We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time. But now we choose it...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #45 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second time. But now we choose it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

First time we got to Barcelona 4 years ago we got to this nice hotel by chance.
Second time (last month) we looked for it and ordered it. And again a great experience.
The location, the service, the breakfast...Very recommended again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your third stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    691
    76
    13
    12
See reviews for
348
1,000
43
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for three nights in October after perusing most of the hotels in Barcelona and realising we would have to opt for a modern design hotel rather than a more traditional choice to please mum and in order to get the standard we'd expect from a 4star hotel. The hotel is an easy walk from the aeroport bus drop off and its location is second to none for the price paid. We opted for breakfast on two mornings and for just a few more euros, breakfast can be served in your room and is highly recommended, fresh, delicous and abundant and quite a treat because of the silver trolley in-room service. This pleased mum very much and we were able to share a breakfast for two persons between the four of us. On arrival, and on request we were showed three roooms and opted to change our allocated rooms, based on the room design and shapes. Some rooms appear smaller because of the layout. Nothing was too much trouble for the really friendly staff on reception throughout our stay.

Likes:
Excellent service by all staff
The coffee at the bar
Breakfast in our room
Spacious bathrooms
Big fluffy towels
Nice toiletries

Dislikes:
Having to keep asking reception for someone to serve coffee at the bar
The lovely terrace was always empty and needs some promotion as it was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel over others
The mugs provided in our rooms for tea and coffee were made of plastic
There was insufficient tea/coffee/milk sachets in the rooms, no trouble to ask for more but we'd prefer not to have to ask.
Sisters sharing twin rooms - beds were side by side with no room width to have much space between them, although the room size was good.
The pool is not heated, very narrow and disappointing - it was too cold to use
The lights in the rooms look nice but give you a headache because of the mesh shade design

We would stay here again because of the truly excellent service.

Room Tip: Opt for breakfast in your room and don't expect to lounge in the terrace bar because it was alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments, and we loved how well explained they are, we will look after each one in order to improve the sattisfaction of our guests.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

This was our first trip to Barcelona and we fell in love with this wonderful vibrant city and look forward to returning in the not too distant future and would definitely stay at The Barcelona Catedral Hotel again. I had spent many weeks investigating and sifting through the huge choice of hotels and different areas for where to stay for our two nights pre-cruise and finally decided on the Gothic Quarter. For novices of Barcelona - this is a wonderful area to stay to see so many of the tourist sights, with so much in walking distance. Gothic Quarter decided on - now came the vast choice of hotels. We were more than happy with our choice of The Barcelona Catedral Hotel. This is a very well run hotel with exceptional staff who go the full mile to help with any query you may have, with polite and helpful answers, suggestions on where to eat and providing maps and taking the time to show you exactly how to get there - just excellent. The modern bedrooms are on the small side, but very functional and well equipped - more than adequate, clean and quiet, with comfortable beds and nice pillows - safe also provided. The bathroom was very pleasant, again so clean and modern, with some nice toiletries supplied. The breakfast was very good - served at the table by attentive waiting staff. There was also a cold buffet as well, if you desired. We arrived on a Wednesday - and the hotel offered a free of charge late evening walking tour, which we decided to join - I cannot recommend this enough, it was excellent. The tour guide was so informative and interesting and it showed how much he must love his job. We walked around the historic narrow walking streets behind the Cathedral - it felt like another world. I must say, my husband and I are not normally tourist people, but this and our following day walking La Rambla (La Boqueria food market a must!), catching the hop on/off bus at the Placa Catalunya - seeing the Sagrada Familia (Gaudi's unfinished cathedral) breathtaking, Parc Guell, etc - we loved it. We got a good deal on our two nights stay through Trivago.co.uk/ Olotels.com - worth checking, breakfast was included in our price. In short, if you want a clean modern hotel within walking distance of tourists sights, with wonderful staff..........this is your place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed a full weekend here and each day, there were different events going on in the Plaza. We loved seeing the Barcelona Cathedral too AND it was free! The lobby is somewhat small, but the room was adequate. The front desk was friendly. Spoke English. Good location. Only problem was the internet on my computer didn't have a very strong signal most times. Sometimes hard to get a signal at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTaveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

A smart hotel with functional modern decor located just a hundred or so metres from the Cathedral in the old town. Perfect for exploring the Gothic quarter, and not far from the Placa Catalunya.

We stayed here for a weekend and everything was fine - the room we had was small but clean and well appointed with a lovely bathroom. Wifi was free (free! do you hear that UK hotels?), the AC worked well, and the bed was pretty comfortable. Beware that unless you specifically ask for a double bed, you'll may get two singles pushed together. However they will move you if they can.

The roof terrace is really lovely, although there's no bar - you have to take your drinks up from the ground floor. We didn't eat any meal other than breakfast at the hotel, but that was reasonably good - a good selection of sweet and savoury things. HOWEVER - and this is my only real complaint - the coffee was dreadful! When you're paying £150+ a night you should get real coffee, not instant which is what we were given. Yeah, yeah, it was presented in a "coffee pot" but we can tell instant when we're drinking it. We thought at first it was because we had arrived late and maybe they were finishing breakfast service, but we had to laugh when we saw cup after cup of un-drunk coffee on tables that were being cleared. I really hope this was a temporary glitch, because honestly I think it's an insult to charge €18 for a breakfast and give people instant coffee.

Anyway, the coffee nightmare aside, the hotel was really nice and a great choice if you want to explore the old town. If we were tea-drinkers it would have been well-nigh perfect.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify at check in you want a real double bed, not two singles pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGiantPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
For your next stay we will be very pleased to offer espresso if you requested.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is the 4th time we have stayed at this Hotel, and that fact alone should speak volumes.

A great tip for the hotel is that they will lend you bicycles free of charge, we use these each time and have ridden all over Barcelona on them.

On our most recent stay we must state that the hotel is starting to look a little tired. The once stunning outside area on the ground floor is no longer that, the towels are hard, we had an awful smell from the wardrobe. These may be minor things but it is by no means a cheap Hotel and despite raising these issues they were not resolved

Not a bad hotel by any means, but not as great as it once was

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaffermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
As you know the hotel was built 6 years ago, and the matresses have all been changed this year, we are investing in maintenance more than other hotels do, and we are very pleased to announce you that we are planning a new refurbishing for next year, and we hope we get the opportunity to change your mind about the tiredness of your feeling.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Excellent service, great advice on how to best navigate the city (one very wise tip--order tickets for Sagrada Familia in advance online and time your visit for Sunday morning....crowds there are astounding but we toured easily). Rooms were clean and comfortable. Some can accommodate three people

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#37 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#83 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, LoveHolidays and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing