We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel situated in the old part of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Ranked #147 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This three day trip to Barcelona was a birthday present for my partner who really enjoys the Spanish culture. This particular hotel was chosen as it was situated in the Gothic area of the city and the positive reviews from this website. The reception was friendly and we were quickly checked in and in the lift to our allocated room on the fifth floor overlooking Princesa Street. The room was bright adequately equiped with modern furnishings and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Comments made by previous guests suggested that it could be noisey but with the window closed no traffic noise could be heard. We were particularly grateful for the helpful reception staff member who made telephone calls on our behalf to confirm departure transport back to the airport.
Our accommodation booking was for bed and breakfast but to say that the breakfast experience was disappointing is an understatement. This resulted from two staff members struggling to cope with the number of guests wanting coffee as the machine was not working consequently a queue formed and it took quite a long time to get a hot drink. The food was typically continental style with additional scrambled egg and bacon however, it took six transits of the toaster to achieve a very lightly toasted bread. The other problem was finding somewhere to sit as as unoccupied tables were stacked with crockery from earlier guests. Whilst we would return to this particular hotel we would forego the breakfast and sample the offerings of the small eateries situated locally.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the upper floors to distant ourselves from traffic noise, and it was an excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

POSITIVE: We have just returned after our three night stay at this great little hotel. After reading some of the not so positive reviews we were pleasantly surprised on arrival. We received a warm, friendly welcome - we had requested a certain floor and room location and the request was honoured -- a very positive start! Our room was really nice, light and airy with two windows that overlooked Princesa Street. It was a good size, modern, attractively furnished and spotlessly clean. Likewise the bathroom, it was quite roomy, a nice efficient shower, a hairdryer and good quality towels. Despite complaints about noise from some other reviewers, we must have been lucky because our room was very quiet, of course with the windows open there was some traffic noise but that was to be expected. The staff members at this hotel were all polite, helpful and friendly. In particular a young man called Gabriel on reception who very kindly helped sort out our hotel/airport departure details.
NEGATIVE: The breakfast was a real let-down and disappointment. It was a shambles and a complete antitheses to the well run-hotel. It's difficult to know where to start with what's wrong with the breakfast service. The food wasn't bad, it was the usual Continental fare as well as scrambled eggs and bacon. However, the place was so under-staffed, just two people to serve coffee, replenish food items, clean the tables and generally look after and serve dozens of customers, most of whom were complaining about one thing or another.
Having said that, we would still return to this hotel but would skip booking breakfast - there are lots of super little breakfast places nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Altea88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I will start with the good thing about this hotel. The location is superb – right in the middle of the action, only 5 minutes away from the L4 metro train station. The design of the room is very nice and modern. The room was clean. I didn’t hear any noise from the neighbor rooms like other travelers mentioned (but I’m not sure that they were occupied neither).

Now - about the bad things.

First – it is really noisy if you are facing the street – this is true. But I was prepared for that and I can coop with it. Most of the staff on the reception were really indifferent – neither rude nor friendly – just being there. The electricity in the room was shutting down from time to time and I have to reset the card in the slot manually to turn it on again. On the last day it started doing that every 10 minutes. When I complained about that on the reception they fixed it immediately - bypassing the card slot and turning the electricity constantly on. This means that they knew about the issue (since they knew what is wrong without visiting the room and how to bypass it immediately), but never bothered to fix the source of the issue. There was no duvet cover – just 2 plain sheets and I had to put in between (like sandwich) the blanket that I found in the wardrobe. The “crown jewel” of the bad experience was the fact that there was no hot water in the room during rush hours (around 18 to 21 h.). Also no Wi-Fi in the rush hours either. The receptionist explained that there was cleaning of the pipes on the particular day and this is the reason for the lack of hot water. But when I told him that this goes for a third day in a row he remained speechless. It was obvious that the hotel management is aware of the issue and they provided the reception staff with a script for excuses so they can pipe down angry guests, but again they didn’t actually do something to fix the issue. On the other hand I didn’t notice any other reviews with complains about this, so I might have been just a really bad luck, but it ruined our stay and our nights out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konstantin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Well located in the centre of Barcelona...which makes it very far if you are there for the Fira. Staff is very friendly and willing to help, which is very good. Rooms are clean, but their walls are made of paper and my bed was made of stone. Shower was either super hot or super cold, but seemed to have difficulties finding a stable point in between those. Aircon / Heating did not work. Breakfast was "motorway motel" style, with some good stuff but mainly basic stuff tasting as it had been made by a low quality supplier. Strangely enough lunch / dinner was very good, which might be due to the fact that the restaurant of the hotel is also available from the street and therefore caters inside and outside people. Terrace on the roof is very pleasant, with a small pool which would probably be a blessing in the summer.

Room Tip: High floors only, so that one is at least protected from the noise in the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPMAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you're up for staying in Old Town (El Borne District), this is a great place. This small boutique hotel offers good service, clean rooms and free water bottle service on each floor. It is really inexpensive and is the perfect startingpoint for exploring the old town. Only 15 min walk to La Rambla if you fancy that. Very close is an epic tapas place "Bar del Pla", which makes it even better. Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldclassinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Nice hotel, great decor and good value for money. Staff was very helpful.

The neighborhood looks a bit edgy but still acceptable. The only downside is: beware of the noise from the restaurants and passer-by down the street. Rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saintnectaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We (8)recently stayed there for a friends stag weekend.
We found checking in very quick and the staff helpful and polite.
The rooms were clean and to a good standard of repair.
It's hard to give a total overview of the amenities as we only used the room simply a place to sleep.
Though it is very well situated with the bars and touristic sites all close by.
The rooms were cleaned and beds made everyday.
One thing that was gratefully welcomed was a fridge full of free water bottles!
Overall a great hotel BUT sadly I had to report our room door was left open for all to enter !
After leaving our room in the morning we returned early next morning to find our beds made so can only imagine the cleaning staff had forgot to close on there exit.
I must state though that NOTHING was missing from the room .

Hopefully this was a oversight but it did leave a bad feeling of our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whomenoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#107 of 517 in Barcelona
772 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#57 of 517 in Barcelona
523 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#262 of 517 in Barcelona
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#218 of 517 in Barcelona
690 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#166 of 517 in Barcelona
1,003 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#63 of 517 in Barcelona
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona

Address: Princesa 33 - 35, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £52 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona is located in the historic center, an unbeatable location for easy access to the most interesting, cosmopolitan and dynamic area of the city. Come to discover everything this hotel in Barcelona's old town may offer to you. Enjoy your stay in your modern hotel with a pool in the roof-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Hotel Barcelona
Ciutat Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat De Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing