We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location but average in every other way...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Ranked #144 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent location but average in every other way...”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel due to its location and good reviews from recent reviewers. The location was as expected, right off of Las Ramblas and within walking distance to many attractions. We booked two rooms as we are a family of 6 and they didn't have any family suites available. The rooms were booked months in advance, yet they were located on different floors. No effort was made to try and put us closer together. The rooms themselves were small, but adequate for a party of 3. Our air conditioner dripped continuously all night, soaking several towels while barely cooling the room. Wifi, although free, worked sporadically. We did appreciate the luggage storage, which was made available to us, free of charge, upon check out. The luggage attendant was friendly and efficient, and a breath of fresh air compared to some of the other hotel service received.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CopRasFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    616
    234
    112
    78
See reviews for
571
524
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was excited about this hotel, mostly because it could accommodate a family of 5-6 in one room. The room turned out to be the best part of this hotel. It was clean, the beds were fine, the kids enjoyed the two sets of bunk beds in our room, and the tv and wifi were functional. The hotel itself is a bit awkward - it's several different buildings, connected in various ways, with terrible wayfinding and sometimes requiring you to haul bags up and down stairs. The restaurant is outrageously priced and we didn't go. The rooms tend to be dark, although i imagine that some have views of something.

I can live with all of that - it's the service that sucked here. First of all, very few people on staff speak or understand English. I found this odd simply because it's in the most touristy area of town (Las Ramblas). Second, check in time is at 3pm and our room wasn't ready until after 4pm. We arrived directly from an overnight flight from the US and they made zero effort to accommodate us in any way. I understand that our room wasn't ready at 9am. I was not understanding at all about it not being ready at 4pm (especially since we remained in the lobby area from 1pm on).

All of this could be overlooked if the hotel staff were nice, but they were unfriendly, acted inconvenienced by every guest that approached the desk, and made no effort to be welcoming to anyone (i know this because I sat there for hours watching).

With all the choices out there, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I would stay here again and recommend everybody: hotel is perfectly located but steps from the main street make the place quiet day and night! There are laptops in rooms and rooms are decorated with taste. Terraces are a bit dark but good to have them facing inside the small garden. Hotel has also 2 bicycles. A lit of shops and cafes around.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikmaxa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operagarden, Director General at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Petit Palace Opera Garden. I´m glad to see you had a nice stay with us and I thank you for your nice comments about the hotel.

Warm regards,

Alex Puig, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in August and were very impressed. We are a family of four so stayed in the family room on the 4th floor at the front, which was clean, cool and quiet. Our only niggles were no kettle (as us Brits like to make our own tea) and a bathroom door that stay shut. Tea was always available from the bar, for a cost of course, and the room's bin kept the bathroom door shut.
The hotel is located just where you need it to be. Turn left out of the door and you are in the busy La Rambla, turn right and you are in the Gothic quarter - 5 mins from the Cathedral, Placa Reial. the breakfast is good, but I would recommend nipping across to Tapes Gaudi or Acoma for breakfast at half the price.
For a chain that claims to be 'High Tech' the wifi is pretty poor, and the laptop in the room is pretty useless. But, if all you need is a good nights sleep, then this is great place. The staff and friendly, the rooms are clean and beds are comfy.

Room Tip: Top floor or at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nhorsefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a garden room with 3 kids and wife. Had no noise issues from street. Kids had bunk bed in separated area from our bed.
Big room with private terrace. Wi-fi worked good. Had a hard-line connection for laptops. Refrigerator did not work and no one came to fix when I called.
Breakfast was typical European-typical deli meets, toast, fruits and juices.
Location is on a walk street just off Las Ramblas in the Gothic area. Restaurants and shops just outside the of the hotel. 15 minute walk to beach. Metro stop is 100 feet away.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DanforTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operagarden, Director General at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I´m glad to see you had a nice stay and have enjoyed your trip.

Warm regards,

Alex Puig, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We loved the hotel in Valencia from the same company so much we booked this one online even without checking the photos as we always do,results: it was just perfect for us! Location is ideal,so is the room,breakfast and,to keep up with the reputation,the staff.We will certainly stay at this hotel again and again and we highly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salsaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operagarden, Director General at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Petit Palace Boqueria! On behalf of all the team (and Valencia aswell), I appreciate very much your positif comments!

Looking forward to meet you,

Alex Puig, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you could like to be located close to everything in a nice hotel you should check out this hotel.

The hotel is fresh and modern but with tons of charm. I nice backyard for breakfast or drinks in the evening. Excellent service. As it was a combined work and holiday trip the laptop in the room and good stabile internet was appreciated.

20 meters from the hotel you'll font the busy Las Ramblas (the main street). Within five minutes you have excellent shopping, Nice squares like: Placa Reial and Placa del Pi (the first weekend each mont you'll find a market here). Narrow street surrounds the hotel with small bars and tapas restaurants.

From Placa Catalonya (five minutes walk from the hotel) you'll find the AeroBus that will take you strait to the airport for less than 6€

For the price the hotel was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operagarden, Director General at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel. I´m glad to see you had a nice stay with us.

Warm regards,

Alex Puig, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#125 of 512 in Barcelona
1,083 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#214 of 512 in Barcelona
481 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#99 of 512 in Barcelona
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 512 in Barcelona
1,327 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#111 of 512 in Barcelona
982 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#118 of 512 in Barcelona
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Boqueria Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Boqueria Garden

Property: Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Address: C/ La Boqueria 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Opera Garden Ramblas)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Boqueria Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palace Boquería Garden Hotel is a hotel in Boquería of Barcelona with a unique accommodation offer for families and executives and with exclusive services such as iPads, Wi-Fi, cots, bicycles and accommodation for pets, everything for free. The new Petit Palace Boquería Garden Hotel, which is the result of the union of the Petit Palace Opera Garden Hotel and the Petit Palace Boquería Hotel, is a hotel with garden in Ramblas of Barcelona, a hundred-year nook protected for its special value, and with an outdoor terrace perfect for living special moments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Boqueria Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Opera Garden Ramblas Hotel Barcelona
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing