We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hostel! :)”
Review of Hostal Alogar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Alogar
Ranked #108 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A fabulous hostel! :)”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We loved Hostal Alogar. It was unlike any hostel I've stayed at before as our rooms were made up each day and we were even left clean towels after our 3rd night. The beds were comfortable and the hostel staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt very safe here and had no worries leaving our personal belongings in our room while we were out all day. The only downside of Hostal Alogar, however, are the super thin walls. We had a coughing neighbour who kept us up a bit during the nights. That being said, we were also the first room closest to the reception desk and were not bothered by the TV or lounge room sounds. We were not, however, affected by the school behind us that has been commented on before - the kids do not show up until after 9am and are gone by 4:30pm. We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet, cheap stay in Barcelona! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    56
    20
    3
    9
See reviews for
16
73
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was here for 5 days. Hostel have great location (3 stations from Pl. Catalunya), friendly and helpful staff (on arrival to the hostel, you'll get a paper with places, where you can go and how you'll get there), clean rooms and shared bathroom, free WiFi, supermarket 5 min walk, air conditioning on room.

Disadvantage: No windows on room without bathroom. And you can hear everything from others room. But it depends, what neighbours you have.. :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papagena3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest , RO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Good value , best place to stay in Barcelona , close to the metro station (5 min) , bus station , 1 bus for the beach and one for the city centre , supermarket very close , very good buffet restaurant at 5 min walk , safe neighbourhood , clean room , AC , free wireless access , very kind and helpful staff , will stay here again and definitely will recommend this place .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurcapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I staid there for 6 nighs. The room was alwais clean and the staff is very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adispiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This place fully satisfied our requirements.

Excellent location (5 mins to the metro or bus, 20 mins to Rambla, 10 mins to Corte Inglese supermarket). The neighbourhoods are full of small bars full of locals (we preffered Marcel Santalo one to have a breakfast).

Rooms (with private bathroom) are small but pretty spacious. Firstly we had one #105 with double bad, sofa and table (for 4 nights); on our way back we had very small room #104 with only wardrobe (for 2 nights). All the rooms were with ordinary windows (rather big) and air conditioners.

The room, bathroom, toilet and bed were clean and cleaning service was good.

The only weakness of this hostal is poor soondproofing and school outside. Kids started to play football and shout at about 9 a.m. This makes your alarm clock useless!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zelenskya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela L, Gerente at Hostal Alogar, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you very much. We hope enjoyed your stay and we will be happy to see you again in our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Don't get confused, this is a budget hostel, and in this regard it is fantastic. Most negative reviews of this hostel seem to have mistaken it for a hotel, which it is not. The rooms are small but comfortable and airconditioned, and cleaned thoroughly every day. The bathrooms are shared but this rarely presented a problem. It is a fair way out of the city but there are two bus lines around the corner, one straight to the Placa De Catalunya and Las Ramblas and the other to the beach. There is also a train station 5 minutes walk up the road. There is a fresh produce market and a supermarket in the next street as well as a well kitted out kitchen so all your cooking needs are covered (but there are no tea and coffee things except a kettle). It could do with an outdoor area but otherwise iy is perfectly servicible as a peaceful, cheap and comfortable base from which to explore barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheCalenderGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Very nice staff, tidy rooms and bathrooms, practical kitchen facilities - worth stayingif lower budget!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank apprendrelemonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela L, Gerente at Hostal Alogar, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you very much. We hope enjoyed your stay and see you again in our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.1 mi away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#60 of 308 in Barcelona
216 reviews
4.4 mi away
Can Seuba
Can Seuba
#178 of 308 in Barcelona
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelona City Seven
Barcelona City Seven
#145 of 308 in Barcelona
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Albergue Studio
Albergue Studio
#93 of 308 in Barcelona
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Laforja
Pension Laforja
#220 of 308 in Barcelona
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Valls
Hostel Valls
#229 of 723 in Barcelona
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alogar

Property: Hostal Alogar
Address: Street Laforja 98-100, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Alogar 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the best districts of Barcelona, Sarria-Sant Gervasi, Alogar Hostel enjoys a privileged situation, safe and quiet. In the district you will find the best shops, malls and restaurants in Barcelona. Alogar Hostel has a total of 13 rooms of different types: single, double and triple rooms with a total capacity for 27 people. Some of the rooms have private bathrooms and others share, but all have air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hostal Alogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alogar Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing