We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #50 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel. Excellent location surrounded by restaurants, shops and bars. Large room and bathroom with very nice toiletries and thick soft white towels. Very quiet even though it was full. Breakfast was first class and the staff very helpful and friendly. Would recommend this hotel if visiting Barcelona

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you will recommend our hotel.
we hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barcelona Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

This Hotel has a fantastic location only metres from the Barcelona Catedral in the Gothic Quarter in Barcelona. Our room was roomy with a nice bathroom. The outside of the Hotel is original but the inside is modern with a great pool on the roof. The staff are friendly and efficient and breakfast is all that you would want, although a little pricey. Restaurant choices nearby are endless, as is the shopping. The best thing of all in our stay was chancing on being in the square in front of the Catedral on a Saturday about 7pm and seeing the locals form themselves into impromptu circles of dancers performing the traditional La Sardana dance - it is a magical moment that we absolutely loved - one of the highlights of our time in Spain.We would totally recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had the opportunity of staying in our hotel and that you had a nice stay, and that you had the opportunity of being part of our culture, sharing our traditions.
We really hope of having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regars
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Good hotel close to the old quarter. Excellent quality facilities coupled with attentive staff made for a great break. Well located within walking distance of most sights. Cathedral a few steps away and seafront only 15 minutes.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank ashleypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and that you found our hotel in a good location.
We really look forward to welcome you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent 3 nights here in early October. The hotel was very central, close to the Cathedral and La Rambla. Our room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff were all very helpful. The dining room opened early for us on the day we were going to Montserrat so that we didn't miss our bus. Although restaurant isn't open for dinner there were a lot of cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments witht the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great central location. Lots to see within a short walking distance. Just around the corner from the Cathedral and only a couple of blocks from La Rambla. Close to many dining options. We arrived about 11 am and our room was ready so we checked in early. Cool and quiet room with a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. Front desk staff were very nice and helpful and didn't laugh at my Spanish! Beautiful rooftop deck and swimming pool. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed y our stay in our hotel.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great location and good accommodations. Staff friendly. My converter broke and they
Supplied me one of the hotel's. In addition our safe was broken and they replaced.
Only negative is restaurant is closed for dinner, but has room service. Plenty of
Restaurants walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that we did cover your expectations.
We would like to explain you that we did have restaurant opened during the nightime, but our guest preferes to dinner around, due that we are in the center of the city.
We hope of welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Off to a bad start. On arrival we were told to take a walk around for a few hours until the room was ready. Would have been nice to have been advised that the Travel Centre was only a block away of even been given a few ideas and offer of a taxi etc. Very abrupt and noticeably condescending.There was however a secure room for luggage. hotel itself is OK and the pool nicely set-up on the Roof. Room service is not good and although tea & coffee facilities are provided they were not replenished during our stay forcing us to continually ask at reception ourselves. Breakfast is pricey and considering this my bacon and eggs turned up in a small bowl in a centimetre of water. Decided to heed the tips from other travellers and walked 100 metres and had the most wonderful breakfast for a third of the price. The Hotel locations is excellent and the concierge staff other than arrival were generally helpful and courteous. Lots of the city is within walking distance with plenty of places to eat and entertainment close by.. Las Ramblas and the Metro (great system) only a short walk.Make sure you visit the Magic Fountain at night and take the train to Montserrat. Would grudgingly recommend this Hotel in the hope they lift their game in regard to service as it takes the edge from what could be a great experience. Staff training required..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
We very much regret for the expectations that we did not cover about breakfasting and we'll note your comments in order to improve them.
Looking forward of welcoming your we remain.
Best regards,
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,350 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,998 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#73 of 513 in Barcelona
1,194 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,545 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £99 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing