We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ola by Gail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Ranked #383 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Barcelona
1 review
“Ola by Gail”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The receptionists were freindly, helpful and very informative about places to go and things to see.
We had a twin room which was very clean and valeted daily. However, there was a lot of noise from fromoutside.
Location was not the best, too far from most of the main tourist attractions,although there were metro stations and bus stops immediately outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cameron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for write your review in this page. It is important for us know the opinion of our customers in order to improve our services.

Our staff is always friendly because we love our job and we enjoy it. However, it's great to read your good opinion about our team and our kind attention.

We are sorry if you heard a lot of noise from outside. We are located in Aragó Street, in the city center, just near Passeig de Gracia. This is a busy area and sometimes outside noise is unavoidable. I hope you saw all the windows are new and unsound proofed, so is supposed to not be noisy inside, but Barcelona is a noisy street and if you are not used to it can disturb. I hope you could take a good rest, at least.

About location, we do not understand your comment. Maybe you are a little confused about the location of the hotel. Barcelona City Hotel is located in the city center. One minute walking away from Passeig de Gracia, 50 meters away from one of Gaudi's masterpieces Casa Battló, five minutes away from Plaça Catalunya or Las Ramblas and near of the most important places of the city. Passeig de Gracia station, one of the main transportation hubs of the city is just in front of the hotel.

Thanks again for your feedback and we wait for your next visit in any of Bcn City Hotels' accommodations!

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    94
    72
    19
    27
See reviews for
41
109
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for my husbands 40th bithday treat , when arriving to the hotel the staff were very friendly, they warned us about the dangers of pick pockets and to be careful . We arrived at 1 pm and couldnt check in until 3pm but there is a room to keep luggage locked away at the start and end of your stay. The room was better than expected we had one if the 9th floor suites with a fantastic view of the city which you can also get from the rooftop terrace. Breakfast is buffett style between 8-11am which we enjoyed , location is excellent for the tube station which is right next to the hotel not far to any of the main tourist attractions .

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn0476
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi,

Firstly, thanks a lot for your comments about Barcelona City Hotel. The reviews of our customers help us to improve every day.

We are glad you enjoyed the stay in our hotel. We make every effort to ensure that our guests feel at home.

We wish welcome you back in your next Birthday!

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Staff were all excellent, friendly and willing to help. The Location is very central to most points of the city. The halls tended to have a fair bit of an echo if people were in them late at night. But overall I would recommend this as a very good and well priced hotel in Barcelona which tends to be quite an expensive city accommodation-wise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 741BrianC741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your comments about our hotel. Our guests’ reviews help us to improve our services. In addition, it is important other users can read experiences of other travelers in order to create realistic expectations.

Our staff is always ready to help our customers, this is one of the most valued things in our accommodation. It is our work and we do it happily.

We try people to not be noisy when they arrive at night, but it is a problem that does not depend only on us, I see you understood it.

Thanks a lot appreciating our value for money. We try to offer budget accommodation in one of the most privileged location in the city.

We hope to see you soon in any of our accommodations in Barcelona,

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We arrived in Barcelona late,we try to find this hotel we had hard time to find it,no sign in sight,finally we found it.Door was locked we looked up at door and on the sight of door it showed many floors, at first could no find the right ring because was dark,finally after ring many times different floors a person answer me and told him i have a reservation so he opened the door.The first two floor have offices so the third floor is the first floor of hotel.After i got the key of my room my wife whent to the washroom she comes out and she said theyare no towels at all,so go down speak with the clerk and told him no towels,he got couple towels and gave to me,i ask him for couple bottle water and right away he gave to me i wanted to pay for it,and he told it was O.K.and he tried to compensate for the towels.He was a very nice person.In the room there was only two small separate beds,and a closet to hang the pants and shirt.The walls are wery rough,and needs painting.I do suggest not to go to this place,my experience wasnt that good.The location wasnt that bed it's about five hundred meters from Plaza Catalonya,and in that plaza the sightseeing bus are departing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi!

Thanks for sharing your opinion with other users. It is important other travellers can read different experience written by guests.

We apologize you had so many problems to arrive to our hotel. In our website you can find a section where we explain how arrive to hotel from the most common points of arrival, there is also a neon sign in the balcony, as well as a big sign in the main door of the building. As you arrived during the night, maybe you were tired and you could not see them.

We try to give always the best attention to our guests. Excuse us forgetting to put towels in your bathroom first night, I see our receptionist give you them and to offer you free bottles of water. Thanks appreciating our kind attention.

About the walls, just let you know they all the hotel have just been repainted (with more modern colour combination, for another hand).

Finally, just tell you the location is the most appreciated thing of our accommodation, we are just ten meters away from the highest concentration of modernist architecture masterpieces. Sightseeing buses can be taken in any stop, and they stop just twenty meters away form the hotel. Did you ask to our staff about it?

We hope you enjoyed at least our city.

If you come back to some of our accommodations, we will try to give you a better experience.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

First, this hotel is NOT to be mistaken with Universal Hotel(located on Paral-lel Ave). The hotel is located in very convenient place, 4 stops from BCN airport on the train. The rooms are very basic and clean. The hotel itself occupies two floors of the building. It is kind of difficult to find it - you have to be bussed in from the office in order to get in the building. The staff is extremely polite and helpful; speaks english well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilenSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, España
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Nice little hotel and good value for what we paid. Extremely centric next to the wonderful Paseo de Gracia. Very comfortable for a weekend in Barcelona. The rooms are maybe a bit noisy but nothing unbearable. Helpful staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David0ffS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi!

Thanks sharing your positive experience with other users. People like to read all kind of reviews and they are very useful to get an idea of what they can expect.

Our staff is always working to help our guests and offer a pleasant stay. We are glad to know they did it!

As we are in the city centre, and in spite of the soundproofed windows, we know some rooms can be noisy if you are not used to the noise in the place you come from.

We appreciate you saw we try to offer a familiar hotel, in a superb situation, clean rooms with all the basic facilities and good value for money.

We wish welcome you back again in any of our accommodations in Barcelona.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

my room was shabby, but since it was very clean at least - I had an ok stay here - i was not a very expensive hotel either, so its ok.
Breakfast does not exist (I really wanted to go out for tapas-breakfast anyway, so its ok) and the room-safe witch shouldve been there was not there.
The room is very simple, the bed had no dune (only a thin sheet, and it was a bit cold) and the tv had only spanish-speaking channels.

The staff is amazingly polite and helpful and the room/bathroom was very clean, witch lifted my experience from 2 to 3 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IWentToValhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#386 of 513 in Barcelona
238 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#396 of 513 in Barcelona
157 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Urquinaona
Hotel Urquinaona
#430 of 513 in Barcelona
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#474 of 513 in Barcelona
253 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#244 of 513 in Barcelona
556 reviews
Bonanova Park
#371 of 513 in Barcelona
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Hotel Universal

Property: Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Address: Arago 281. 2nd fl 1a, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Barcelona City Hotel Universal 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Barcelona City Hotel- Hotel Universal!Barcelona City Hotel is a hotel located in Barcelona center, a few meters away from Passeig de Gracia. Our hotel offers you value for money just two blocks away from the Placa Catalunya, where the Gothic Quarter and the famous Ramblas of Barcelona begin.Enjoy the city and relax in your room with free wifi, flatscreen TV, private bathroom, air-conditioned, heating... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Barcelona City Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City Hotel Universal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing