We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern hotel in good location with excellent transport links”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #84 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, modern hotel in good location with excellent transport links”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The Soho is a modern boutique hotel on the Gran Via, one of Barcelona's principal thoroughfares. The location is very good for a city break. You're next door to the Urgell metro statio, 5 minutes walk from Universitat station, 10 minutes from the Placa de Catalunya. The 50 bus passes the front door which takes you to the Sagrada Familia to the East and Monjuic to the West. Around the corner you can grab buses that take you down the Rablma and on to Port Vell or the Olympic Village.

Rooms are modern with some interesting touches! Comfy beds and everything spotless. The only thing the hotel lacks is its own bar, but there are plenty nearby. We declined the €10 breakfast which was not included in our package - you can get that meal cheaply in any number of places locally, including the famous Escriba patisserie which is right the road.

Recommended.

Finally thanks to Ana at the Soho Hotel who's flexibility allowed us to reschedule at late notice...

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear over look a small park. Not a pretty view, but relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie35slr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    840
    130
    36
    18
See reviews for
184
1,406
96
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston,SC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Soho Hotel for 3 nights before embarking on a cruise. I can't imagine a more perfect home base for our visit to Barcelona. After a brief taxi ride from the airport, we entered the hotel and were greeted by the friendly staff. It was 9 AM, so a room wasn't available for us, but they referred us to their downstairs lounge where we could freshen up after our flight and use the computers in their office center. There was free Wifi throughout the hotel--definitely a major plus! The staff took our luggage and we went on our way walking around Barcelona.

The location is PERFECT--maybe a 10 minute walk from Las Ramblas. Having visited Las Ramblas at night, I was very glad we weren't any closer because of the late night noise and activity. Though Gran Via is a major street, our room was very quiet at night and we slept well. We were very near to pharmacies, cafes, restaurants, and the street itself was clean, comfortable and beautiful. Our street was very safe, even when we returned from dinner very late. One note--we didn't experience a single uncomfortable situation in Barcelona though we were told pick pocketing was rampant. Don't make yourself look like a target and you'll find the same to be true.

The hotel is modern in design and felt WAY more expensive than we actually paid. We were thrilled to receive an upgraded room and a complimentary bottle of Cava--probably because we noted it was our Honeymoon! Our room was very large for typical European standards and we had ample space. Our bed was two twin mattresses pushed together, which some guests might dislike, but we liked having plenty of personal space and the movement-insulation from the other person. The mattresses were firm and the linens were super soft and comfortable. The AC worked great throughout our stay, but like many European hotels, the room key is necessary to power the room, so it did heat up a little while we were away.

We were nothing but pleased with the space. However, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to someone who hated modern design enough to ruin their comfort level. The bathroom was in a glass cube in the room with blinds that opened and shut with a switch inside the bathroom. We found this design choice to be really interesting and fun--the only problem was that if someone went into the bathroom at night, the light from inside still shined pretty brightly into the bedroom, even with the blinds shut. Otherwise, we loved the design and feeling like we were in a very expensive boutique hotel for such a low price. The rooftop deck and pool were beautiful and I would have loved to spend some more time up there. The view itself was great!

The international staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They all spoke perfect English and were great at recommending restaurants and getting us a taxi to the port.

I will definitely stay at the Hotel Soho when we return to Barcelona. What a great start to a wonderful honeymoon!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and had an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel is ideal but I was not convinced by the room features which seemed more aesthetic than practical at times. The room we had had no outlook but was very quiet and comfortable. Like another poster I managed to leave our safe open but nothing was taken. I think the problem may be that the code is cancelled after the safe has been open for more than a few minutes. We managed to check out of the hotel and be checked into Barcelona airport within half an hour! The areobus is terrific and they run about every 10 minutes from virtually opposite the hotel. The bus is the A2 and you get it outside the terminal. Inside the terminal there was a queue of people at the information desks, confirming which bus and getting detailed maps of Barcelona on which the airport bus stops are clearly marked. Arrival at the hotel was quick - it was the second stop. We couldn't believe the value for money were getting for meals. Guito's is a restaurant / bar 20 metres from the hotel front door. We ate there 3 times and had their menu of the day - usually 10 euros for 3 courses which includes a fresh bread roll and a drink each. If two of you take a glass of wine they just give you the bottle. Wine by the bottle there was just over 6 euros in any case! I am as certain as I can be that it is Guitos that supply room service to the Hotel Soho. We regularly saw waiters taking covered food on trays along to the hotel and later saw an identical tray by the pool on the hotel roof. We were there 6 nights and enjoyed the breakfast but a couple of doors along from the hotel you can get a croissant and a coffee for 1.5 euros. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the Placa Catalunya and we regularly bought large bottles of water there to take back to the hotel. It was rather belatedly that we found an almost secret minimarket between Guitos and the Hotel Soho. There is no obvious sign and we did a double take when we realised. Water was 50 cents for 1.5 litres.

Room Tip: Room 76 has no view but no noise either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cpt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

location: perfect! rooms: very clean and very stylish. nice comfy atmosphere, great sun-patio on top. the best plus though: THE STAFF! very helpful and they know how to give a great individual tip (for dinner, visits, drinks, etc.). you can use the bus from the airport to the hotel and back - it's all in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Staff at the Soho were very friendly and genuinely helpful. The position is about 10 or so minutes from Placa Catalunya so good but not great. Right next to the metro though and a T10 gets you around well. The price was good for a mid-range room in a big city. The rooms are likely to polarise guests. We didn't like it much, all brown, with odd lighting and blinds that were hard to figure out. I needed a torch to see into the safe. The sofa is made from woven plastic. The shower screen allowed water all over the bathroom floor. Despite being on the Gran Via though (on the 6th floor) the room was quiet and the bed good.Air conditioning worked very well. Hence the mixed bag. BTW parking is very expensive at E30 p.n. (not the hotel's pricing but an independent operator).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TukoPomojaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We received a warm greeting when we arrived at the hotel and were upgraded (at no charge) to an Urban room which was spacious with a big bed, wonderful tub-shower and very quiet at night. The location is just out of the main craziness of La Rambla, but close enough to walk to - also right next to metro which we didn't use. The breakfast buffet was good - not a huge selection - but certainly enough variety to keep from getting bored.

As many have mentioned, the lighting takes a while to get used to, but it ended up not being a problem at all.

Also, for our last night we asked for a non-touristy restaurant recommendation for paella and the young man recommended La Clara a few blocks away. Although at 8:30 we were the only ones in the restaurant (we were just too tired and hungry to stay up for the Spanish dinner hour which is a lot later) it soon filled up. And I think we were the only ones speaking English. Our dinner was delicious - one of the best of our trip.

This hotel is an overall good value and we'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a small park area and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 122793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The location is excellent, right next to the metro station (Urgell) and within comfortable walking distance of the main squares. Rooms are comfortable and modern with limited storage,very interesting lighting effects which is attractive but made us feel like we were living underground. The inner rooms do not have natural daylight and no views. We couldn't see the buttons on the safe to input a security code. That's when we wished we had packed a torch! Just one overhead light in the entrance to the room would make such a difference. Bathroom area is divided from rest of the room by a window screened with venetian blinds. Lights and blinds are push button operated which gave us a few laughs! The roof top terrace with swimming pool is what made us book and that was lovely to enjoy after a hard day's sightseeing. There are 2 free computers in the basement TV room. Very helpful Reception staff. Not a comfortable place to stay if it rains like it did when we stayed as there are no comfortable chairs in the rooms and no lounge area or bar. There is room service. Would stay again but would upgrade to a room with a view.

Room Tip: Choose a more expensive end room which has daylight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saintssupp0rter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 512 in Barcelona
2,208 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 512 in Barcelona
4,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 512 in Barcelona
3,091 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#79 of 512 in Barcelona
3,873 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#88 of 512 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Property: Soho Hotel
Address: Gran Via 543-545, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soho welcomes its guests with a glassed-in lobby and offers 51 rooms, outdoor terrace and pool with panoramas overlooking Barcelona, a media center with free Internet access, a breakfast-room with terrace on the ground floor, free WiFi throughout the building, and private parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Soho Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing