We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bijou hotel with perfect location and hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #55 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bijou hotel with perfect location and hosts”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

First visit to Barcelona and already trying to plan a return! This hotel, as mentioned by others, is very easy to find. If you arrive at a good time, don't bother with a taxi from the airport, just catch the bus which is every 10 mins during the day, to placa Catalunya and then a 10 min walk up the road for less than 6 euros each.
The hotel is up a steep flight of steps with no lift, I don't think, so could be tricky for some. Full of delicate antiques on display so not suitable for children but Sergio, who met us, was terrific. Gave us really useful info about tapas bars and we loved Ciudad Condal which was the closest and best but go early or be prepared to hang around for a seat. Absolutely delicious tapas but fab atmosphere and staff clearly happy and so friendly.
We had room 105 at the hotel with a cute balcony at the back. I think only 3 rooms have access to this back balcony so ask for it if that's what you want. It was very quiet and calm and we had breakfast one day there but the mornings were still quite cool when we went in early April, so the other days we had breakfast in the small breakfast area.
We chose the Spanish breakfast which was very good value at €5 pp and consisted of a couple of gorgeous croissants, pot of coffee, enormous jug of orange juice. There were other options for breakfast but this was perfect for us.
The room was really quaint, comfortable, clean, lovely decor with paintings etc everywhere.
From this location it was very easy to walk everywhere. We didn't use the metro once but walked to Parc Guell ( although it is a long walk!) La Sagrada Famila, easy walk to La Rambla, and the port etc. We took a bike tour which was brilliant and to be recommended ( another review) as cycling is very easy and safe and means you can explore the beach and old streets very quickly.
The hotel is very safe and secure and another guest suggested leaving passports etc in the hotel as they had had theirs stolen by pickpockets during their previous stay. Barcelona as a city feels very safe (apart from pickpockets)
We booked tickets on line whilst we were there for La Sagrada and Sergio printed them off for us which I would recommend to avoid queues. Sergio and his team were delightful and so helpful. We felt sad to leave and hope to visit his L'antic Espai in Cuba one day!
Really, it was a fantastic trip and this hotel was a big part of that. If you want a modern spacious room in a hotel chain then this is Not for you, but if you like something out of the ordinary, with a family feel, this is it!

Room Tip: Room 105 was quiet and had access to the " bird" Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    211
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
85
420
162
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sneem, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We discovered Hostal L' Antic Espai two years ago during our first visit to Barcelona. It is an oasis of charm with beautiful rooms and the most stylish and simple breakfasts set just off the main square and within walking distance of just about everything. This year we booked in for the whole of our visit. Sergio, our host of two years ago was still there and still as attentive, knowledgeable and friendly as ever.
The place is small, but not claustrophobic; it oozes charm with its eclectic mix of decor and antiques and it gives a perfect bolt hole for a stay in the City.
Yes we would stay again - and again!

Room Tip: Ask Sergio and discuss your requirements. Despite being located on a main road, the rooms are remark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our first trip to Barcelona celebrating our wedding anniversary and we stumbled across this lovely hotel on Tripadvisor. So many antiques and a lovely building. Our room opened up onto a lovely terrace. Centrally located and the staff/owner were more than willing to help us with directions and dinner suggestions. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Get a terrace room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peakeaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights following a cruise. It is an upper floor of a very old building, centrally located. Very quaint, furnished with masses of antiques. Reminiscent of an old home with warrens of rooms now converted into small little suites each the equivalent of a North American master bedroom with a tiny en suite. It has the feeling of a bed and breakfast. Our room opened on to a terrace via a sliding door where we were served a delightful continental breakfast among plants and caged birds. The manager, Danny, was most helpful arranging for us to be transported to the airport in the middle of the night. We felt as if we were the only guests there as we saw no one else. All the rooms open on the central living areas. No staff is on duty during the night but accessible by phone in an emergency. Make sure you bring along an electric converter as all the plugs are European. If you want the standardized chain hotel, this is NOT the place for you. If you enjoy the quirkiness of a boutique hotel which speaks to the culture and fashion of the city, you should be happy choosing this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

elegance and glamour come together in one space to offer the best service. Friendly staff, go elsewhere on our next visit.perfect location, always within easy reach of the main sights and well connected to public transport.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auronrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here one day prior to a cruise and two days afterwards. We found our room, which opened onto the balcony, very acceptable. It is well maintained and they were very friendly, and even managed to mail our post cards for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We opted for this quaint boutique hotel filled with the owner Abel's prized collections of antiques. The place was well-maintained. Danny helped us check in with state of the art fingerprint reader that we didn't even have to carry the key for the building. One day, Abel offered to take us to an antique flea market. We went in his fantastic red and white 1955 Ford Fairlane learning more about Barcelona and his life in this fantastic city! The location of this hotel is so awesome. It's two blocks away from the Plaza Catalunya and the subway (in construction) station is a block or two away. Danny recommended incredible Ciudad Condal (Ciutat Comtal in Catalan) for tapas. Abel recommended the best paella seafood place called 7 Portes... He said this is where he would go if he is having paella. Incredible hosts and fantastic location.

Room Tip: Incredible location, great hotel staff, and awesome experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyricJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#78 of 512 in Barcelona
1,712 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#113 of 512 in Barcelona
2,015 reviews
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#132 of 512 in Barcelona
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#39 of 512 in Barcelona
493 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#57 of 512 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Property: Hostal L' Antic Espai
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing