We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #57 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel and enjoyed the very good location, walking distance to the harbour, La Rambla, shopping area etc.
Had a swim in the roof pool after a bike ride in Barcelona on bikes borrowed from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stein I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the trip advisor users.
We are very glad to know that you found our hotel nice in a good locations, and that you recomend to have a swim after using our bikes.
We hope you joined our free walking tour offered to our guests on wednesdays night and on sunday mornings.
We really hope of welcoming you again in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Barcelona Catedral an adult couple and two 17 year olds in two rooms. The hotel generally worked well. Our room 103 had some issues - its smallness was ok but the sliding door to the bathroom was hard to close, and the air conditioning was weak, there are no drawers in the room except for one in the nightstand. Room 104 was much better and more comfortable looking over the courtyard. No irons in the room which I find annoying as you have to call the front desk and wait. The pool area is small but very nice we always managed to find a chair and cooling off after touring the city is great. Breakfast was ridiculously expensive at 30+ euros for two for coffee and croissants. Coffee also was not good. Girls went next door and ate well for 7 Euros in total with great coffee.
Staff seemed very pleasant - cab we ordered was on time. Drinks at the bar were well made and a little slow - only one guy who is also setting up breakfast and seemed a little harried.
Location is superb - I cannot imagine a better location for touring Barcelona - there are hop on hop off bus tours that leave from a block away I would definitely recommend this hotel but be careful what room you get. To be fair we never asked to move because we were tired when we arrived.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard side and on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caterio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear guest,
We are very pleased to know that you found our hotel a good hotel in a perfect location.
We would like to thank you for your comments that will sure help us to improve.
We look forward on welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a nice, high end hotel in a great location with a good pool and good (enough) weights/cardio equipment. The wifi is free. It's a bit pricey. I might have been down for a hostel... so long as the air conditioning is sufficient... which it most certainly was at Hotel Barcelona Catedral... but my friends wanted to do a hotel more than a hostel. It took me a long time to settle on this place and, ultimately, I'm satisfied but it was pricey.

On a side note, I DON'T recommend Ryanair. A lot of fine print and if you miss something, there are some serious, extra fees.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank icetray07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
As we read you had a nice experience in the hotel and in the city of Barcelona and this is what we expect to offer to the rest of the guests.
We really look forward on welcoming you soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a lovely, modern hotel on a side street in the Barri Gotic. Clean, spacious, minimalist rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are delicious. The rooftop pool is a little small, but can't expect much larger in central Barcelona. A great hotel for wheelchair users.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor community.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you enjoyed the city of Barcelona.
We have our hotel adapted in order to be accesible to everyone.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this hotel located right in the Gothic Quarter. We were very happy to find that we were right in the middle of Barcelona and could get around to all of the sites to see very quickly. The room was clean and the bathroom was very large. Watch out in the shower they didn't have anything on the tub bottom that would prevent slipping and could be an accident waiting to happen. You are right in the Cathedral Plaza with the Cathedral right out side of the hotel. They have security at night at the front door to make sure if you are coming in late (which we did) you were a guest of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the tripadvisor cummunity.
We are very glad to know that you had a nice stay in the hotel and that you felt that our security was taking care to control to protect our home.
We are very delight in knoing that your stay and the location has been up to your expectations and we hope of having the oportunity of welcoming you back in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Our first time to barca and this was the ultimate location to explore. Right in the barri gothic and near the beautiful barcelona cathederal. The rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast was a delight with your choice of cooked. Wonderful pool and a small gym. Will definitely return on our next visit to this wonderful city

2  Thank Clibba
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your review with the tripadvisor community.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you rate us as a great hotel, with a ultimate location, and that you found that our breakfast was a deligh.
We really look forward on having the oportunity of welcoming you again in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at this hotel and we were very pleased with this choice. The hotel is VERY clean and well kept. The hotel is fairly modern. The bathroom products were fantastic...they even provide a toothbrush and razor. I would have liked a bit more storage for my clothes in the room and perhaps a mirror in the bedroom but those are just small details. The view from the room was just okay but we were there just to sleep so it did not matter. The bed is amazing! It was extremely comfortable and we always had a good night sleep, especially with the sound proof windows. The best part of the hotel is the location. It is right around the corner from the Cathedral. We explored many areas in Barcelona and we did not wish we had chosen another area. You are a few steps to the Cathedral. A few minutes walk and you get to the Rambla. In 10 minutes you can get to the El Born neighbourhood or the waterfront. There is a taxi stand right around the corner of the hotel. It was super safe at night. There are tons of restaurants right at your doorstep and if you are a shopper, the big chain stores are about a 3 minute walk away. (H&M, Zara, Mango, Berksha, etc) Another really fabulous thing about the hotel was their rooftop pool. One afternoon when we were tired of sightseeing we spent several hours by the pool and it was fabulous. They provide towels to use as well. The pool area was kept really clean and overall the pool area was calm and quiet which is exactly what we wanted. If you stay here, and you love your morning coffee, then check out "Chocolate Box" which is right next door. For 2 Euros you can the best "cafe con leche" (a latte) of your life and the most delicious croissant of your life too. (as good as in Paris) We loved Barcelona so much and the location of the hotel, that we would definitely stay at Hotel Barcelona Catedral again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feedyoursoul_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel
We really are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you recommend us.
We hope to have the oportunity of welcoming you back again in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 518 in Barcelona
1,423 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#73 of 518 in Barcelona
2,084 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#17 of 518 in Barcelona
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#74 of 518 in Barcelona
1,261 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#108 of 518 in Barcelona
3,464 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#62 of 518 in Barcelona
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £69 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing