We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A secret hideaway in a very busy city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal L' Antic Espai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #51 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sneem, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A secret hideaway in a very busy city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We discovered Hostal L' Antic Espai two years ago during our first visit to Barcelona. It is an oasis of charm with beautiful rooms and the most stylish and simple breakfasts set just off the main square and within walking distance of just about everything. This year we booked in for the whole of our visit. Sergio, our host of two years ago was still there and still as attentive, knowledgeable and friendly as ever.
The place is small, but not claustrophobic; it oozes charm with its eclectic mix of decor and antiques and it gives a perfect bolt hole for a stay in the City.
Yes we would stay again - and again!

Room Tip: Ask Sergio and discuss your requirements. Despite being located on a main road, the rooms are remark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    210
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
85
420
161
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our first trip to Barcelona celebrating our wedding anniversary and we stumbled across this lovely hotel on Tripadvisor. So many antiques and a lovely building. Our room opened up onto a lovely terrace. Centrally located and the staff/owner were more than willing to help us with directions and dinner suggestions. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Get a terrace room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peakeaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights following a cruise. It is an upper floor of a very old building, centrally located. Very quaint, furnished with masses of antiques. Reminiscent of an old home with warrens of rooms now converted into small little suites each the equivalent of a North American master bedroom with a tiny en suite. It has the feeling of a bed and breakfast. Our room opened on to a terrace via a sliding door where we were served a delightful continental breakfast among plants and caged birds. The manager, Danny, was most helpful arranging for us to be transported to the airport in the middle of the night. We felt as if we were the only guests there as we saw no one else. All the rooms open on the central living areas. No staff is on duty during the night but accessible by phone in an emergency. Make sure you bring along an electric converter as all the plugs are European. If you want the standardized chain hotel, this is NOT the place for you. If you enjoy the quirkiness of a boutique hotel which speaks to the culture and fashion of the city, you should be happy choosing this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

elegance and glamour come together in one space to offer the best service. Friendly staff, go elsewhere on our next visit.perfect location, always within easy reach of the main sights and well connected to public transport.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auronrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here one day prior to a cruise and two days afterwards. We found our room, which opened onto the balcony, very acceptable. It is well maintained and they were very friendly, and even managed to mail our post cards for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We opted for this quaint boutique hotel filled with the owner Abel's prized collections of antiques. The place was well-maintained. Danny helped us check in with state of the art fingerprint reader that we didn't even have to carry the key for the building. One day, Abel offered to take us to an antique flea market. We went in his fantastic red and white 1955 Ford Fairlane learning more about Barcelona and his life in this fantastic city! The location of this hotel is so awesome. It's two blocks away from the Plaza Catalunya and the subway (in construction) station is a block or two away. Danny recommended incredible Ciudad Condal (Ciutat Comtal in Catalan) for tapas. Abel recommended the best paella seafood place called 7 Portes... He said this is where he would go if he is having paella. Incredible hosts and fantastic location.

Room Tip: Incredible location, great hotel staff, and awesome experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyricJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Unusual and friendly hotel with ornate decor and very friendly hosts. Our room opened onto a terrace with pot plants and birds. Breakfast served in one of the reception rooms amongst ornate furniture and wonderful gaudy ornaments - in very Bohemian style/character. The hotel is unique and highly recommended. We had a wonderful stay, and it is also centrally located and very easy to find using public transport. In short excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#2 of 325 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Eixample
Retrome Barcelona
Retrome Barcelona
#35 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#47 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#49 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Girona
Hostal Girona
#45 of 325 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Eixample
La Casa Gran B&B
La Casa Gran B&B
#20 of 325 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Property: Hostal L' Antic Espai
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing