We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but great value”
Review of La Ciudadela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Ciudadela
Ranked #251 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is well located, with its own cafe'/ restaurant on the first floor. Very nice people at the hotel and restaurant. The room was small, but it was also quiet and clean, and the bathroom was fine. My only gripe is the lack of a hairdryer, but the reception sent one immediately when asked for it.

Room Tip: The outer rooms with a view to the park are nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for La Ciudadela
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Excellent location, a good good level of cleanliness, acceptable value of many. But a little bit to noisy - no sound isolation between rooms. The worst is poor English speaking staff. For one night o.k.

Room Tip: Double room (twin)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Baiba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I'm a little late reviewing this since i stayed here during September 2011, but I would like to tell of my experience here. My wife and I traveled to Barcelona for 3 days on a backpacking trip through Europe and just happened to be there during La Merce festival. If you want an inexpensive place to stay that is a perfect location and you don't care about any frills or luxury, than this is a great place, especially during La Merce.

The prices were much lower than any other place we were looking at, and you realize why when you get to your room. They are small. just a bed and a small bathroom. But the location is perfect. There is a cafe right down stairs where we had a quick breakfast before venturing out for the day. The metro is about 3 or 4 blocks behind the hotel, which is pretty close. And we were right across from Parc La Ciudadela which is beautiful to see when you exit the hotel and becomes a large concert/art installation/beer garden area during La Merce festival. We spent every night drinking, listening to music, and enjoying the various art displays they set up. Then we walked right back across the street to our bed.

Walking to the gothic area and Las Ramblas was easy, as was walking to Barceloneta. There are also a lot of great places to eat on the other side of Arc de Triomf, which is also right next to the hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and want a great location. Perfect for backpackers and people who want to be apart of La Merce festival.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJSoto81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

First of all GREAT location!!! Close to everything, easy walking distance to all I had planned. In a good area, lots near by! I was glad to have the restaurant on site, made meals easy! Cute little room, most spacious bathroom in Europe I have encountered so far! I got an interior room based on other reviews that complained about the noise. I assumed the noise was from outside. This is not the case. This place is quite noisy - but it's a hotel above a bar - so I guess I should have been expecting that lol. Even with the noise I still enjoyed my stay, thought it was a cute room, the staff was super friendly, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asiamurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked this hotel to be close to the park and the Arc de Triumf so we couldn't choose better. It is also a short (and nice) walk to El Barri Gotic and Las Ramblas so plenty of excellent tapas bars and restaurants! The metro is also a few meters away.

It was also quite cheap and do not bother paying the extra eur for a "deluxe" room as it is not worth it (view on the outside = noisy drunk people). Also make sure to have a room far from the reception if you want to sleep early otherwise you will be bothered by the noise coming from the client's of the bar/restaurant.

The rooms might look a bit old but they are gradually renovating them.

The staff is also very helpful and speak most languages pretty well (english, spanish, french, etc). Very nice overall.

Room Tip: "Deluxe" rooms have views of the park but it comes with extra noise as well. Get a room f...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeCacoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We spent 5 days in this nice hotel, very close to the metro, to the bus, to the parks and to the beach. Room was still clean and staff very kind. Staff in restaurant was very kind but with poor English. Food was very tasty with normal prices.If you would like discover culture and life in Barcelona, this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is situated near ciudadela park and very close to the city center.
We had a room opposite the park.
However there is a lot of noise not from the street but from the apartments above which is a problem. Breakfast is not included in the price .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Ibis Styles Barcelona City Bogatell
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#267 of 513 in Barcelona
471 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
NH Barcelona Diagonal Center
NH Barcelona Diagonal Center
#252 of 513 in Barcelona
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#200 of 513 in Barcelona
1,965 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#263 of 513 in Barcelona
615 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ciudadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ciudadela

Address: Paseo Lluis Companys, 2 | Pujadas, 5, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £78 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Ciudadela 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Ciudadela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ciudadela Barcelona, Catalonia
La Ciudadela Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing