We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms, service - but the smell?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Ranked #128 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms, service - but the smell?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend, our best friend and I accidentally booked a hotel room at what must be the best location in Barcelona. I love Born, and the view from the French balcony was gorgeous! The staff was always helpful, and the endless, free supply of cold water from a fridge in the corridor saved me my usual late-night excursions in search of water. We bought and printed museum tickets and boarding cards at the free computers on the 1st floor, and we never waited more than a couple of minutes for a taxi. The room was spacious, clean and with a wonderful bathroom. On the other side, the wifi was erratic, and there was a distinct smell of sewers from the AC, so we had to sleep on top of our covers with the windows open. We reported this twice without ever getting any feedback, hence one star short of perfect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Stormvarsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    490
    99
    25
    26
See reviews for
171
486
39
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked this hotel on a recommendation from family and they weren't wrong! Fantastic hotel - our room was clean and spacious, enough room for myself and my sister to get ready for a night out. The staff were all very helpful and polite. The beach is a 10 minute walk away and there are plenty of lovely cafés and bars close by. Our room looked out over the Main Street (we requested this on our booking) and I am glad we did we had a beautiful little balcony to stand out on. There was very little noise from the street but if you like a lie in bring an eye mask! Thank you to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Excellent choice for a hotel on budget. Very clean and comfortable room with minimal decoration that certainly does not annoy you. Ideal location (opposite Picasso Museum) with many choices of restaurants,cafes and shops. The hotel staff was very polite and helpful as well. I particularly liked the large map stand next to the reception desk, where you could organize your daily explorations in the lovely city of Barcelona.I highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with a small group of friends and it was just perfect. Loved especially the roof top pool which was lovely to hang out by, and the fridges of complimentary bottled water on each floor. Didn't have food so can't comment on that, but location is fantastic. Born is a very cool district, and hotel is on street with lovely bars, restaurants and couple of vintage shops. Staff very helpful too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here two years ago, and was very content. This time we were given a room with a view out to some sort of really narrow backyard, looking more like an old elevator shaft. And they took the same price for this room as they did for the ones with a street view. Scandalous!

I would in fact recommend this hotel, but just make sure you avoid these rooms

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Situated in the best neighborhood of the town, Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona was the best value for money hotel to choose, especially during a tourist sinking period, in the middle of July. Clean rooms, minimal decoration, excellent services and many surprises during our stay made our holiday unique. Free bottled still water offered in a daily basis and free WiFi were more than convenient, while there was always a kind person in the reception, willing to offer information!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k0rali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

A gem of a hotel.
I booked this as my husband travels to Barcelona quiet a bit and really wanted to stay away from La Rambles (obvious choice to stay?)....Found this on line for us three. Close to Picasso Museum, Gothic Quarter, main train station, metro and best of all....bars/restaurants in abundance...FAB...FAB.....FAB
The three of us stayed here and had three single beds that pretty much filled one side of the bedroom but very comfortable and clean. The shower room was modern and nearly as big as our bedroom which was brilliant. Great roof top deck and pool area especially for young kids as not too deep. The views from the roof deck are great. Breakfast was well prepared and best of all friendly staff everywhere. Husband has stayed on for another night (Business) lucky guy.

Room Tip: Room 214 was fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missie_Moo_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#106 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#129 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#53 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#49 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hesperia Barri Gotic
Hesperia Barri Gotic
#112 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona

Property: Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Address: Princesa 33 - 35, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Hotel Barcelona
Ciutat Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat De Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing