We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Con Estilo Balmes
Ranked #177 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Great deco and helpful staffs!
Room is small but cozy with a small balcony. However there's no television in the room, a little boring before go to bed.
A very convenient location with a 24hour store down stairs. Safe and quite area too.
I will definitely recommend to friends if they travel to Barcelona.
The breakfast is also fair enough!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sih-Jie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
34
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I was very happy staying here- fancy chandelier over the breakfast table makes it feel special! I got a special rate when I stayed from a website but normally a bit dear for me.
In a nice part of Barcelona and near metro but not in centre if you are looking for that.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely quirky hotel. We had great room with ensuite bathroom and view. Housekeeper very friendly and efficient. High standard of cleanliness. It isn't dead centre (4 km from Plaza de Catalunya) however this was our first time in Catalonia, and we enjoyed getting a feel of the real city, rather than being limited to multi-cultural 'tourist's Barcelona'. Great option for families. If you're there for the nightlife and want to be able to fall out of bar into a hotel, probably not for you. Tube station is one minute's walk from the hotel and only a few stops to the centre. We used buses around Barcelona (15 mins to P de Catalunya) so we could see more of the city and its people. Local bus stops (max 5 mins walk) take you to Camp Nou, the beach area (Barcelonetta), Park Guell but best to check location/number of buses (and carry decent map) as hotel's info was slightly out of date. Also enjoyed challenge of overcoming language barrier (hotel has computer in lobby with good online translation app) and great for my 9 year old to appreciate the value of learning a foreign language! All in all, this was not a beige and white hotel 'box' where everyone speaks English - and that's why we loved it and will remember our trip forever.

Room Tip: We had a room with ensuite bathroom and access to terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The downsides are: The place is 6 floors up (although there is a lift). Our room was small and the window looked straight onto a brick wall with no en-suite, it was also a little noisy at times with noise from water pipes and when people were talking in the corridor but not too bad.

On the other hand it was old and totally charming, the housekeeps were lovely (but not much English spoken), it was super-cheap, cosy, spotlessly clean, has two great terraces with views and a great breakfast included. Contrary to some other reviews I though the location was perfect. It is not dead centre but it is right by the L7 line direct to the centre of town in a few minutes for about a euro and easy walking distance to Gracia and Park Guell.

Overall I really liked it and If I came back to Barcelona I'd definitley stay here again although I would pay the extra for a nice room with balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
815 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

first of all: location. It is NOT close to downtown (7 euro cab ride to Plaza Catalunya, or a million steps, with no elevators on the L7 subway, that runs only every 15 min on weekends).
second, our room was very small, facing a wall, with a small queen size bed and not even a sink to brush teeth...while we did not have to wait for the shared bathroom, it could have been uncomfortable. We could see other rooms were much better, so, as already suggested by others, beware of what room you book.
the B&B is clean, but requiring some upkeep (the awning on the terrace is fraying). Breakfast is fairly basic. The good news: the building and apartment are lovely and it is certainly a different experience than an hotel chain. Taxies are parked outside the door. The only staff person is lovely and very friendly...big kudos to her (even if she did not initially hear us ringing!

Room Tip: do not get the small room facing the wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Booked this guesthouse online, mainly due to the description saying it is a traditional spanish apartment and that all the rooms had access to the balcony/terrace....which they do but not from the actual rooms other than the top 2 most expensive rooms. When we were shown to our room the window looked out on to a wall approx 2 feet from the window. The maid/housekeepers looked very concerned however did not speak English, which yes I should speak Spanish, but this is an international hotel. I was put on the phone to the very terse owner who told me I hadn't booked a room with a balcony and none were available. In the night we put on the aircon- which was very loud and then later on bits of ice started dropping out of it. The following morning the aircon start spraying water across the room, and flooded the floor. I see this problem was reported by someone else on trip advisor so they must have been aware and not fixed it. on the second night me manage to get a room with a view which was lovely however was charged 36 euros for this when on hotels.com this would only have been another 16 euros. The rest of the apt was lovely and the breakfast nice, clean room etc. I would not however recommend the Guesthouse due to the poor way in which we were treated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I love here so much!! Beautiful and specious sleeping room and dining room!!! Although the housekeeper cannot speak any English, but it doesn't really matter, she is so lovely and friendly, always smiling, makes me feel so welcome!!! Everything is so clean, no dust at all, nice breakfast and fresh egg served directly by request, wish I can stay here longer!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.2 mi away
Bonanova
Bonanova
#351 of 512 in Barcelona
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Exe Mitre
Exe Mitre
#341 of 512 in Barcelona
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
#320 of 512 in Barcelona
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#344 of 512 in Barcelona
824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
#321 of 512 in Barcelona
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABaC Barcelona
ABaC Barcelona
#7 of 512 in Barcelona
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Con Estilo Balmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Con Estilo Balmes

Property: Casa Con Estilo Balmes
Address: Balmes, 395 - 6th fl - 1a | Sant Gervasi, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Con Estilo Balmes 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Casa Con Estilo Balmes is located in the 6th floor of an early 20th century building, in Balmes street. "Sant Gervasi" is a very quiet, peaceful and welcoming neighbourhood. Along its streets you can find bars, coffee shops, restaurants, little boutiques and public parkings. In 10 minutes you can switch this peace with the animated city center by taking the metro or the bus, with their stops located very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Con Estilo Balmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Con Estilo Hotel Barcelona
Casa Con Estilo Balmes Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing