We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect the worse”
Review of Hostal Felipe II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Felipe II
Ranked #332 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

After a long journey we arrived to a lovely foyer and old style lift......that was as good as it got. Extremely small rooms, the guy moved us as he said a week jn that room would be horrible. Smelly bubbling sink when toilet flushed down the corridor. When I request an additional pillow I was dismissed by a rude lady who only conceded after the intervention of a colleague and gave me an extra blanket
It was cheap, it was nasty but spotlessly clean and I wouldnt return!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wendieshmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

I originally booked a smaller room and decided to upgrade to a room with a shower. Good idea. My room was bright and spotless. The building was quiet, so no problems. It´s also close enough to the Metro for easy commute and walking distance from Sagreda Familia. Very friendly staff. My only suggestion: as there should be separate toilet and shower on the guest room floor, as it is shared. Carol T

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This place was ok, very clean and some of the staff were friendly but girlfriend did have an incident with one member of staff who was unhelpful and just laughed even though she couldnt speak english. Biggest problem were the rooms... very small and no windows we got moved but our view was air con units!!?? It was very cheap to stay here not far from Sangrada Familia but very central and a good Metro and bus link. Nearest metro was Verdguer and buses on the Avenue Diagonal lots of coffee houses too... especially Antigua Cabana opposite corner to Verdeguer Metro. Direct route from here on L4 to beach at Barceloneta.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank steve the pomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very bad smell in the room and very dirty outlook in overall. I think there was mold in the shower in addition to dick hair. Staff was friendly but i still would not go there anymore. It's true that you get what you pay for...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

... could be the motto's hostal

They were very kind and nice with us, allways solicitous and available to attend doubts and give us informations.
The price for Barcelona is ok, the location is excelent and the cleanness is good too.
It lacks of a kitchen...

but, indeed ... That's the way, I like it!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Room was simple, but okay for it's price. Not the cleanest Hostel I've ever seen, but it wasn't very bad. The staff was very nice and they gave us all the help we needed. Every 2 days they cleaned the room. We really enjoyed our stay in Felipe Hostel 2.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I'like this hostal. it's near with metro and good bar and cafe. there was clear room and very kind personnel, which constantly helped me! there was free wi-fi and cool view on the Barcelona. i recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasiaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Horta - Guinardó
Hotel Medicis
Hotel Medicis
#285 of 515 in Barcelona
409 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
Barcelona Nice & Cozy
Barcelona Nice & Cozy
#171 of 735 in Barcelona
62 reviews
Eixample
Hostalet Barcelona
Hostalet Barcelona
#229 of 307 in Barcelona
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#22 of 307 in Barcelona
663 reviews
Eixample
Casa Kessler Barcelona
Casa Kessler Barcelona
#55 of 735 in Barcelona
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Felipe II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Felipe II

Address: C/ Mallorca, 329 - Floor 3, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £25 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Felipe II 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A value colourful hostel in Barcelona If you're looking for welcoming, quiet and of value accommodation right in the centre of Barcelona, you've hit the jackpot with Hostal Felipe II. We are characterised by the personalised and friendly treatment we give our guests. YOU WILL FEEL AT HOME HERE! Modern, colourful and very bright, the hostel has been recently reformed. Our HOSTAL FELIPE II, is situated in the best, central and SAFEST part of the city, next to Avenida Diagonal, ten minutes walking from Paseo de Gracia and very close to La Sagrada Familia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Felipe II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Felipe II Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing