We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Ranked #130 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having specifically booked triple room , bit disappointed to find we were clearly in a double room with extra bed. Room clean but far too small for three.When queried with reception were told all rooms were of a similar size so be aware! Having said that , room was on corner so although no view , was very quiet.Location of hotel excellent, in a really busy area but with beautiful park at end of road. Staff lovely and very helpful. Pool tiny but roof terrace nicely done and good place to chill out. Free bottles of chilled water on every floor but tea/coffee making and fridge in room would be more useful. Overall , enjoyed our stay but more space would have been useful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is in the Gothic Region I believe and is steps away from Barcelona Zoo and a lovely park, a chocolate factory, bars, restaurants and shops.
The room we had was spacious with a small balcony over looking the front of the hotel. The bathroom was to a high specification with a very large shower.
Highlights of the hotel are the roof top pool area, complimentary water in bottles, fridged on each floor, free use of the internet and printing facilities which we used to print boarding passes and exceptional reception staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyloyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Centrally located in a very "happening" part of town. Short metro rides to everything or walking distance. Small but lovely rooftop terrace with tiny but fine pool. Free water in fridges on every floor, but no fridge in rooms. Rooms that face street have little characteristic balconies, but you can hear the revelry down below all night.

Room Tip: Quiet? Ask for back room. Party person? Ask for front.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisanewyork42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Its our third time here at this hotel. Located in the El Born area, the shops, cafes and bars are straight outside. Great location, 5-10min walk to the main shopping area, 15 min walk to the beach....

The rooms: most roms face the road outside which can at times be quite noisy, with people talking loudly at night, some times also in the early morning hours. Should be fine if you sleep with the balcony doors closed. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the street.
The beds are firm, you can ask for extra pillows.
Clean, modern rooms. The bathroom might have a bath tub. The towels leave white fluff.

The internet goes down quite often, however the reception can restart it, which usually fixes the problem.

There is free water bottles, unlimited supply from a fridge on each floor.

The rooftop terrace is a great place to hang out, but dont expext a large pool. The water reaches your waist, but is good to cool off in.
Might be a bit crowded at times. Pool towels can be hired.

The breakfast is good, if you are not pregnant (uncooked ham, soft cheeses etc). Limited choices if you are pregnant though, might not get the value out of it.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back + away from the lift.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Let's be clear - this is a 3 star hotel, so I am reviewing it as such.... and, as such, it gets 5 stars. Firstly, location wise, it is ideal - I abhor Las Ramblas and it's tacky centre of the road eateries, butthis hotel is right in the Born district - the Gothic district which is just lovely. The architecture, the narrow and maze like back streets - they are Spain! The hotel itself boasts a lovely little pool and sun terrace on the roof, an ideal oasis after a hot day tramping around. The reception staff are exemplary - cheerful, welcoming and absolutely nothing is too much trouble; not only do they respond to any request they actual offer assistance without request e.g. on being asked if it was the case that Sagrada Familia tickets could be booked in advance, the receptionist immediately offered to do it for us. The rooms - well, yes, they are not huge but this is a 3 star. They are scrupulously clean and beautifully simple but tasteful in decor. Plenty of wardrobe storage, a safe and a cable TV, albeit mainly Spanish but, um, this is Spain and we're not here to watch TV! Bathrooms clean and room maids efficient. Breakfast is fine enough and does the job. First night, we didn't get a promised upgrade to balcony room as hotel was full, so were in a back room which faced nothing other than a wall, 2nd night we were moved to a slightly larger and lighter balcony room - would I bother again? No - a) we only went to the room to sleep and the beds are in both cases as comfortable as I've found anywhere b) what you gain in space, light and balcony view, you lose in nightime peace, particularly on a Saturday when the noise of passers by is fairly constant throughout the night. No fault of the hotel, just how it is! Unlike some other reviews, I couldn't hear a thing from other rooms in either case, nor the corridor and I am a very light sleeper - so, you pays your money, you makes your choice: quiet, no view; noisy with balcony view. All in all, a fantastic hotel and I will most certainly be returning

Room Tip: As mentioned in review, if you value sleep, pick inside room, if you value extra light and a (small...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divecario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel in the trendy Born area. The rooftop pool was clean and coozy. It's not a big pool, but enough to cool down. Free bottle of water everyday and the staff is very kindly. We had a tripleroom with 2 balcony. We will be back;)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

First off, it was hot as hell when we were in Barcelona (and throughout Europe). This was the place we stayed wherein the air conditioning was beyond adequate. Going back to the room after hoofing around in the extreme heat was wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. They have chilled water bottles on each floor - they were a lifesaver! The pool area was great with fantastic views of the city. The only negative I have about this hotel is the breakfast. Make sure you book your room through their website - that's your only chance for a complimentary buffet. We ended up having to eat there for 2 of our 3 days. Not only were the prices outrageous, but the quality and selection of the food was terrible. Additionally, the staff member in charge was very rude and not at all helpful. We were the only ones in the dining area, and she could not have cared less about us. She got annoyed when we asked if there was orange juice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
756 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
495 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#211 of 513 in Barcelona
672 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#62 of 513 in Barcelona
2,062 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona

Address: Princesa 33 - 35, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £60 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Hotel Barcelona
Ciutat Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat De Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing