We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great choice for Barcelona first-timers”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #83 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We stayed at the Soho Barcelona for three nights, May 1, 2 and 3. Chose the place due to tripadvisor ratings, it's accessibility for the Barcelona shuttle bus to and from the airport, along with a great rate obtained on the hotel's website. In fact, we obtained their spring/summer package which included an upgraded room, with breakfast each day, a bottle of cava and tapas one night, all taxes, for 378 Euros total. An average, per night, rate of about 126 Euros, which, after lots of research, turned out to be an outstanding rate for Barcelona during the period we were there.

As others have stated, the rooms and facilities are very nice, very hip and very contemporary. We were in a room facing the courtyard at the back of the hotel, so it was very quiet. We found the bed to be quite comfortable, and the room spacious enough for our needs. Enjoyed the breakfast each morning, also, which was completely adequate, as was the bottle of cava, with tapas, in the hotel's breakfast room the night we arrived, too tired and worn out to go out exploring for restaurants, after a very long 20+ hour, multi-stop, trip originating in San Francisco.

About the only complaint (and this isn't much of a complaint) is that we'd have preferred a location maybe two blocks closer to Cataluna Square, from where most of our sightseeing began. But the walk wasn't bad and, as stated earlier, the hotel's location on Gran Via was absolutely perfect for the Barcelona airport shuttle bus which stopped at the intersection of Gran Via and Urgell, only about a block and one-half from the hotel. Return shuttle to the airport was from a location about another block further away which runs parallel to Gran Via.

This hotel is a real find, especially if you can get it at a rate as good as that which I found. But even if at a higher rate, we'd highly recommend the Soho Barcelona, in all its aspects. And Barcelona itself is really a fascinating destination. Our days (2 full days and until about 500 p.m. the third day) were filled from early each morning, until late each night.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,122 of 2,246 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2010

Prevented from flying home from our cruise on 4/18/10 by the volcanic ash,
we hustled to find a hotel in Barcelona. Luckily, we found the Soho and its
staff. We were a group that needed 6 rooms and they welcomed us with open arms at a fair price. Hotel is clean, modern, conveniently located, and offeres a great breakfast plus free access to the computers. The staff couldn't have been any nicer even extending our stay when needed. We got a great value and I will stay there again when I go to Barcelona in 2011. Thanks to all, especially the manager, Asun.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddocphiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Wow what a city first thing jump on the shuttle bus outside the airport this is every 10mins 7 days a week and drops you outside the hotel (cost only 5 euros) on the way back make sure you get on the correct bus there's an A1 & A2 bus depending if you want to go to terminal 1 or 2 at the airport. Hotel Soho is next to URGILL tube station,The hotel is modern and clean with a nice full English breakfast or continental there is free internet access on the bottom floor and a small swimming pool with sun terrace on the top floor.
The best way to get around is on the Metro (underground tube like London) get a T10 card from the ticket machine 7 euros this lasts as long as you like for 10 trips on the Metro if you interchange from one line to another this is still classed a one trip providing you dont leave the station.
FABULOUS RESTURANT be warned you must book £100 for two people (bit more than other places but worth it) for 3 course and a bottle of wine the Quality is EXCELENT it is just off Las Ramblas called Los Caracoles (google it).
On the Las Ramblas there many street entertainers BUT BEWARE of the pick pockets they are super fast,DONT have a sangria on the Las Ramblas unless you want to pay £9 each for a small glass theres plenty of small cheap bars off the beaten track.
TAPAS TAPAS TAPAS WOW you must try the potatoes with salsa and mayo usually 4-5 euros a dish great with a fish dish ie mackrel ect If theres two of you 4 tapas dishes will be enough for a snack in the afternoon.
Next door to the hotel Soho on the corner is a nice little bar off the beaten track that is open till 3am so you can get a drink then walk the 20 yards to the hotel verry handy.
Overall that good i will be going back verry soon
Hope you enjoy !
Adrian from Doncaster

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian_ostcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed here for three days on our first visit to Barcelona. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very modern and very comfortable. But the best part of the hotel was the friendly and helpful staff, especially Johan at the front desk. He was the most helpful front desk person of any hotel I have ever stayed in! I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone going to Barcelona!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank af1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Recently the Barcelona airport shutdown due to the Volcanic Ash from Iceland. Instead of going home after our cruise as planned to Philadelphia on April 18, 2010, we had to scurry for a hotel. We were lucky to find this hotel with a wonderful, full breakfast for 110.00 Euros per night. The staff were all so kind to us -- everyone there, from the front desk to the housekeeping and kitchen people -- they were great. They extended our stay and did not charge extra as many of the hotels were doing at that time. The hotel was clean, reasonable with free computers and internet. I would highly recommend this reasonable, clean, nice hotel to anyone coming to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbcosgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Very modern styled hotel in the Eixample district of Barcelona close to all the great sights of this city, walking distance to everything. The hotel staff are very friendly and willing to help with directions. And the rooms are comfortable and very clean. Great beds with a great bathroom. All very modern designs with orange and grey every where. Breakfast was included and was an average hotel breakfast but served from 7 till 11 AM. Well worth money when staying in this great city.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoGuysCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

soho was a nice little place. the rooms are strangely super-modern, but otherwise clean and comfortable. front desk service is multilingual and very friendly, and breakfast is more than ample. free internet in the lower level was also a nice touch and the location is close to the university/urgell metro stops. recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angrylilazngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#81 of 515 in Barcelona
957 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 515 in Barcelona
2,273 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 515 in Barcelona
4,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#8 of 515 in Barcelona
389 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#76 of 515 in Barcelona
2,123 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#67 of 515 in Barcelona
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: Gran Via 543-545, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £64 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soho welcomes its guests with a glassed-in lobby and offers 51 rooms, outdoor terrace and pool with panoramas overlooking Barcelona, a media center with free Internet access, a breakfast-room with terrace on the ground floor, free WiFi throughout the building, and private parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Soho Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing