We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, special rooms, very friendly staff, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #57 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Unique, special rooms, very friendly staff, great location!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

What more could you want - located 5-10 mins walk from placa catalunya, this lovely boutique hotel / set of apartments has a unique feel, just check out their website to see for yourself. Rooms aren't spacious but they are big enough and there's a fair bit if storage. Breakfast is continental style but amazingly presented with antique cutlery/crockery and you really feel like you are somewhere special. The icing on the cake is the friendly guys on reception. Thanks for a wonderful stay. We will be back and you should visit too!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    211
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
85
420
162
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you're looking for some place different with antiques and character and don't mind a hotel without all the usual services, then this is perfect. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and it is in a nice, quiet location that is very near two metro stops and only a walk away from Ramblas and Passeig de Gracia. Rooms are lovely. Breakfast is the usual continental type but there are lots of lovely cafes around the corner.Cafe Pudding on Carrer de Pau Claris is lovely for lunch or breakfast. Will definitely return for lovely staff, location, and character of hotel. Also very near airport bus stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrouchingTigerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shani
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

+ Very nice design - baroque with 4 meter ceiling
+ Polite, friendly and ready to serve team
+ A wineglass of cold sangriya on check in :)
+ Room with balcony, clean, shower with soap, shampoo, towels and even bath hat :)
+ 10-minute walking to central attractions, quite at night

- Tight room
- Small TV (something about 19")
- No buffet

Room Tip: Ask for room for smokers - you will get a balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ketafoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is very well located and it is is really close to Paseo de Gracia and Urquinaona Metro stations and Bus stops as well. I took the bus from te airport to plaza Catalunya and it took me about 5 minutes to get there. I would recommend people to stay here and have a different experience. You definitely feel like you go back in time at L'Antic Espai. Staff was great and helpful! WiFI connection was really good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed four days in early April during a weekender break to Barcelona.
Hotel is easy to find and a short walk from the airport coach drop-off, so recommend using that service.
The hotel itself is jam-packed with antiques and paintings with a feminine slant to them and some can be bought if you like the elaborate styles. The building and fittings all fit in with the elaborate style and are quite comfortable. Staff and hosts are extremely friendly and helpful and cant fault them at all.
My only criticisms would be the lack of any in-room facilities to brew tea or coffee, plus heavy traffic noise if you have a room at the front of the building. We were in room 101 and needed to open the balcony door to let in fresh air (couldn't get the air conditioning to work at all) but the open door makes the traffic noise very unpleasant.
Breakfast is decent enough and served in a tiny intimate dining area or on a terrace, depending on occupancy of other rooms - you do get to know fellow guests quickly!
Well worth investigating on any short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid traffic noise and check the air conditioning in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

First visit to Barcelona and already trying to plan a return! This hotel, as mentioned by others, is very easy to find. If you arrive at a good time, don't bother with a taxi from the airport, just catch the bus which is every 10 mins during the day, to placa Catalunya and then a 10 min walk up the road for less than 6 euros each.
The hotel is up a steep flight of steps with no lift, I don't think, so could be tricky for some. Full of delicate antiques on display so not suitable for children but Sergio, who met us, was terrific. Gave us really useful info about tapas bars and we loved Ciudad Condal which was the closest and best but go early or be prepared to hang around for a seat. Absolutely delicious tapas but fab atmosphere and staff clearly happy and so friendly.
We had room 105 at the hotel with a cute balcony at the back. I think only 3 rooms have access to this back balcony so ask for it if that's what you want. It was very quiet and calm and we had breakfast one day there but the mornings were still quite cool when we went in early April, so the other days we had breakfast in the small breakfast area.
We chose the Spanish breakfast which was very good value at €5 pp and consisted of a couple of gorgeous croissants, pot of coffee, enormous jug of orange juice. There were other options for breakfast but this was perfect for us.
The room was really quaint, comfortable, clean, lovely decor with paintings etc everywhere.
From this location it was very easy to walk everywhere. We didn't use the metro once but walked to Parc Guell ( although it is a long walk!) La Sagrada Famila, easy walk to La Rambla, and the port etc. We took a bike tour which was brilliant and to be recommended ( another review) as cycling is very easy and safe and means you can explore the beach and old streets very quickly.
The hotel is very safe and secure and another guest suggested leaving passports etc in the hotel as they had had theirs stolen by pickpockets during their previous stay. Barcelona as a city feels very safe (apart from pickpockets)
We booked tickets on line whilst we were there for La Sagrada and Sergio printed them off for us which I would recommend to avoid queues. Sergio and his team were delightful and so helpful. We felt sad to leave and hope to visit his L'antic Espai in Cuba one day!
Really, it was a fantastic trip and this hotel was a big part of that. If you want a modern spacious room in a hotel chain then this is Not for you, but if you like something out of the ordinary, with a family feel, this is it!

Room Tip: Room 105 was quiet and had access to the " bird" Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sneem, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We discovered Hostal L' Antic Espai two years ago during our first visit to Barcelona. It is an oasis of charm with beautiful rooms and the most stylish and simple breakfasts set just off the main square and within walking distance of just about everything. This year we booked in for the whole of our visit. Sergio, our host of two years ago was still there and still as attentive, knowledgeable and friendly as ever.
The place is small, but not claustrophobic; it oozes charm with its eclectic mix of decor and antiques and it gives a perfect bolt hole for a stay in the City.
Yes we would stay again - and again!

Room Tip: Ask Sergio and discuss your requirements. Despite being located on a main road, the rooms are remark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#119 of 513 in Barcelona
2,024 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#41 of 513 in Barcelona
499 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#145 of 513 in Barcelona
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#54 of 513 in Barcelona
1,157 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Property: Hostal L' Antic Espai
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing