We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #54 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for 4 nights to celebrate a big birthday for my father in law, it was our first time in this beautiful city, we were very impressed!
The hotel Barcelona Catedral was a very pleasant stay, it has a great location, with lovely modern, clean rooms, we both slept well every night in the massive and comfortable bed!
The facilities in this hotel were lovely, although the sun was shining, it was a wee bit too chilly to try the pool ( even though we are Scottish!) so we would love to return in the summer!
We enjoyed breakfast every morning, which had a good selection of choices, even making the birthday breakfast more special with a toast with a mimosa (also included in the cost!)
Every member of staff that we encountered were friendly, helpful and polite, they strive to please every customer, and take opportunity to listen to your requirements.
my father in law got in earlier to his room & they held on to our luggage on check out day till 3pm, so even on our last day we could still enjoy our morning in the city.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mandolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a nice experience and that you had a lovely stay.
As you receive we try to please all of every guest with they personal listening what is the expectation of their stay and we try to please them. We are very glad that we did it with you and that you were impressed.
We really thank you for coming to our hotel and we hope of welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here from 17th-20th january gorgeous clean hotel in a brilliant location, i didnt like for such an expensive hotel that there was no view we just looked into peoples flats . Also there was only 2 english channels which was 2 news channels we had to buy two films because of this to have some sort of tv and this cost over 30 euro very expensive. staff at the hotel where very friendly and helpful on helping u find locations of places. would recommend this hotel for couples or buisness. Location was brilliant as for our whole stay we just needed one taxi and that was to Nou camp which cost 12 euro which was very good, las ramblas was a 5 minute walk and the barcelona zoo was a 15 minute walk. as others said about noise we didnt have no problems with noise at night was very quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinaf1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadviosr users.
we are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We hope of having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I am just back from Barcelona and what can I say, this Hotels location is perfect.
We even called the Catedral "OUR Catedral" as we were so close.

BUT...I have a light sleep. In the morning and also late evening there are the steep alleys around the Hotel where everything appears twice as loud as it is...garbage trucks, delivery vehicles all around. also we could here our neighbors in the room speaking.
for me I was only able to sleep with earplugs unfortunately. But it is a city trip, so I will not complain about it.

Breakfast is EUR 18,50, which we did not have as some nice bakeries are all around.

Very friendly staff indeed!!!

I would recommend it for a 3 night trip...

Room Tip: book upper floors from 4-5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
As you wrote we are very well located, and with the recently re-styling and our service we try to give to our Guests-friends, a very good experience in order to made they stay in Barcelona unique.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Two adults and two teenagers stayed here over the Christmas break. The hotel provided two connecting rooms with the bed sizes requested (two singles in one, a king in the other). There were very few hotels in Barcelona that offered the option of connecting rooms and we were appreciative. The rooms were clean and quiet and modern and relatively spacious. The breakfast was delightful -- bread and pastries and fruit on the table -- a buffet to choose from and hot food could be ordered. The staff was very helpful and kind and cheerful. They got us cabs, made restaurant recommendations, gave directions and helped with the aftermath of a theft (elsewhere -- not in the hotel). This was a good place to stay for teenagers -- lots of shopping and tapas nearby -- and a good base for touring the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reba55_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We also would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We hope of welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The location of The Hotel is excellent. Nice and clean and also very big rooms. You can reach the bus,metro , city tour busses and everywhere easily. Come and stay in this Hotel without thinking...
Haber a nice lovely holiday....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Murat-Engin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadviosr users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you review us as excellet.
we hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We been visiting on October 2013. We'v experienced an excellent service in the hotel. Room was perfect, clean, everything functioning perfect. The team is very very nice, would help you in everything! We were amazed from the hotel team for helping us get a lost package that were sent to us while we were staying there. Even after we left, they kept helping us retrieve the package and ship it to us, an excellent handling of the problem, byond all expectations, and all this was after we left the hotel! We are thankful and appreciate the help very much! No doubt, next time we're in Barcelona, we'll be staying in this hotel! team- many thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the feedback given about your stay from October.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have received the correct treatment.
We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I spent four wonderful days in Barcelona at this hotel in the old city. A great bonus was the tour of the old town with the hotel' s guide. The hotel is a block from the Cathedral and walking distance to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The hotel is very comfortable with instant coffee and tea in the room. The staff helped with restaurant suggestions and our very early airport transfer. As in one other post, our only complaint was the noise from the street below. Try to book a room off the street or bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We hope of welcome you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards and we wish you a great 2014.
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 515 in Barcelona
1,386 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#74 of 515 in Barcelona
2,057 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#76 of 515 in Barcelona
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#20 of 515 in Barcelona
2,331 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#13 of 515 in Barcelona
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £77 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing