We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #44 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We arrived late at night having requested a room with 3 beds on the first floor. We arrived to a man who spoke little English who said they would put us on the third floor. When we entered our room, it was terrible. The whole floor stank of smoke and there was a dog constantly yapping from someone else's door. We hardly slept that night and our room began to smell of the smoke of someone else smoking. We asked to speak to the manager the next day and he wasn't available. We had to push to finally be allowed to speak to him, and he was so unhelpful and rude. Terrible small breakfast as well, dark and dank hotel. The customer service at this hotel was appalling, we moved out of the hotel after that first night and found a better one right next door. Smoking and a yappy dog, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lulu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We think you have mistaken the hotel.

My name is Alex Vilallonga and I am the manager of the hotel Barcelona Catedral and I have not had the pleasure to meet you.

As you have reviewed your stay was done in January this year in a triple room.
You menthion your check in was done late at night.

We have checked and we have no triple rooms on the third floor check in later than 6 pm, and no British citizens in the room.

We are also very surprised that you only have two review done, and both done on the same day.

Our review was from a stay on January 2014, where you explain that you went to the hotel next door

In the next door hotel review done by you on the same day, you describe that you are travelling a lot to Barcelona, and that you have been more than five times in the city and that you always go to that hotel that you personally know the staff, then I don't undersatand why we do not have any incidence with any stay, and now we receive your review.

Our staff is well trained and speak a good level of english, and we are very focused on guest service.

We are really surprised with this review that for sure is not ours.

Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    727
    82
    13
    14
See reviews for
370
1,086
50
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A friend has stayed at this hotel and recommended it to us. the location is fantastic and the hotel was clean. However, we had booked the Junior Suite, which we were told in a quite offhand manner was not available when we arrived, due to flooding. We were given a superior room, but no compensation of any sort for the downgrade. When I complained about this, they delivered champagne to our room - which we were entitled to anyway as part of our Junior Suite package. While the superior room was pleasant, it had two big windows, which would normally be great, except that the air-conditioning was not working for two of the four days we stayed. the room was so hot that we had trouble sleeping and certainly couldn't spend any time in the room during the day. Perhaps if we had been offered some sort of compensation (like complimentary breakfasts) we would have been happier. That said, we went on the free waling tour and found this very informative and interesting. We would probably stay at this hotel again due to its location, but a better attitude is definitely need when ealing with hotel problems.

Room Tip: Superior rooms, while having good windows, can be hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ctravelhappylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for you comments, and we would like to thank you for your comprehension.
We really appreciate your suggestions and we have shared your comments with all the team in order to react in a better way, the next time we have a problem with a room.
As our front office manager told you the day of your arrival, we did have a problem with a floating and we did inform your agency in advance in order to advise you about it so we did not have to do it at the last moment.
We really hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon in our hotel and being able of upgrading you.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a medium size hotel in the Gothic district of Barcelona. The facilities are very nice, clean, and the service is excellent. It is a few steps away from the Barcelona Gothic Cathedral and square. You can walk most part of the city from this location, and the neighborhood is full of excellent restaurants and tapas bars

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the tripadvisor community.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you found hotel in a convenient location.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in May this year and can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. It's location in the old quarter was just perfect and the staff were pleasant and very helpful. The addition of a rooftop pool just added to the whole experience - a pleasant way to cool off after a days busy sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel of your recent stay.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us to the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We hope of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is perfect location if you want to stay in the Gothic area. It's steps away to the Catedral and the Gaudi Museum. The rooms and bathrooms are big and roomy. The decor was nice and up to date. They offer free wifi in the rooms. The staff were friendly. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you foun our hotel well located, and that our team pleased your your stay.
We hope of welcoming you back very soon
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is located just off the cathedral square a short walk to La Ramblas. Many restaurants and eating places very close by as well as the main shopping areas and tourist attractions. Very close to hop-on hop-off bus. Great little breakfast spot just on the square! Hotel reception staff very helpful and the room very spacious and clean. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a nice stay and that you found good value.
We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel Barcelona Catedral is perfectly situated on the outskirt of the old town and on walking distance from all the nice little restaurants and bars. The staff is very friendly and professional. I was amazed by the serviceability at the breakfast, they even made fresh gluten free bread for me!
big kudo's

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have had a nice stay at the hotel, and that you found our hotel convenient, and that you recommend it.
We hope of having the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 512 in Barcelona
1,327 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#75 of 512 in Barcelona
1,932 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,160 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 512 in Barcelona
2,072 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing