We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tapas and Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of H10 Casanova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Casanova
Ranked #92 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tapas and Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very nice boutique hotel, rooms were nice it was nicely located not to close to Las Ramblas and walkable to thee city center. the only issue I had was the air conditioner it was warm in November but the air was fixed at a certain temp. Of course that is probably just the fact that I am American I expected something different and I never did ask the desk if it could be lowered. But my friends and I really liked the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glampurrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    638
    104
    31
    21
See reviews for
222
809
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The staff really made the effort to be very helpful and friendly on check-in and check-out. The location worked well for us as a family as it was only 10 minutes walk from Las Ramblas as well as having its own parking garage. The roof terrace and plunge pool were also enjoyable and the room had plenty of space for the three of us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaggyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downtown
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

It's hard to pin down why this hotel succeeds. Everything just feels so natural it just works. The staff were great, helpful plus always trying to go the extra mile, it's rare to find places where people really care and they do here.

Stayed here for seven nights as part of a deal through British Aiways. I stay away quite bit on business and can choose where I stay in London and Manchester, if I were staying in Barcelona regularly I'd stay here no question. Breakfast good too. Good location.

Thank you very much we had a great time.

Helpful?
Thank Sparkoid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great boutique hotel (part of H10 hotel chain). Modern/Euro interior, modern rooms, AC, TV, elevators. Fun roof-top bar and small pool. Hotel has inside parking. Within 10 minutes of Las Ramblas. Close to two metro stops, sights, restaurants, shops, grocery, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for room higher in building or at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Symphony2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having spent nearly £400 for four nights in the hotel, I am sorry to say I was disappointed with the standard of the hotel and the service.
Great location - right on the Grand Via however, this is more of a two star budget hotel with costs along the way for any extras.
I was staying alone - whereas my friends were paired off sharing double rooms.
My room was small, bed was comfy, great BBC on the TV. Fairly quiet on the 7th floor as on the main road - however, may have been noisier had I been on the lower levels. My room was bang next door to the door up to the roof top bar - this was very noisy and the doors slamming shut through the night and early morning was not great either. I had a shower - which was great - a toilet with a wobbly seat and no bath. A bath would have been very welcome, and I do feel that because it was a room for one person it was the least amount of effort spent on providing hospitality and service etc.
The room was a bit tired, and not well thought out. I had to pay extra for the kettle and tea bags - which in a hotel which boasts four stars really should have been complimentary. There also should have been complimentary water in the room as they had no understanding of providing tap water - and charged 3E for a tiny bottle of water at the bar. The mini bar again was typically expensive as was the over priced room service menu and lunch menu at the bar. Friends here ordered a chicken sandwich and a burger for lunch on their first day - it came out raw and uncooked. Not very good at all.
The roof top bar was not serviced by a bar man until gone 1pm although it is meant to open at 12.30pm so if you do decide to sit up there take a bucket of water to drink, as it gets hot in the sunshine, there is no water provided and you will have a mouth like Ghandi's flip flop within twenty minutes!
Roof top pool it is not. Plunge pool it is not. It is a large bath with twenty or so inches of water in it. It is alright for sitting in to cool off and was a very welcome retreat from the sunshine of 40*C however, do not get your hopes up - it is a small roof top and gets very crowded.
Wine was 3E which was good value - jug of Sangria Special was 25E very expensive. Do not have the normal sangria it is red wine and orange juice, with more juice than wine - and not very good at all. Find a local bar where they serve it at 9e a jug and give you free tapas!
Rodolphe on reception was very helpful in getting me checked in a bit earlier - 12.35pm as i had arrived at 8am and the information and guidance provided by reception was good.
Free wifi was brilliant, as was the computer and printer in reception to print off your boarding pass etc.
I took a late check out at 4pm - again supplement of 30e but I paid it for the added comfort as was not flying out until 10pm. This made a huge difference to my last day and was a welcome luxury for not too many more euros.
Maid service was good, room was cleaned, air con also great when you wanted to use it.
Breakfast was great too - cooked, fruit, cereal, continental, toast, cakes, cava, yes cava, tea coffee, juice, it was all marvellous. My only gripe is the strange service or hospitality clash - things like clearing the table when you are eating, leaning across someone's plate to get another plate etc. I found the staff to be a bit confrontational and unhelpful. We asked for a complimentary bottle of cava as it was a 30th birthday and they refused it. However, I do think they may have upgraded the room to a nicer quieter suite, but not sure. Again, this could be down to the fact they booked through the BA site, I booked through E Hotels - so be careful who you book through.
All in all it was alright, I slept well, felt comfortable and ate breakfast - which was included in my stay - it was 15e for those not included.
I think you may get better value for money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Level six away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi S, Director General at H10 Casanova, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We regret that your stay was not pleasant . We are glad you see some positive aspects in our hotel, although we will work hardly to improve the weak ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I found this on a British Airways web page and chose it from 3... and I am so glad I did!! It was on the main drag, close to the airport bus stop (2nd one) and between 2 train stations!! Google it. Clean, friendly, HUGE rooms amazing rooftop bar and pool (albeit small) and a fabulous bar... just do it!!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lift - at the back and it is truly quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

105 Euros with Breakfast for two included.
- two "Cava" (traditional Catalonian drink) as a welcome drink!
-a small bottle of redwine in the room - also as welcome drink
- amazingly nice and helpful staff (Lisa)
-If would ever come back to Barcelona again, this would be deffinetly the place where I would return.
-safe box in the room
-clean room
- a choice beetween duck feather pillows and sintetic pillow, both available there....
- bath coats and slippers
- dental kit (toothbrush and paste)
-shaving kit
- located 2 minutes walking from LA RAMBLA and Plaza Catalunya
- Swimming pool available and included in price for guests (on eight floor, on top of the building, next to an amazing terrace that gives you the opportunity to see the city from 8th floor)

An amazing example of hospitality

p.s. this was our choice after we got scammed by an apartment rental company on the intrnet... Go for quality and always ask for invoice and receipt. Never prepay when travel to Spain!

Room Tip: 304 was our room. has a huge double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeBreban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#84 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Eixample
H10 Art Gallery
H10 Art Gallery
#89 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#88 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#32 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#110 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Casanova

Property: H10 Casanova
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 559, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Casanova 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few metres from Placa Catalunya, Passeig de Gracia and Les Rambles, H10 Casanova is located in a beautifully refurbished 18th century building. The hotel’s services include the new Sky Bar terrace with views of Barcelona, bright, elegant rooms, the delightful Ona Lounge, a Despacio Spa Centre and 7 meeting rooms.​ The comfortable rooms at the H10 Casanova have very modern and functional decor and are equipped with all the amenities needed to ensure a pleasant stay. The Ona Lounge offers a selection of fusion tapas and a menu specialising in cocktails and premium gin and tonics. Weekends are party time with live DJ sessions. And on summer evenings, relax with a cocktail at our 8th floor Sky Bar, as you admire the sunset over Barcelona.​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Casanova Hotel Barcelona
Casanova By Rafael Hotel
Casanova By Rafael Barcelona
H10 Casanova Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing