We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, beautifully furnished rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #51 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming, beautifully furnished rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hostal has it all. It is located in a lovely Moderniste apartment building and within walking distance to many attractions. This B & B is decorated in whimsical but tasteful vintage everything. It is very, very nice. We recommend the upgraded breakfast served on the enclosed balcony. It is beautifully arranged and was the best breakfast of our 2 week trip. A fun feature was in lieu of an key to enter the B & B, they use finger imaging....quite cool.

Room Tip: Rooms with access to the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overmyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    210
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
85
420
161
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is the place if you want to add some colors to your Barcelona tour and stay in a special place, not just a room to spend a night between rushing across the city. Hospitality of the owners and cozy charm of this little hotel space made a very good impression on us. We enjoyed the decoration of our room and hotel in general, all made with love. The rooms are well equipped, bathroom is modern and clean. There's a lot of nice touches from the owners like umbrellas in every room (it helped us much once) and welcome-drink, tasty sangria. Abel and Sergio were really friendly and gave us many useful tips (thank you for that, guys!) One should definitely follow their advice and try Cuidad Condal, a tapas-bar two block away from the hotel. The place is always crowded at night, but is not so obviously touristic. You might wait for a table for a while or try to get a place at "bar area", actually, in front of glass case with all those delicious tapases and fresh seafood. You can order anything by simply pointing the piece you like the most to the barman (and don't even try to figure out how it's called in Spanish or Catalana), while he easily pours your glass with wine, reasonable priced, by the way. It's really comfortable to have such place within some 8 min walking from the hotel, so you don't have to grab a taxi or walk far. And the location of the hotel is perfect, especially for those who came to BCN for the first time.
Breakfast (toast, butter, jam, croissant, milk, really strong coffee and a jar of orange juice) was served with charming classical tableware at terrace, full of flowers and plants, with birds in vintage cages. Don't hesitate to use the terrace in the evening as well. One evening we didn't go anywhere for a dinner, got a bottle of cava and some jamon in a supermarket, Abel gave us glasses, plates, lightened the candles, so we felt ourselves like in old-fashioned village garden, which was heeling after the hot day of intense sightseeing. I would highly recommend the place. We spent a lot of time searching for the best hotel option and are highly satisfied with our final choice!

Room Tip: We stayed at 3 different rooms during our stay and liked #103 the most. The room balcony has a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizavetaGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed at Hostal L'Antic Espai the last week of August and was very satisfied with my visit. Everyone there went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. The antiques are very beautiful and the rooms are very nicely appointed. As other reviewers have stated, breakfast can be ordered the night before and taken on the balcony or other areas of the hotel and it's a great value for the money.

What I enjoyed most about this hotel (aside from the wonderfully attentive staff) was the location. The hotel is situated on the Gran Via, very close to Plaza Catalunya with easy access to the Metro. Barcelona is not hard to get around in, but the hotel location makes it easier.

If you are looking for a minimalist "W" type hotel, this is not for you. If you are looking for huge "cold" hotel rooms, this is not for you. If you like to be treated well and feel like you are staying in a friends home for a long weekend, then you will definitely enjoy this experience. At this price and location, the overall experience of L'Antic Espai cannot be beat.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed Room 102 which faces Gran Via. The balcony doors keep out all of the street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael77092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here based on other Tripadvisor reviews and were pleasantly rewarded. The tiny Hostal is located on the 2nd floor of a very old building so there is no elevator, only narrow steps. The owner, Abel, was gracious with helping us heave our bags up and down the steps. When we arrived there was a freshly made pitcher of cold sangria on our bedside stand. Abel, his partner, and staff went way out of their way to make us feel welcome. He even drove us to a flea market one day and to our cruise ship terminal when we checked out. The rooms are uniquely decorated with eclectic antiques and very clean. Our room had a balcony overlooking the street below which was nice. The glass doors to the balcony are new and block out street noise quite well.The heavy drapes muffled any noise or ambient light and we both slept well.
The Hostal is located within walking distance of Playa Cataluyna , the central point for getting around in this part of town. My mother and I felt safe enough in the area even when we walked at night. There was free internet access as well.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced and quiet place in BCN, this is it!!! Truly a hidden gem made possible by the awesome owners and staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squrlgurl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bachte-Maria-Leerne, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Upon arrival, we experienced the reception to be overall welcoming. We had our fingerprints taken, our ID cards numbers copied and our Visa cards swiped. The information provided was complete, helpful and comforting.

Our salute goes out to the hotel owners for decorating the hotel the way they did. When claiming to have an antique theme hotel, one should be pretty self-assured. Our expectations in this respect were met. Every detail of the hotel accomodation complied with the theme without ever making the guests feel dusty. The total experience was gay and pleaseant.

The rooms were clean and the supplies were satisfactory. However, the room airconditioning didn't seem to be able to cope with the hot weather outside, even though the latter can hardly be considered exceptional. Although a lovely hair dryer was put at my disposition in the single room, it failed to accomplish its single task. Honesty dictates to add that my friends in the double room had a different experience. For me, this is not much of a consolation, as I get really anal about my hair.

At night, the single room proved to be decent. The double room however appeared to be above a subway line. This is acceptable per se, unless a subway actually runs through it.

The hotel is located in the heart of Barcelona, which is practical and rather exceptional for a hotel in this price range. Although Sergio tried his best to advise us on where to go, we couldn't help but notice his taste being rather cliché. Upon asking where to buy jamon iberico, he sent us to el corte inglès while we expected a somewhat more local and authentic delicatessee store. He did however advise us a cocktailbar that was more than satisfactory.

The continental breakfast was a bit disappointing. The croissants and the pain au chocolat gave a rather industrial impression and were not crispy at all. Indeed, everything on the table was compliant with the antique theme, including the baked goods.

After embarking upon a discovery trip in the city, ones legs tend to be rather exhausted. We felt this to be an exquisite opportunity to enjoy the hotel massage service. Unfortunately, it appeared our visit to Barcelona coincided with the passing of the masseuse's mother. Consequent to this, the masseuse flew back to an undisclosed country.

Regardless of the nuissances mentioned above, we are happy to have chosen l'Antic Espai for our city-trip in Barcelona. The quality offered outweighed what we had expected considering the favourable rates.

Room Tip: don't bother, just don't get above the subway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbaeteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thanks a lot for your contribution with this review but we need to explain some points about it.
About the air-conditioning in our hotel it’s true, we had some problems with it this month, it’s solve at the moment.
The hair dryer work from the rooms not in the bad rooms, its explain in the room information flyer. For security reason, in the bed rooms the voltage is low, please use the hair dryer from the room where you will find enough mirror where you can dry your hair.
It’s correct in El Cortes Ingles you have a delicatessen store and they have good products.
About the breakfast: The toasted bread cannot be old, we do it always fresh once the customer are at table, croissants we get every day from the Bakery. They are maybe not like in France but we are in Spain. And the chocolate cannot be crispy it’s a hot drink, this quality is impossible in this kind of product.
The massage service was not available at the moment. It’s correct. Now is again at your disposal. It’s always available under request. Everybody has the rights to had family problem.
Regards,
Abel Estévez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Pros:
Awesome location - they are near La Rambla and other tourist spots. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Convenient supermarket (Opencor?) a few blocks away.
It was easy to get to from airport. It's near a couple of metro stops.

Friendly and helpful staff. Sergio greeted us warmly when we came in. Our room was ready so we got to check in early (on a red eye from NYC). He mapped out all the tourist and must see sights close-by. Suggested a tapas bar that we liked. Abel was quite friendly as well. And they both spoke English quite well.

The rooms were clean. Antiques were beautiful.
Toiletries were adequate.

Nice movie selection for relaxation after a long day of being out and about.

Breakfast was decent and they wait for you all morning (even early afternoon). Coffee was delicious and strong!

The area is safe. They've got a great fingerprint reader security system. No kidding around there!

The Cons:
Our room was small, but was expected. 

We didn't have tissue (Kleenex) in room which didn't help my cold. (But we stayed at another place, a four star hotel in Barcelona, and they didn't have Kleenex either. ???)

The walls are paper thin, so you can sometimes hear your neighbors, but that wasn't really a big deal. 

There was no safe in our room, but there was a common safe available. We used it once then felt that we really didn't even need to.

If we decide to take the whole family to Barcelona, we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nromero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel is well worth staying in: centrally located, reasonably priced and decorated and equipped in style! The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly and were of great help in dealing with the parking of our hire car, as well as recommending good places to visit, eat and drink.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#2 of 326 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Eixample
Close to Passeig de Gracia B&B
Close to Passeig de Gracia B&B
#101 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Amra
Hostal Amra
#22 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Retrome Barcelona
Retrome Barcelona
#36 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#41 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Eixample
Ca La Maria
Ca La Maria
#6 of 326 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Property: Hostal L' Antic Espai
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing