We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, kind staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Ranked #128 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It is the second time I stayed at this hotel, because of its location. It is situated approx. 10 min walk from Plaza Catalunya, 3min from gothic part of town and 15min from Olympic port. The district, El Born, is less touristy than La Rambla and Plaza Catalunya and is situated only 2 min from a park and 5 min from ZOO. Around hotel you will find plenty of bistros, restaurants and bars, it is right next to Picasso museum and you can spend few hours browsing through small shops.

Hotel staff is professional and kind, they changed my room without any hassle. You can leave your bag/suitcase in a luggage room if you arrive/leave earlier/later of check in/out time. Do not bother paying for breakfast in the hotel, you find across the street a lovely bistro that opens early (Spanish time) and you can have a delicious coffee with croissant or sandwich for few Euros.

The only downside of the hotel is, that the windows are not sound proof and when staying on the first floor (room 112) I had sometimes a feeling that people were just outside my window.

Room Tip: Upper floors, not first floor. Not room 101 - very dark and somber. Room 101 also had a very strong...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AQ514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel 2 years ago and loved it,sowhen we came back to barcelona, the choice for a hotel was simple.
The locstion of the place is simply great, very close to the lively gothic quarter, yet with the quietness of el born. Everything is within walking distance.
The rooms are good value for money, and nice. However this time we were disappointed with the lackof maintenance in the room (wall paint and broken tile in the bathroom,smell of dirty pipes in the room)
Biggest disappointment was that they could not fix the wifi the entire weekend.
Nonetheless the locatin of the hotel and complementary water make up for it.
We hope the hotel will be maintained better in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiRa938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We make a reservation for us at this hotel and everything seems to be ok....till we receive an email from Ciutat de barcelona hotel,telling us, that our reservation is cancelled because we have problems with our card.In the next day,we go at the bank to check what problems we have and we discover a verry big surprise!!!The hotel charged us, not once,but they try to gharged us twice for the same amount.After that, begin excanges of emails between us and the hotel+booking.
Anyway, they dont recognize that they charged up for the money,even if we sent them an account extras from our bank,and now we are without Our money....this is a steel.
After we speak with some people from booking.com,we find out that is not the first time when something like that happen.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Marryande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiutatHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Marryande,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests.

Regarding the charge you are talking about we inform you, as in our previous emails, that we have only tried to pre-authorize your credit card, but it was declined. So we proceded to cancel your reservation. We have not charged your card at any time. We assume that your bank has blocked the money and we suggest you to contact them.

Finally, If you ever come to our hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you in the future and wish you the very best.

Marta Robert
Head Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great no frills hotel.

Rooms were clean, and the air con worked well. The free bottled water was good as well. No limits.

We had breakfast in the hotel. You could have hot bacon and scrambled eggs, cereal, toast, bread, cold meets and cheese, fruit, yoghurt, teas and coffees, and fruit juice. Again, no limits.

The front desk was good for places to eat, and things to do - very knowledgeable staff.

Would I go again? Yes, very good central location, 2 minutes walk from the Picasso museum, and in a street that's closed at certain times in the day, so quiet when it needs to be!

One last point, the swimming pool? Not huge. If you dived in at one end you'd probably brain yourself at the other. But it is absolutely perfect for cooling down after an afternoon of sunning yourself.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, overlooking the Princesa Street (rooms 6 -12 overlook the street), and o...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Campagnolo39-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very simple and plain. Nothing fancy going on in the rooms, but it's fine. Our room was clean, and we had a street view so it was nice. The wifi was a bit slow but that's my only negative. Staff was friendly and we love the street this hotel is located on. There is a great bakery/coffee shop across the street and many restaurants near by. Also close to the metro which is a huge plus.
Would come back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Meech_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Picked this hotel at random amongst others in the city but couldn't have been happier. Not top end luxury but perfectly comfortable, reasonably priced, with well decorated rooms. Fully air conditioned with a roof terrace and small pool. The staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants etc
What made this hotel was the position in the heart of the old town, within minutes walk of the Barri Gothic Sant Pere and La Ribera districts. Plenty of bars restaurants and attractions within five minutes walk

Room Tip: Higher floors ( 4 and above) reduces street noise at night
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

For location and value, this is a great hotel. It's close to the main strip with all the restaurants and nightlife and also not a long walk from the beach.

The hotel is nice, great views on the street, if you can get one. Be careful with which room you get, we had one at first that was dark and the only window was facing a tower. However, the desk reception was extremely nice and changed for us right away.

Also the roof top pool was great for a dip after a long day. However, I don't know why I thought from the pictures the pool would be bigger, but it's rather tiny.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
756 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
495 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#210 of 513 in Barcelona
672 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
2,060 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona

Address: Princesa 33 - 35, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £59 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Hotel Barcelona
Ciutat Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat De Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing