We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau
Ranked #144 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place with hiccups”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in December with our two teenage children.
Before arriving I called to ask if all was in place for our arrival as I was aware that there was no reception. I was assured all was in place for our arrival. At no time was I told I needed a password to get in. What password???? This was the start of things to come. We finally worked out our password which was our surname. No problem with the check in machine we had our cards and went up to our rooms. The cards didn't work so we couldn't get into our room. After making a few calls someone came down to let us into our room. That didn't.t work either so she gave us another room and took our cards and left us with a remote control to open our doors and the entrance door. In taking our cards we had no cards to turn the lights on. My husbands quick thinking used a credit card and we had lights. After settling in we went out. When we got back at around 10.00pm we couldn't.t get into the apartment and were stuck outside after a few calls someone came down after a 20min wait.
She let us in and then discovered that the remote was not working. Our stress levels by this stage were sky . The young lady who came down was very helpful and got everything sorted out for us and assured us that we wouldn't.t have any further problems which we didn't.
The positive with this apartment is the location in a quite suburban street.
Within walking distance to train station. Good wifi and nice clean spacious rooms. If management were to fix the problems with their check in process we would stay her again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castro_Exclusive, MKT Manager at Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau, responded to this review, 2 August 2016
Good afternoon, Josephine M:
Thanks for taking time to write.
I sincerely hope you come back because we have just improved all that you mention me machine checkin works and records prefectamente cards (if any mishap we have a Plan B, D) In addition to turn the light the apartment no longer need the card.
So you can leave the stress at the airport next time, come back to us and simply enjoy: D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
41
4
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

we stayed first week on april there. I have to say as a con that the checkin machine doesnt work really well, but nothing traumatic as it was fast the procedure.

The pros were the high standards they have. All looks new and feels new. They have an excellent quality of furniture and and exquisite decoration. The location is ok but its really easy to move to the city as they have a metro stop just on the side of the building plus the hospital sant pau.

I have to thank the cleaning services as they did an extremely good job with us. Definetly my family and me we will come back!

thanks castro team

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castro_Exclusive, MKT Manager at Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau, responded to this review, 2 August 2016
Hi, Joann F:

thanks four your words :D
Good afternoon, jordan martin:
I hope you return soon.
Thus, in addition, you can discover all the improvements including checkin machine are;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First, the plusses. The apartments are immaculately kept - hats off to housekeeping - they do a great job. They are modern and attractive, clean and well specified. Most requirements are covered and they supply an abundance of towels. The neighbourhood whilst off the beaten track is safe, quiet and has decent amenities and is RIGHT next to the Metro stop. It's a decent balance of price vs convenience in my opinion and I would generally recommend this place to anyone who asked. However, the owners need to just check in on a few things and help their visitors a bit. It's all a bit too Do It Yourself if you ask me. You really are, as many people here say, left to sort yourself out.

When so many reviewers highlight the problem with the check in machine, you'd think the owners would tear it out and replace it. But no, it stays and breaks. It's a frustrating hunk of junk and when it came to checking out it broke - again. So, you wonder then when people point out the flaky wifi they'd fix that but no. We got there and only one device managed to ever connect, the rest got fleeting glimpses of a signal (oh and BTW the password is "castroexclusive" since they fail to tell you this anywhere.

Other bug bears, the listing on hotels.com says there is a library and a music library - no idea where. They give you a cartridge coffee machine (Dolce Gusto) but none of the local shops carry the cartridges and they dont give you any. The bath didnt have a plug which rendered it useless as a bath, the shutters for the patio door (which I could not get to lock) didnt work and the beds were brick hard.

Oh, and who doesnt have a corkscrew? Personal niggle but there you go.

Anyhoo, rounding up, they can sort these problems and it would be a straight 5 star from me. Just not this time.

Room Tip: They're all much of a muchness and you can't choose anyway. That said, GET the wifi password...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinwjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castro_Exclusive, MKT Manager at Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau, responded to this review, 2 August 2016
Good afternoon, martinwjordan:
many thanks for your comments, at the time we sirviern to improve and so, after a while, I can answer with many improvements. Wishing you back, of course, to check all :)
The wifi goes fast and fast, and the password is indicated in a thousand ways: P
The mattresses were changed less than a year so you can sleep like a baby does,
As for the maintenance of the building have a new partner who takes care of everything at once, just have to send a whatsapp, call the call center, send a mail, contact by facebook ... as you want, anytime! ;)

Checkin machine, of course, is improved, and in its third version goes well. Still we have a foolproof plan B;)
In short, sure'll love (more), come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 10pm which is no problem, I used my name to enter the building, then had the check in machine we just entered our details and out popped 2 cards which we then had trouble opening the door. Once we got the act of it then it was fine. we asked for a room with wifi which it did however we couldn't find the wifi password. The phone in our room wouldn't work so couldn't contact anyone. We order the room for 4 adults and when we arrived the sofa bed wasn't even made. When we did make it the people I was with have moaned of a bad back all weekend.
When it came to leaving it was so easy with the checkout machine, it was abit confusing because I thought we had to pay tourism tax. Anyway location is outside of the city and the metro line is an awkward one as you will have to take a long walk at passeig de Garcia (excuse the spelling) however can't fault the distance from the metro and the price! May not come back to this one again but good value for money!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DeclanH149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castro_Exclusive, MKT Manager at Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau, responded to this review, 2 August 2016
Good afternoon, DeclanH149:
thanks for taking your time to write :)
The tranquility of the neighborhood and the relative distance is what we love about Sant Pau, lol. Actually taking the subway du Sant Pau Hospital - Ginardó takes 15 minutes to walk to Grace; It is fine !, right?
Then, to the Sagrada Familia is about 15 minutes walk.
But hey, really, also thanks for the aportación.En as the sofa bed apology because it must have been a misunderstanding, frankly, in recent months we have improved a lot: in communication, no fixed telephone with direct communication with us, call center 24h, whatsapp contact ...
We therefore hope that when you return to Barcelona again trust in castro Exclusive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We arrive at 22 at night. We managed the check in machine Ok. The apartment is nice and we'll furnished, location is perfect for If u want to disconnect from the chaos of the city. The handicap is that There's no reception, but you can contact them 24 hours dialing a free phone inside the apartment. Will be back soon

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina26lish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castro_Exclusive, MKT Manager at Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau, responded to this review, 2 August 2016
Hello, Tina26lish:
thanks for your comments, I'm glad you love the apartments and especially your intention to return. I hope so and to match.
Indeed, in recent months we have improved a lot so sure your experience will be better :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Amrey Sant Pau
#244 of 512 in Barcelona
695 reviews
Hotel Aristol
#421 of 512 in Barcelona
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sensation Authentic Gracia
#170 of 722 in Barcelona
18 reviews
BcnStop Sagrada Familia
#190 of 722 in Barcelona
107 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Aslyp 114
Hostal Aslyp 114
#10 of 307 in Barcelona
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau

Property: Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau
Address: C/ Telegraf, 19, 08041 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From words like comfort, location, sustainability and modernity comes this exclusive residential concept in Barcelona. Located at only 5 minutes away from Hospital de Sant Pau, Unesco heritage, and 100 meters from the metro station Guinardo. In a neighborhood known for its tranquility and good communication with the center of the city, you will find 12 exclusive residences from 70/80 m2 with capacity of 4/5 people, 2/3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, fully equipped with great detail, as well as two duplex's for up to 4 people. The exquisite, exclusivity and colorfulness are the mainstay of the decor, which seeks to integrate Barcelona inside the apartments.Facilities include a check-in Express, which will facilitate your arrival, electronic surveillance, safe and if you need, you will have a parking space than you will find in the same building with direct access to your exclusive residence.Of course, you will enjoy best connectivity to the Internet via Wi-free system. We include tech with 2 televisions, one 47 "ambilight system and another 32".If you want to experience Barcelona in it’s more pure way, join this experience. Live the city in Barcelona style, be amazed by our cultural and gastronomic offer.From castro Exclusive Residences we want your stay in Barcelona to be unique, because our commitment is to transform your visit into a ... See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Prestigia so you can book your Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castro Exclusive Residences Sant Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing