We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #60 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here based on other Tripadvisor reviews and were pleasantly rewarded. The tiny Hostal is located on the 2nd floor of a very old building so there is no elevator, only narrow steps. The owner, Abel, was gracious with helping us heave our bags up and down the steps. When we arrived there was a freshly made pitcher of cold sangria on our bedside stand. Abel, his partner, and staff went way out of their way to make us feel welcome. He even drove us to a flea market one day and to our cruise ship terminal when we checked out. The rooms are uniquely decorated with eclectic antiques and very clean. Our room had a balcony overlooking the street below which was nice. The glass doors to the balcony are new and block out street noise quite well.The heavy drapes muffled any noise or ambient light and we both slept well.
The Hostal is located within walking distance of Playa Cataluyna , the central point for getting around in this part of town. My mother and I felt safe enough in the area even when we walked at night. There was free internet access as well.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced and quiet place in BCN, this is it!!! Truly a hidden gem made possible by the awesome owners and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squrlgurl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

Upon arrival, we experienced the reception to be overall welcoming. We had our fingerprints taken, our ID cards numbers copied and our Visa cards swiped. The information provided was complete, helpful and comforting.

Our salute goes out to the hotel owners for decorating the hotel the way they did. When claiming to have an antique theme hotel, one should be pretty self-assured. Our expectations in this respect were met. Every detail of the hotel accomodation complied with the theme without ever making the guests feel dusty. The total experience was gay and pleaseant.

The rooms were clean and the supplies were satisfactory. However, the room airconditioning didn't seem to be able to cope with the hot weather outside, even though the latter can hardly be considered exceptional. Although a lovely hair dryer was put at my disposition in the single room, it failed to accomplish its single task. Honesty dictates to add that my friends in the double room had a different experience. For me, this is not much of a consolation, as I get really anal about my hair.

At night, the single room proved to be decent. The double room however appeared to be above a subway line. This is acceptable per se, unless a subway actually runs through it.

The hotel is located in the heart of Barcelona, which is practical and rather exceptional for a hotel in this price range. Although Sergio tried his best to advise us on where to go, we couldn't help but notice his taste being rather cliché. Upon asking where to buy jamon iberico, he sent us to el corte inglès while we expected a somewhat more local and authentic delicatessee store. He did however advise us a cocktailbar that was more than satisfactory.

The continental breakfast was a bit disappointing. The croissants and the pain au chocolat gave a rather industrial impression and were not crispy at all. Indeed, everything on the table was compliant with the antique theme, including the baked goods.

After embarking upon a discovery trip in the city, ones legs tend to be rather exhausted. We felt this to be an exquisite opportunity to enjoy the hotel massage service. Unfortunately, it appeared our visit to Barcelona coincided with the passing of the masseuse's mother. Consequent to this, the masseuse flew back to an undisclosed country.

Regardless of the nuissances mentioned above, we are happy to have chosen l'Antic Espai for our city-trip in Barcelona. The quality offered outweighed what we had expected considering the favourable rates.

Room Tip: don't bother, just don't get above the subway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbaeteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thanks a lot for your contribution with this review but we need to explain some points about it.
About the air-conditioning in our hotel it’s true, we had some problems with it this month, it’s solve at the moment.
The hair dryer work from the rooms not in the bad rooms, its explain in the room information flyer. For security reason, in the bed rooms the voltage is low, please use the hair dryer from the room where you will find enough mirror where you can dry your hair.
It’s correct in El Cortes Ingles you have a delicatessen store and they have good products.
About the breakfast: The toasted bread cannot be old, we do it always fresh once the customer are at table, croissants we get every day from the Bakery. They are maybe not like in France but we are in Spain. And the chocolate cannot be crispy it’s a hot drink, this quality is impossible in this kind of product.
The massage service was not available at the moment. It’s correct. Now is again at your disposal. It’s always available under request. Everybody has the rights to had family problem.
Regards,
Abel Estévez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Pros:
Awesome location - they are near La Rambla and other tourist spots. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Convenient supermarket (Opencor?) a few blocks away.
It was easy to get to from airport. It's near a couple of metro stops.

Friendly and helpful staff. Sergio greeted us warmly when we came in. Our room was ready so we got to check in early (on a red eye from NYC). He mapped out all the tourist and must see sights close-by. Suggested a tapas bar that we liked. Abel was quite friendly as well. And they both spoke English quite well.

The rooms were clean. Antiques were beautiful.
Toiletries were adequate.

Nice movie selection for relaxation after a long day of being out and about.

Breakfast was decent and they wait for you all morning (even early afternoon). Coffee was delicious and strong!

The area is safe. They've got a great fingerprint reader security system. No kidding around there!

The Cons:
Our room was small, but was expected. 

We didn't have tissue (Kleenex) in room which didn't help my cold. (But we stayed at another place, a four star hotel in Barcelona, and they didn't have Kleenex either. ???)

The walls are paper thin, so you can sometimes hear your neighbors, but that wasn't really a big deal. 

There was no safe in our room, but there was a common safe available. We used it once then felt that we really didn't even need to.

If we decide to take the whole family to Barcelona, we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nromero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel is well worth staying in: centrally located, reasonably priced and decorated and equipped in style! The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly and were of great help in dealing with the parking of our hire car, as well as recommending good places to visit, eat and drink.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at Antic Espai at the beginning and end of a Backroads hiking tour and both times it was lovely. The rooms are very comfortable, and very unique. We had the simple breakfast, and it was perfect before heading out into the city. The location was great, and they gave us great advice about seeing all the tourist sites. Also gave us a great restaurant recommendation. We really enjoyed our stay there, and would definitely go back if we are ever in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quinlan7004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I had an absolutely amazing stay at this place in July. I stayed here for 2 weeks. It was my first trip o Barcelona and I was travelling alone. But staying here made the whole difference to my whole trip!!

The place is very clean, elegant and classy...it has some amazing antique pieces each painstakingly handpicked by the owners. I stayed in a few different rooms during my stay....each room is uniquely decorated, and rooms with both the balcony view and terrace view were amazing. The wholesome breakfast is served on the beautiful terrace, and it's such a good start to the day and I met so many amazing people here.

The owners Abel & Sergio made sure I felt welcomed and I felt like it was 'home away from home'. They both were very friendly, and extremely helpful with suggestions of places to visit, eat and things to
do. They arranged a Boleros night for the guests one night....home-cooked Cuban food, live music and dancing...had an amazing night.

You can see that Abel & Sergio have taken so much effort to maintain this place o a very high standard and to cater to the needs of all their guests. The staff are very helpful and pleasant....and it's all the small touches that made my stay truly special. The central location of the place also made it very easy for me travel everywhere on my own.

I would definitely recommend this place to stay and I hope to go back soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSusanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We spent just over a month in Spain and Portugal, and of all of the places we stayed this is the only one that disappointed us. If we had just stayed one night we likely would have been happy, but after three nights we found that there were too many issues to really call our stay enjoyable.

First, the good news. The location is great, just a few blocks from Las Ramblas, within easy walking distance of Sagrada Familia and many other attractions, and relatively easy to find, even in a large city like Barcelona.

Now for the bad news. The hotel was way too over-decorated. This isn't just a matter of personal taste - we found that it was so cluttered that it was difficult to find room for our own stuff. At first it was quaint, but then it just became irritating. Toiletries were not replaced. Several of our bath towels had holes in them. Cleanliness of the floors was not great - we ran our foot towel over the floor in the bathroom after a shower, and it came up dirty. The bathroom is too small for any of your own toiletries (ie shaver, makeup) to be stored. We had a room that adjoined the outside terrace. That was ok as long as your neighbours were quiet when they used it, but that wasn't always the case and several times we were awoken by groups having an early breakfast on the terrace. If the neighbours don't wake you up, then the birds in the cages likely will. I love birds, and don't mind waking up to bird song, but one of the caged birds had a metallic screech that sounded like some of the toys that the street vendors on Las Ramblas were hawking.

Overall, we were definitely expecting better. I would not recommend this hotel for a stay greater than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livetotravelcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Thanks letting us know your opinion about our place. It can help to provide a better service. There are some points that I would like to clarify.
First: The interior in our place is rich. It’s a Barroc Style. Is normal in this décor to have a lot of items taking part of the space. The rooms don’t have some much decoration as you think. The problem is that it is not very big, as the bathroom, as well.
Second: Toiletries, of course, are replaces, in case you need more than what we provide you can ask. You have a brochure in the room informing, in case you need something, please, ask at the desk. If your toiletries are not spending, is normal that we don’t put new one.
Third: About the cleanliness, sorry. But this is the first time peoples complaining about it. We will have it in mind.
Four: It’s true, you can hear peoples if they are sitting having breakfast on the terrace. It’s a public place. They will never be singing or screaming. But about talking we cannot do anything to help. I only can say: If our little Bird disturbs you to sleep you have some problem to sleep. This is really the first time a hear something like that in life.
Five: The towels incidence. Can be possible that one towel had a hole but I cannot believe that happened more than one time. It’s something that we care really a lot.
I’m very sorry about your general experience you had with us.
Regards,
Abel Estévez González.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#24 of 735 in Barcelona
1,592 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#125 of 308 in Barcelona
107 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#67 of 735 in Barcelona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 515 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Barcelona City North
#207 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#213 of 515 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £51 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing