We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't understand customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #55 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel doesn't understand the concept of customer service or customer satisfaction.

We requested a quite room and we were put up right in front of an elevator and next to a busy street with loud noises. Next morning, we went up to the front desk asking for a cancellation, they wouldn't do it. They say we have to pay for the next night as well as per their policy.

I understand the policies and rules at these hotels. Beyond these rules, there is something called 'putting your customers interests at the front'. This hotel doesn't have that.

Btw, we paid 359 euro per night (unfortunately, yes) and we end up with crappy service....and as per their 'policy', we were charged another 359 euro for a room we didn't use.

I have been to many hotels in Europe, US and Asia. I spend about 2 months living in hotels every year. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Location is great. Service is crap. They definitely don't understand the concept of customer service.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank rajuvegesna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest,
We very much regret to read your comments, we can understand that you got unhappy to pay the cancellation policy that we have and we are terribly sorry for it.

The price you paid is because your stay was in the highest period of the year with the stronger cancellation policies, and we would like to clarify that you were informed about the rate and the policies while you were doing your reservation.

We also would like to explain that we do put the guest interests in front of the policies, but when we try our best trying to give the solution and solve the problem to the guest, and the guest doesn't understand, and was staying strong in the way that he wanted to leave the hotel, and not to try the solution, then is when we have to apply the policy.

As you know during that week we had a very high occupancy and your request at the beginning to move rooms due that you did not like the room you had. Your request was a high room in twin-bedded and non smoking. We show you a non smoking room double bedded room and your denied the change due that you needed a twin-bedded room.

We also tried to exchange the beds in order to have the twin room but you had already decided to leave but you did not accept the proposal.

We really sorry for the inconveniences and that we did not please your stay.

Regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Somewhat delayed this as we stayed in Oct/Nov, but I had to come and write a review as this was one of our best hotel experiences. I'll keep it brief as the existing reviews cover what you need to know well. The room was not the best we've ever stayed in (we didn't upgrade), but it was very good and crucially not overly hot, with some free bottled water and was very quiet.

However, the hotel is made by its fantastic staff who were friendly and helpful from start to finish. We arrived a bit early, but it was easy to leave luggage and head straight out to enjoy the city. Whenever we asked for advice or tips, they were delighted to help and enthusiastic about their home city and recommending the best way to enjoy it. This really made our trip so much enjoyable. The only bit of feedback I'd have for the hotel would be to consider some other breakfast options at a lower price as they would keep a few more guests eating in the hotel. There are plenty of breakfast options nearby however so this is not a big issue if you're considering staying. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The standard room had an internal (i.e. now view) but was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartb3502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very happy to know that we did please your expectations and that you ha a pleasant stay.
We really look forward on welcoming you again in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards,
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We loved this hotel. Its chic, reasonably priced and super well located in Barcelona's Barri Gotic quarter near the Roman gates. The hotel is located just off cathedral square so there is lots to do and see within a very short walk including the Mercato della Boccaria, the Picasso museum and obviously the Cathedral. Its also less than a 10 minute walk to the metro in either direction. The rooms are modern and sleek. The bed was very comfortable and was actually a full king size (nice!). There is a small but well-appointed gym and outdoor pool on the rooftop which was fabulous. There is a restaurant at the hotel, but we never ate there. The add-on breakfast seemed extremely over-priced at 18 euro pp so we opted for the lovely cafes that front cathedral square. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had read to choose a room on the inner courtyard for a quieter rest. It worked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with the tripadvisor community.
We are very glad to know that you had a enjoyable stay and that you found that our location was great.
We are glad that you found our hotel Chick and confy.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just next to the cathedral square yet quiet and secluded. The rooms are immaculate with everything you may need even down to a toothbrush with little extras like an ipod dock. Breakfast is the best ive ever had....a basket of fresh pastries on each table..fresh fruit..orange juice and even cava plus hot food to order
The walking tour on sunday was free and a must...all the secrets of barcelonas old city
We will return

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Kazfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel
We are very pleased that you stay has been confortable, and tha you found our hotel a perfect base for enjoying Barcelona.
We also are very glad to know that you have enjoyed the walking os Sunday.
We really look forward on welcoming you very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had fantastic weekend in Hotel Barcelona Catedral,location is excellent,very helpfull stuff,spacious rooms,modern design,very good price!!!.everyone will love terrace on the top flor with swimming pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eugenie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments!
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We wish of welcoming you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just spent a night for business in this hotel.
Fantastic location in a little arête opposite the cathedral.
The hotel has just been refurbished and is very clean lines, modern looking.
Warm welcome at the desk.
The rooms are quite big, with a all mod com ., beige colored scheme.
The bathroom was just fabulous... Large stone tiles , space, ...as you would dream to have one at home!
Kettle and instant coffee/tea are provided in the room.
So very good overall, just a little drawback: the heating is adequate, not very powerful ( I had the end tail of a flu and would have loved a really hot room) , but i suspect people are using more the air conditioning here!
Breakfast at the hotel is quite expensive (euro 18) but plentiful and smart. Great for a breakfast meeting if you need one. For families, there are plenty of little cafés next door.
I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: I had a room looking over the courtyard, , no pretty view (overlooking balconies with washing lines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bambaraqueen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a confortable stay and that you liked our recent refurbishing.
We hope of welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel during a short weekend trip to Barcelona. The staff was exceptionally friendly, the interior tastefully decorated, the rooms were spacious - in short: everything was just perfect. It wasn't just our first stay in this hotel, but our first trip to Spain and to Barcelona and we loved it. Alex at the reception was kind enough to give us a tipp for a good Spanish Restaurant - Babia (Carrer dels Sagristans, 9) - never had such tasty sausages in our lives. Go try it!

The hotel is right in the centre and only a few minutes away from Plaça Catalunya (where the transfer busses leave to the airport) and La Rambla. Despite it being right in the middle of everything, it is nice and quiet.

We haven't tried the breakfast, but judging by how perfect everything else was, I am sure that it must be very good too. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and will book it again if we (hopefully soon!) visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleTibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments.
we are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We really look forward on welcoming you very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#39 of 520 in Barcelona
1,436 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#76 of 520 in Barcelona
2,100 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#17 of 520 in Barcelona
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#62 of 520 in Barcelona
2,168 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#32 of 520 in Barcelona
4,705 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#38 of 520 in Barcelona
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £106 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing