We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small luxury what?”
Review of H10 Casanova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H10 Casanova
Ranked #89 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small luxury what?”
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This hotel lies within the heart of Barcelona, near to the University. It is a very modern hotel, 4 stars and apparently part of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It certainly is 4 stars, but not luxury....
Arriving in the summer heat, I'm getting out of my cab, dragging my 2 big cases towards the hotel entrace...help is nowhere in reach. What happened to the luxury hotels that provide a door man? Getting into the entrance, a short flight of stairs lies ahead of me and I continue my struggle towards the reception. The receptionist clearly sees me, but decides to ignore my heavy luggage struggle. Welcome!
After check in finally a sort of porter arrives, happy to help me with my luggage up to my room. The room looks modern and comfortable. The bathroom however is very dark, not very practical...and worst of all greets me with a big silverfish bug in the bath tub/shower. Thanks God I have my flip flops with me!
Once unpacked I'm out to explore the town...
Am back. Tired, looking forward to a good night sleep before a long and hectic business day. Unfortunately my room faces the Gran Via, and the recently renovated hotel forgot to put in some double glazing!! Ear plugs in... still no rest and that is all night. I would have preferred an aiport hotel.
Off to a grumpy start - let's get some breakfast. A typically Spanish breakfast menu - not a problem, but the waiters should change their shirts from time to time. Not only am I tired now, I also lost all appetite and worst of all feel slightly sick!
Before leaving for my appointments I ask to change my room in the hope to get some sleep the following night. That all seems fine. Great!
Back in the evening I decided to try the bar. The atmosphere is a bit stiff - shame, after all we are in Barcelona, but I must admit the bar man is first class! Congrats - a real star.
My new room is quiet, without any bugs so I have an early night and get some well earned sleep.
The location of the hotel is generally good, but unfortunately there is no outside public area to have a drink or some food, which is a shame. The standard is ok, but if you are looking for luxury - go somewhere else. Also this hotel lacks atmosphere, a real shame because this is something you somehow expect when coming to Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melachocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    643
    106
    31
    21
See reviews for
229
819
45
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We were very pleased with the Casonova Hotel in Barcelona. Room was very comfortable and clean. Rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard were very quiet. Staff were extremely helpful and everyone that we dealt with spoke English. Hotel was in a good location - walking distance to Placa de Catalunya and La Rambla.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel and we found it expensive but there are plenty of cafes around that were cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaymaker2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Very plush hotel, great location.

Staff was over the top nice/helpful. The overnight clerk was one of the nicest people we have met traveling, accommodated our after hours request for a cork screw, by searching through the hotel bar for 20 minutes before retrieving it.

Rooms are nice (Bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in), view is ok. No rooftop terrace except for spa.

I have to agree w/ some other reviews that the design of the bathrooms is.....interesting.
Very dark, but its a bathroom so who really cares.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stalin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Smashing suite with two toilets 2 tv's roomy great decor. Very functional. The restaurant food is great. Lobby bar is great for people watching. Staff ultra friendly and multi lingual and very helpful. Location is great for strolling to main tourist sights. The spa gives great massages!
Matches the magnificence of Barcelona!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days pre-cruise and 4 days post-cruise. The staff is very helpful with directions, and any requests. The room pre-cruise wa on the street side with a small balconey which was nice but that was one of the nights of the games so people were celebrating and honking horns all night so we requested a room in the back on our return and it was very quite, but no view. I would recommend this hotel, it is a short walk to Ramblas, very well maintained and very modern. I would stay here again, & I am quite fussy about where we stay. The bathroom was quite large and bedroom good size for Europe standards

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We travelled to Barcelona for a 3 night stay with 2 adults, 2 children (aged 11 and 6) and 2 grandparents. Had found it difficult to find a Hotel we liked in Barcelona that could accomodate 2 adults and 2 children in the same room so after reading good reviews about this hotel on TripAdvisor we booked 2 rooms with 1 extra bed in each. The hotel is clean and modern, trendy but comfy and not pretentious. The rooms had very comfy beds with wooden floors, LCD TV and safe - rooms were a bit on the small side but had very nice bathrooms. All the staff we came into contact with were very helpful and spoke flawless English. The bar and lounge area were lovely as was the restaurant. We had breakfast in the restaurant one day and although it was a fabulous selection of bread, cheese, cold meet, juices, fruit, cereal, etc it was expensive - 90 euros for 5 people, which was 3 times what we paid in local restaurant/cafe's on the other days.
The hotel is approx 10-15 mins walk to La Rambla but the area seemed a little seedy, especially in the evening. Some nice restaurants nearby, particularly an Italian style called Zian - a couple of blocks from the Hotel heading away from the centre of Barcelona, good food and service and not overpriced. This is the second time I've visited Barcelona and although its still a vibrant, exciting city, personal safety was a big concern. My father had his wallet stolen within the first few hours of arriving and my husband caught a pickpocket with his hand still in his pocket - the metro in particular seems a favourite haunt. The trick seems to be to wait until everyone starts to get on the train and then rush the passengers, pushing and shoving as they go, whip out the purses/wallets and jump off the train again. We spent the first evening at the local police station - a reminder that you really shouldn't carry more cash than you need and should leave anything valuable in the hotel safe!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stressedoutmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaboys
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Beautiful rooms...Quiet...Close to metro stop with grocery, cafes on the way. Bus stops in front of hotel. VERY modern...we didn't even know we had a second half-bath until end of trip. Staff helpful with travel information. Felt very secure and comfortable. Great linens and water pressure!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#81 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Eixample
H10 Art Gallery
H10 Art Gallery
#88 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#83 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#36 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#114 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Casanova

Property: H10 Casanova
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 559, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Casanova 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few metres from Placa Catalunya, Passeig de Gracia and Les Rambles, H10 Casanova is located in a beautifully refurbished 18th century building. The hotel’s services include the new Sky Bar terrace with views of Barcelona, bright, elegant rooms, the delightful Ona Lounge, a Despacio Spa Centre and 7 meeting rooms.​ The comfortable rooms at the H10 Casanova have very modern and functional decor and are equipped with all the amenities needed to ensure a pleasant stay. The Ona Lounge offers a selection of fusion tapas and a menu specialising in cocktails and premium gin and tonics. Weekends are party time with live DJ sessions. And on summer evenings, relax with a cocktail at our 8th floor Sky Bar, as you admire the sunset over Barcelona.​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Casanova Hotel Barcelona
Casanova By Rafael Hotel
Casanova By Rafael Barcelona
H10 Casanova Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing