. Quite spacious room and very clean. Beds are firm, but no more so than anywhere else you'll generally find on the continent. Had seen some reviews saying it had thin walls so you heard neighbours. Again, no more so than any other hotel at this price point. To be honest, unless the neighbours were exceptionally noisy (they were for me on the second morning only), there really was no noise to speak of.

Bathroom was nicely refurbished and spacious, much like the rest of the room. Would gladly stay here again. Restaurant and cafe choices in great abundance (not always the case in Barcelona!) in all directions. Three blocks off Las Ramblas and on the quieter end. Had friends staying right off Plaza Catalunya so made the trip a couple times each day. 15 minutes brisk walk. Taxi to Marbella Beach was never more than 8 euros.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    411
    117
    23
    12
See reviews for
130
414
37
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a lovely stay here. The room was very clean on arrival and this high standard was maintained each day by the maid. It is a close walk to good restaurants and local café's for breakfast. The staff on the front desk are happy to help with reserving tables at a restaurant for you and calling a taxi. We got the train from the airport and then got the metro to the station (on the way back we got a train straight to the airport from a station close by) and it was a short walk, easy to find. We used the terrace one late afternoon by the jacuzzis in the evening sun which was great to have after a long busy day of walking. We would stay here again if we come back to Barcelona :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here for 3 nights! We really enjoyed it.
Positives:
The bed was comfy.
Facilities were good
Nice and central
Free wifi
Negatives:
Ridiculously expensive food
The spa was filled with cold water
The view was of concrete slabs in the middle of the hotel.
None of the staff spoke any english at all.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pauldanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just returned from a short 4 day trip in Barcelona and had a fantastic time. This hotel was very clean, professional and inviting. Our room was lovely and we had room service every day which was great! All the staff were very helpful and the overall vibe of the place was great. Had breakfast one morning and the food was amazing, lots of choice and high quality! Only criticism would be how expensive the food was, and we only chose to eat there once because of this. However I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

very good clean hotel. large room , nice decoration huge bed, very rich breakfast. wonderful jacuzzi at the roof top with views over the town. I would definitely return. the area of the hotel is excellent . very nice restaurants near by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerasimosp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014. This hotel is well-situated in the city- it's in L'Eixample area, which is quieter than Las Rambas & Ciutat Vella, but still close enough to walk to and from (it's about 20 min. walk from the hotel to the Cathedral; and about 20 min. walk to La Sagrada Familia; 10 min. to La Pedrera & Block of Discord, & Passeig de Gracia; otherwise the Diagonal metro is just a couple of blocks away). The hotel itself is clean and well-maintained, and the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. Their English is very good, and so we had no communication problems, when I asked if they would make restaurant reservations for us, which they did..I was also able to check in to my room at 8:00am on my arrival day, rather than having to wait until 3:00pm, which was a definite bonus.

As for the room, it was a standard double, which meant two twin beds pushed together. If you are traveling with a family member whom you don't mind being that close too, that's fine, but if not, you may want to get a different type of room. However, the twin beds could have been pulled apart. The room faced the back of the hotel, which was fine, as we were out all day and wanted peace and quiet for sleeping. (The hotel building is not much higher than the other buildings in the area, so I don't think any room really has a spectacular view of any sights). There was no luggage rack in the room, but there was a "single-door" armoire on each side of the bed. We only had backpacks, so storage wasn't really an issue for us. The bathroom was very nice, but the one odd thing is that the tub/shower combo didn't have a curtain- rather, a wall extended from the tub to the ceiling, but didn't span the width of the tub, and so some water would splash out over the side of the tub that wasn't covered (the showerhead is in the more enclosed part of the shower/tub). It wasn't really an inconvenience though, as the tub wall was high enough so that water wasn't pouring over the edge and onto the floor. The hotel also has a rooftop terrace bar with a hot tub, but it did not seem that exciting, and thought it was more fun to be out in the city amongst the locals.

We also did not opt for the buffet breakfast since it was a bit pricey and there are other places along Rambla Catalunya where you can eat a decent breakfast (we liked Café & Thé, on Rambla Catalunya.). On our second day we finally realized that most of the café/bar places that serve breakfast can make you an omelet, though they call it "tortilla".

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to be away from the touristy areas, but still close enough to them, as it was very quiet and the staff were great.

Room Tip: If you want quiet- ask for a room that faces the back, not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCPNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Having just returned from a four day break in Barcelona staying at the four star centre hotel, we found the hotel ideally placed for getting in to the bustling centre of Barcelona, the staff were very intentive and we're always on hand. The hotel has a sun lounge on the roof top with two jacuzzis, these were ideal after walking round the sights to ease our weary legs. Also on the rooftop was the monitor bar but this is only open on certain nights, the drinks were also more expensive than the local bars. The room was very nice and cleaned daily, would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay whilst exploring Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#71 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#127 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#111 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Center Hotel

Property: Barcelona Center Hotel
Address: Calle Balmes, 103-105 | Esquina Mallorca, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Center
Barcelona Center Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing