We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Ranked #383 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation in good location”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Firstly there is some confusion in previous reviews as this hotel is a 1 star near to Passeig de Gracia and there is a similar named 4 star hotel in another part of Barcelona near Parel.lal.
This is a budget hotel (hostel) which is accessed by a door to the left of a Bank and the rooms are on the second floor where there is a small hotel reception. I travelled with 2 friends and stayed in a triple room which was a bit small for 3 adults but it was clean and beds were made each day. There are no other facilities and definitely no rooftop pool.
The location is very good, being about 10 minutes walk from Las Ramblas and very near to Passaig de Gracia which is an upmarket shopping area.
If you are travelling from the airport I would suggest you get the airport train (0.80 euros if you buy a T10 card) as it stops immediately next to the hotel.
Staff were friendly and the room had a safe which you could use for a refundable deposit of 10 euros.
Barcelona was lovely although there is the ever present threat of pickpockets - we saw 2 women have bags taken whilst we were there although we were are very careful and had no problems ourselves.
We went to watch Barcelona which was great and tickets are easy to get unless it is a really big game.
Overall this is a reasonable, cheap option for a group of lads, although I think the wife would have wanted somewhere more upmarket!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portishead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi!

Thank you for taking time to writing your opinion about Barcelona City Hotel and share it with other interested users.

Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal) has this name from 2009. From 1992 its name was just "Hotel Universal", many years after another hotel opened with a similar name, so you can understand who has created this confusion.

The size of the rooms is regulated by law. Think the hotel is located in the center of Barcelona and the surface is adjusted to give the best value for money in an area with high rental prices.

Thanks you for appreciate the free safe box in the room and our staff kind attention.

Thanks also appreciating that we are a budget hotel offering basic hotel facilities in a superb location in the city. As you explain, maybe if you come with your wife she will desire some upmarket place to sleep, specially if it is for a romantic visit (you could check our apartments' building). If you want to come back for a short stay, we will be always here!

We hope welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    94
    72
    19
    27
See reviews for
41
110
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I just recently stayed here with my daughter. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and spoke english. The location is very good being right near the Passeig de Gracia Metro stop. It is also very near the Casa Batllo/Gaudi house. It is also a good central location for both La Rambla and the Eixample sites. This is a good no frills basic hotel.

The biggest problem for us was the noise. The walls and halls not only don't suppress the noise, they seem to amplify it. (I know thats' impossible) Doors opening/closing and footsteps on the bare/loose wood floors sound like gunshots when you are trying to sleep. Loud talking neighbors returning late at night from the bars sound like they are in your room. Overall it was about what we expected for 65 Euros a night.

The main thing I want to say is that many of the reviews here are for a different hotel. All the reviews that talk about rooftop pools, exercise rooms, and how close they are to the Paral-lel Metro stop are talking about a different, more expensive hotel. That one is confusingly called the Hotel Universal. (not city) If you base your decision on those reviews you will be in for a big surprise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to writing your opinion about Barcelona City Hotel and share it with other users.

Our Hotel is named Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal) since 2009, since 1992 we were just "Hotel Universal". We know you can confuse them with another hotel, but the other one opened many years after our existence, so we think we are not who have to change our name.

Barcelona City Hotel is located in the city center,a noisy area of the city. I hope you saw our windows are soundproofed, so the exterior noise is virtually inaudible.

For another occasion, If other guests are noisy late in the night, please don't hesitate to contact our staff, as we want a respectful atmosphere.

Thanks again for your comments. The reviews of our guests help us to improve our facilities.

We wish welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The place is full of egotistical jerks. not only the receptionist unprofessionally yelled at me for 30 minutes, he also said such ridiculous things, word for word, "I'M THE RULE, I'M THE DOCUMENT?!!? etc." anyways. they messed up our reservation and didnt agree to give us our 60 euro refund even if we didnt stay there AT ALL. They tried to blame the booking company for not being able to give us a refund, but when I found out that actually the booking site didnt have any say whether to give the refund, they just simply said they can't. The receptionist said the "hotel owner" is available between only 9 am to 1 pm" when i heard him talking to the owner 30 mins ago!!! - COME ON, STOP THE BULLS---T!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi,

Thanks for sharing your opinion with other users.

First of all, we can assure you that our staff always gives their best efforts to give the most professional service and to take care of our customers.

About your comments, just tell you that if a person makes two bookings for the same date by mistake, this person receives two booking confirmations from the booking company. For another hand, we also resend a reconfirmation for each booking, so this person receives also two reconfirmations from the hotel.

If this booking is non-refundable (which implies an important discount) and just for one night (as we see you are speaking about 60€), this amount cannot be refunded by the hotel if you claim it during the check-in, as we have not enough time to resell the room. You can claim for it when you see you made two bookings by mistake, enough time in advance to allow us to decide if the refund is possible as we can resell the room.

This would happen also in refundable bookings if you claim for this amount out of the free cancellation period, in the evening or night of your check-in day.

This refund it will be always a courtesy from the hotel, as you have not booked directly with the property. With this kind of mistakes, we agree to make this refunds if the person sees in the initial hours that has made two bookings by mistake, but not in the arrival day or many days after the booking is made and the guest has received confirmations from the booking company and the hotel. This is usually our policy with bookings made by through third parts.

About the booking company, if you tell us in the check-in that it has been a mistake of the booking company, obviously we will answer that you have to solve this problem with them, as you didn't made the booking directly with us, the hotel. We are not blaming them, we are answering the explanations you are giving to us at the moment of the check-in in order to help you to find who is responsible of the mistake, you or the booking company.

We are sorry you were unsatisfied with this policy, but it is usual in a budget hotel that offers cheaper prices.

I hope you enjoyed, at least, our faciltiies and our city.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

we stayed for almost 3 nights...best location...la rambla is 10 mins by walk, metro station is only few mins by walk which is very convenient ,hotel staff is very helpfull..they are always available wen evr u need..you have to be bit carefull about ur things in barcelona...so it's better used locker service in hotel which is in room and it is free to use and very safe...we had a lovely stay in barcelona....

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajnidhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi!

Thanks for sharing your opinion about Barcelona City Hotel with other users. These opinions are very useful for everybody in order to improve our accommodation and to allow people to get an idea of it.

We are glad you had a lovely stay in Barcelona!

We also think to leave value things in the hotel is important. Thanks appreciating we offer safe box in all our rooms for free.

Thanks also appreciating our kind attention, our staff gives always their best efforts in order to offer you a pleasant stay in the city.

We wish to welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona! Best regards.

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I stayed here during a work conference in February.

It’s definitely on the budget side of the fence – an upscale hostel, if you will. But the room was spotless, water was hot, and the bed was surprisingly comfortable.

Since I was there for work, I also appreciated the free Wi-Fi access, which was quite speedy and never dropped me off IM or my office VPN.

Each room has a safe (get the key at reception for a €10 deposit). In a city known for its pickpockets, leaving passports, cell phones, credit cards or anything else you won’t be using in Spain in the safe is definitely recommended.

The location is great – just a block from Passeig de Gracia (main shopping drag), where you can pick up the local metro, as well as the commuter RENFE train, which can take you out to the airport in 25 minutes (usually runs every 30 minutes, look for the train with “Aeroport” on the digital display)

The staff was very friendly, helpful, and on duty 24-7.

One thing to note – finding reception can be confusing the first time. If you arrive during regular business hours (9-5ish), the doors on Arago will be open and you can walk right in. Later or earlier in the day or on the weekends, however, find the button for the hotel to the right of the door and reception will buzz you in. When you go in, walk straight, make a right at the end of the hall, and go up a few stairs to the elevator. Take the center elevator to the second floor, make a left out of the elevator, and hotel reception will be through the door straight ahead.

BOTTOM LINE: If you’re looking for turn-down service and mints on your pillow, this is not your place, but if you need an affordable and clean hotel in a great location, this is a good option.

PROS: rooms are clean, helpful staff, great location, affordable, free Wi-Fi, safe

CONS: more budget than luxury, confusing set-up, if your room faces Arago it can be noisy with the window open

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityMouseBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to writing your experience in Barcelona City Hotel and share it. Your comments help us to improve our services.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your business travel to Barcelona and the facilities of our hotel, we find you opinion very realistic.

We always try to explain to our customers how to arrive to Barcelona City Hotel and we provide routes and maps in our website. We are sorry if it seemed a bit confusing.

Just let you know now our DSL connection has disappeared and we offer wi-fi coming from an optical fiber connection (100Mb), it has increased a lot the internet speed. We see you find it correct during your stay, but now it is better!

As we told you, we find your opinion very realistic: we try to give a simple hotel in the best position and with clean rooms with the basic facilities of a hotel. Always trying to give the best value for money we can. A budget hotel, not a luxury one.

We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel. Best regards.

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

It is noisy and is dirty. Besides, on bed-clothes there were blood traces. Never will not stop any more in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100c0untries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for taking time to writing your opinion about Barcelona City Hotel.

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. Barcelona City Hotel is located in the city center, so there is noise in the street. Just let you know that this is why all the windows are soundproofed to avoid this noise. If you are not used to sleep in this kind of area, they may not be sufficient.

Our hotel has a clean service every day. If you found something dirty (such as your bed-clothes) you should have warned our staff and they would have immediately changed your bedclothes, if they had any blood traces.

We will be pleased to welcome you again in any of our accommodations to show the quality of our services.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We arrived on the Monday night and were greeted by Carlos on reception who was really helpful to us. I had e-mailed the hotel before I left to ask about whats the best way to get from the airport to the hotel, and Carlos sent me a e-mail with all the options along with price, and approx time etc.

The rooms were really nice and comfortable, plenty of space, lovely bathroom, air conditioned room, nice view of the main street, fridge, TV, radio etc very modern.

The hotel is in a great location, only 10 min walk to Port Vell, same to La Rambla, if you go the other direction it's only about 15 min walk to Plaze de Espanya, which is where we got off when we got the aero bus from the airport, only 2 stops on the metro to the hotel, there is a metro station by the hotel.

The huge plus with this hotel is there is a sun bathing area, pool, gym on the rooftop of the hotel, over looking the city, with all the main sights on view, lovely way to relax and chill out.

The staff are all really nice and helpful, lovely man on the front door who always has a smile and greeting for us when we went in and out of the hotel. For the price we paid it was a fantastic stay. If you want more information dont hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaithiCorcaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#387 of 513 in Barcelona
239 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#396 of 513 in Barcelona
157 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Urquinaona
Hotel Urquinaona
#430 of 513 in Barcelona
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#474 of 513 in Barcelona
253 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#250 of 513 in Barcelona
556 reviews
Bonanova Park
#372 of 513 in Barcelona
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Hotel Universal

Property: Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Address: Arago 281. 2nd fl 1a, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Barcelona City Hotel Universal 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Barcelona City Hotel- Hotel Universal!Barcelona City Hotel is a hotel located in Barcelona center, a few meters away from Passeig de Gracia. Our hotel offers you value for money just two blocks away from the Placa Catalunya, where the Gothic Quarter and the famous Ramblas of Barcelona begin.Enjoy the city and relax in your room with free wifi, flatscreen TV, private bathroom, air-conditioned, heating... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Barcelona City Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City Hotel Universal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing