We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely disappointing, we left to stay elsewhere despite having paid upfront.”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #83 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My boyfriebd and I booked a room at the hotel Soho after reading so many great reviews on Trip Advisor, but our whole experience was disappointing in the extreme and I wonder if we ere even in the same hotel as everyone else!

First of all, on arrival the check in process was incredibly lengthy and inefficient. The man on the front desk was friendly enough but very dozy and not attentive.

Our room,a standard Soho room was pretty awful. Small, dark, smelly, and a twin bed rather than a double. The darkness was due in part to silly 'design' lighting which was hard to operate, and in part to the windows being covered with some kind of tape blocking out half the light! The design theme is very hard, dark, and not at all comfortable or welcoming. And the room is VERY small.

The beds (twin not double) were small and hard and You could feel the springs, the sheets were clean which was good but the beds were not enticing at all.

Our room must have been the worst in the house though with a catalogue of damage and inadequacy: the window was cracked right accross and looked like it might fall apart at any moment. The window that opened onto the street was also broken so it didn"t close properly and the already VERY loud noise from the street was made even louder!

As we are in Barcelona to celebrate my birthday we went to reception to ask for a different room. However we were told that the hotel was fully booked and that they would not be able to move us until the next day. Well, as we had checked in at about 4 pm, even if they WERE fully booked they could not have been fully checked in and should have been able to find us a different room.

We decided that as this was a special occasion and the room was truly awful we would rather go elsewhere so that I could wake up somewhere nice on my birthday. We told reception we wanted to leave and asked for a refund on the room. However as we had paid upfront they refused to refund the room. I suggested they refund one night (of the 3 we had booked) but they refused. I pointed out that as the room would now unoccupied, and as they had said they were fully booked they would be able to resell the room to someone wlse but still they refused even a partial refund.

They did offer us an upgrade on our second night but for us that was just too late, as I would have woken up on my birthday in a horrible room and would have had to move rooms during the day!

We decided to leave the hotel anyway and sacrifice the cost we had already paid, and I am VERY unhappy with every aspect of our experience at the hotel Soho.

For a hotel that bases all it's business on word of mouth and revews I was extremely disappointed by the managers unwillingness to extend a gesture of goodwill and refund even one night of the booking.

to sum up: the room was small, dark, uncomfortable, poorly designed, and smelly, it was noisy, and broken and not at all welcoming. The staff were ok, but not exactly friendly or willing to help. And the manager's attitude was lacking compassion or good judgement.

AVOID THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lil_Pip_piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Lil_Pip-pipper,

I am Ana Gregorio, Associate Director of Hotel SOHO.

I read your comment about our hotel and our service and I want to apologize for the inconvenience we may cause you.

I check with all the SOHO team the different situations you lived with us.

Your room was a SOHO standard room facing the street. We have standard room with one double bed and others with two twin beds. We try to do our best to satisfy all our guests’ requests but sometimes it is not possible.

When you arrived to the hotel we didn’t have any available double bed room and that’s why when you asked for a change we told you that next day it would be possible.

When you asked for a refund we checked the conditions of your booking. You have a non-refundable rate. We have this restrictive policy with a very good discount and that’s why we don’t do refunds to our guests. We don’t resell rooms of our guests when they cancel their non-refundable bookings, because this room is booked for them and we keep it during all the stay,

When we offered you an upgrade we try to repair the inconvenience of your fist night with our possibilities in your check in time.

We are sorry that your SOHO experience was bad. Our maxim is to achieve that those who lodge at our hotel feel equal, or even better, that at home, so when we don’t achieve it, we really appreciate it if clients let us know.
If your travel plans include Barcelona, please contact me and let us to change your SOHO experience.

Yours sincerely,

Ana Gregorio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 2,246 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

whilst this hotel is slightly out of the craziness, this did not mean we could not walk wherever we wanted to go, and when we were tired after a night out was never more than 5 euros to get home. the hotel is clean and minimilist. whilst i dont love a double bed being two singles pushed together they get away with it, as the room is big and you feel you have a bigger bed. Did not have any food during our stay as there are so many fabulous places in barca to try, did however enjoy drinks on the roof terrace in the sunshine. this is a perfect place to catch the sun and read books. the plunge pool is tiny, perfect for cooling down, not one for swimming. the room was spacious and airconditiioned and with a nice design throughout was definitieyl good value for money and would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is an extremely cute hotel with personality. Everything already written here (in 5star reviews) is true. It is sexy and perfect for couples. It is close to everything and connection by aerobus to the airport is very easy. The service is excellent and breakfast on the patio is peacefull, relaxing and cheap. I did not use roof swimming pool but it looks pretty and there is always someone using it. It is very safe we would walk around at 2am without problem. The room is modern and it has spacious safe box. We will stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ida32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We had planned a 4-day weekend in Barcelona, and Soho Hotel in the heart of Eixampla was a great place to stay. I highly recommend it.
The hotel can easily be reached from the airport through Aerobus (Stop at Urgell - the bus stop is at the intersection, opposite corner of the hotel, cost from airport is $6.75 one-way or $9.75 return. On the way back to the airport the bus stop is one block away down at the corner of Comte d'Urgell and Sepulveda, a 5min walk from the hotel).

We had booked a Terrace Room (#73 - seventh floor with views to the gardens at the back). The hotel is very modern in design. The staff is really great, very friendly. As mentioned in other reviews the lights in the room are rather dim, but this wasn't a problem for us. As for the bathroom which has a glass partition separating it from the bedroom, it can be easily shut off by electric blinds.

Breakfast was excellent, with cold cuts and danish pastries, doughnuts, fruits and yoghurt. Coffee is available through an expresso machine. There are a few tables outside, so you can enjoy your morning expresso in the fresh air.

The rooms have cable TV, with Spanish channels, english (BBC World News, Fox, and 1 or 2 more, French TV5 Monde, and a German channel).

The Metro/Subway station is just outside the hotel (Urgell station). The University is a 10min walk, plaça Catalunya 15min, La Rambla 15min.

There are quite a few restaurants near the hotel (take the Villaroeal st and turn right onto Diputacio).

Room Tip: If you can afford them, go for a Terrace room which will give you that extra space. Preferably at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FranckS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Really friendly & helpful staff upon check-in. It's always nice when you open the door to your room and it turns out to be spacious, modern & comfortable. The decor was nice, the bed was comfortable, and we never heard any of the other guests or too much street noise, which was an issue with our friends who stayed at other hotels around town.
The hotel is located very close to a metro stop and kind of in walking distance to La Rambla and all that. If you are a big walker, it's not too bad of a walk up to some of the Gaudi buildings.
It's worth noting that there is an amazing Tiki bar a few blocks away, and a great health food market a few doors down.
I only have two issues with the hotel - first, we couldn't take a shower without flooding the entire bathroom (the water pressure was great, tho!). Second, we went up to the outdoor rooftop lounge and ordered a few cervezas. After about 30 minutes, we gave up and went back to our room. I tried to call and cancel but couldn't get through, so eventually, they found us and brought the beers to our room. No big whoop.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therealmissrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gerda N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in May 2012. The hotel has some very good points and is quite good value for money. It's a 3 star hotel I think but it's rooms are easily the quality of a 4. The roof top pool area is a winner, however you do need to get in early as it gets crowed and it is actually quite small. The wifi is good, although I didn't have the breakfast, I think it was well priced for a hotel at 13 euros or 10 euros if you booked it for each day of your stay. The hotel is placed in a good location, only about a 10 minute walk into the city centre, but far enough out to be away from the tourist area. 

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DN2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#81 of 515 in Barcelona
957 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 515 in Barcelona
2,273 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 515 in Barcelona
4,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#8 of 515 in Barcelona
389 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#76 of 515 in Barcelona
2,123 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#67 of 515 in Barcelona
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: Gran Via 543-545, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £64 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soho welcomes its guests with a glassed-in lobby and offers 51 rooms, outdoor terrace and pool with panoramas overlooking Barcelona, a media center with free Internet access, a breakfast-room with terrace on the ground floor, free WiFi throughout the building, and private parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Soho Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing