We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #58 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible smell”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The smell. It was like a combination of mold and dirty, brackish mop
water. Truly offensive and inescapable.

From the moment we walked in the front door, we were blown away by the
foul odor that infiltrated every square inch of this establishment.
The place needs to be scrubbed down with bleach. Worse, we couldn't
air out our room during the day, because the only window was a glass
door that opened on to a shared terrace and left our belongings
unsecured.

The floors were filthy (we literally dropped a white towel in the
bathroom the first day, and picked it up to find it covered in
residue). I thought I'd catch something from the shower. Fruit flies
swarmed over a croissant we accidentally left out in the morning. I
recommended to the receptionist that they change their cleaning
service and products; let's hope they listen.

The other major problem was with the reception. The hostel didn't tell
us when we booked that there were any limitations surrounding arriving
at the hotel. Instead, they emailed us a day before we arrived to say
that we had to tell them what hour we were coming in (as we were
travelling, there was no guarantee we would be able to see or respond
to this message). Nonetheless, we emailed them back. After getting no
response, we called multiple times on the road from Villafranca to
Madrid from 10am to 2PM; there was no one to answer the phone.

This entire "hotel" is in fact one large apartment on the second floor
of an old apartment building that has been subdivided into tiny rooms.
We tried ringing the hotel, and when that didn't work, started
pressing the buttons for other floors, and a resident buzzed us in.
After walking up two sets of stairs to the hostel, we knocked on the
door until a cleaning lady answered and let us in.

I had high hopes for this place, but it was the first time tripadvisor
has ever steered me wrong, and the only miss on our tour of Spain
(Hotel Atlantico in Madrid, Antidoto Rooms in Toledo, Convento del
Giraldo in Cuenca, and MasTinnell in Villafranca were all superb).
What looked romantic and charming in photos was cluttered and
claustrophobic in person (not to mention filthy). The bed was small
and uncomfortable (even by European standards); the noise of the metro
shook our room; and the noise from the loud plaza below woke us early
in the morning. The air conditioning didn't work.

This isn't a matter of disliking antiques, period details, or boutique
hotels (all of which I love), or a failure to understand European
standards for rooms and beds. This place was just...disgusting.

The location wasn't terrible, but it was also some distance from the
main attractions and dining in the city. Barcelona is pretty small, so
most sites are walkable from any locale. During your visit to
Barcelona, make sure to visit the Boqueria market off La Rambla,
especially the kiosko to the left of the entrance that serves
everything a la plancha. Osmosis was a decent fine dining option. And
of course, you cannot miss the sagrada familia.

My advice: stay elsewhere so you can truly enjoy Barcelona. This place
looked like a deal until we actually stepped inside...and gagged at
the smell.

Room Tip: We stayed on the terrace, which was very loud with traffic from the street below and some of the cag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dkeen930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We can understand that not everybody like the fragance we were using in our hotel, but it is very obvious that you went too far, when you said our hotel smells like brackish mop water, you are not given an opinion, actually you are offending us, I don't understand why you stay here with this kind of problem. Maybe is you who don't like the smell but most of our guest are completly happy whit the cleaness in our place.
Second, I don't know where you have been for holidays before , but here nobody's belongings are unsecured, Our Hostal is save and we never ever have had any problem like this. Nothing desapear in ten year business. And for the valueble we have one General Safe.
If you leave your fruits a whole day without to cover it, of course, you will get insect around it. That happend around the world everywhere. On the other hand , we don't have flies in October,; it's too cold for them.

We don't need you said wich product we need to use to clean, We are happy with the one we use. I can not do and use all what customers saids. It's impossible to please everyone. Specailly with not idea about this business.
Is interesting that you found the floor and the shower dirty when everybody agrees that the hostal is actually very clean.
On the other hand About the reception service , we posted on our website that is not running 24 hours, so you should have read a little bit more all the information written there. And yes, we send people Check-in email to know exact time of arriving, What's the problem with that? If people are able to answer back, fine .... If not , well, we wait for them to arrive for the check-in. We made the rules in our place, if you are not happy with it go ahead and book in another place. We want here people happy and who respect our way to work. Actually lots of them do.
The first we do when we get a reservation is to send an Email asking for Check-In time. If you don't answer is also your responsability about the confusion when you decide to do it. We advice always to let us know about it. Also, if your plane have delate to avoid problems. We can not sit the whole day at the desk paying with our time Airline delay problems.
Yes, it's true it's an appartament building and in one floor we did this litlle place. Where is the problem?? That you ring the bell and not body answer it's very unusually. Never hapend. Why we will not open the door to a person who is trying to check in and to bring work to us? It makes no sence.
About that Tripadvisor have not show you a good place to stay: It's not what thousand of people around the world think.
Air Conditioning problems??? I don't hear about it.
I don't know about wich square you talk, around our place is not any.
Our Matress are firm, It's correct. Of course, if are use to sleep in water matress you can have problem with this one. For most of our guest are really good. It's impossible to have matress for every taste. I never saw a matress menu in a hotel. It'll be nice. Bed size, it's correct antic beds are not really big if you compare with modern and impersonal beds.
In Barcelona center of the city you can fell the underground running every 5 minute. It's not working after midnight and for sure, don't disturb any person with normal sleeping.
I think with you nothing work in this place. Think about it, compare what other people said about our hotel and have your own conclusion.
Our location can not be better, 5 minute from Plaza de Catalunya, 5 minute from Batlló House, 10 minutes from La Pedrera, 2 Minute from Calvet House. Close to where you espect to stay???
And to finish our answer, where can you stay better than in Dret Eixample in Barcelona?? Let me know it, i will move there...
Best regards,
Abel Estévez González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    210
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
85
420
161
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Although we liked the location and found room 102 to be surprisingly quiet, we were put off by most of the rest of the hotel. You enter by climbing a flight of well worn, poorly lit and poorly maintained stairs to enter a world full of stuff. There is stuff everywhere – the halls are packed with things to the point that navigation is difficult. Reception is a collection of furniture, phones, computers and more stuff. The communal kitchen looks like something you would find in a frat house – stuff everywhere and a refrigerator crammed with everybody’s stuff. The room is not large and again filled with stuff including a huge armoire that takes up way too much space, holds more than any traveler would ever bring and was broken to boot. The bathroom is tiny – really tiny – and not all that clean as the tile had signs of mold. The room and the bathroom had an interesting old tile floor which – had it been clean would have been a feature. The floor was obviously very old and to be charitable, maybe old tile just looks dirty but to us it wasn’t attractive.
We would have rated L’ Antic Espai lower if not for the location and Danny who was friendly, outgoing and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Very different accom. but grows on you. There's no room to swing a cat because there's antique "stuff" everywhere. Despite this, the staff were lovely and we enjoyed our stay. A bit of a walk to the main area - La Ramblas which was a pain but it was a haven to return to. The breakfast was good in the hostel on all the antique crockery.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Quirky, would be one word. Mental though, has to be the other! Its a boutique hotel in Barcelona.....but its so much more. The place is fabulous! Our room, which had an enclosed balcony overlooking the city street, was just beautiful. Full of antiques, full of charm and well air conditioned. When asked what time for breakfast, I said 9 am, then we were asked if we would like to have breakfast on our veranda.....eh no brainer, yes please. The door knocked at 9 am and in comes Danny with our breakfast. But it wasn't just breakfast. He took around ten minutes setting our table with the most wonderful crockery and cutlery and dinky napkin holders and cute little covers for our orange juice and milk. It was an experience in itself! A real must for anyone who is looking for that extra little special feeling! The place was spotless and I loved that we had no key for outside, it was worked with our fingerprints.....different! Great value too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iknowgr8food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We'd prefer to keep this place a secret, but you need to experience this hotel yourself. We will be recommending it to all friends and coming back again.

The service from all the staff is so very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The food and general hospitality here is first class.

The outside dining area was a surprise and the birdsong made it even more special. The decor and attention to detail is what initially strikes you, then the cleanliness and comfort makes it such a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenkins79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Small hotel in a great location - walking distance to many places. Staff are friendly which makes for a pleasant stay. Beautiful garden terrace in some rooms, great place to relax or have breakfast. Another sentence to reach the 200 character minimum.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mreaume44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Most reviews refer to the excellent location and very helpful staff, which is correct. This is a small, very quirky hotel/hostal. We had a room that opened onto a shared terrace which was fine. Rooms are average in size but more than adequate and the whole place is kept very clean by the very efficient and friendly maid.

Breakfast is fine but its the location and staff that make this. To get to the Hotel, catch the airport bus to Plaza de Catalunya. Its 5 mins walk from there but it can be difficult to find from the outside so you may walk past a couple of times without realising!

One other tip, if you want a coffee/snack, turn left straight out of the hotel then take the next left and walk 50 metres down the road to "Pudding"- very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#80 of 513 in Barcelona
1,662 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,956 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#57 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Property: Hostal L' Antic Espai
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing