We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #58 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful Barcelona”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This quirky little boutique hotel is full of personality and is marvelous and the hosts are charming and accommodating. It is situated in a great spot in the city (close to Gaudi sites, not far from the beach, good restaurants close by, Metro close) and is secured by finger print technology. You open the front door and the door of the hotel with your finger! You have a normal key for your room. It is up a couple of flights of stairs but the staff are very helpful with your bags. We stayed on the room in the picture and it has its own terrace (which we had breakfast on one morning) and it is lovely. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishAudity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    210
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
85
420
161
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you like staying in boutique local accommodation, where the owner's personality, tastes and passions are part of the experience, then this is indeed a wonderful experience. I loved the attention to detail and little touches evident throughout my room and the hostal in general. I stayed in a single room facing on to the shared terrace and enjoyed a beautifully presented breakfast every morning before heading out to spend the days in one of the most amazing cities in the world. L'Antic Espai is perfectly located right between the Gothic quarter and all the Gaudi you could want.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice, quite, clean and safe boutique hotel, in a very confortable and strategic location with respect to underground and bus stops.
Personnel kind and effective will support for any need during the staying.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triphotour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Hostal L'Antic Espai. Our initial impression was good. The staff are very friendly and it has lots of unique character. Our room had a very nice terrace which was enclosed with glass to cut down on the street noise and we ate our dinner out there on one occasion. As others have mentioned, the hotel is very full of antiques and although this adds to its charm, the extremely large wardrobe in our room was much too big for that space and made the room feel extremely cramped. Only one small portion of this wardrobe was accessible to us as most of the doors were locked. This meant that we could not store very much inside of it. It seemed to us that if you want to put such an over-sized piece of furniture in an already small room it would make sense to at least let your guests use it to store their belongings. We had two extra suitcases with us which contained our bicycles so of course that made the room feel even more cramped but even if we didn't have those it would still be crowded.
The worst part of our stay, however, was the noise. The walls have no insulation, we are certain, so you can hear guests quite easily in the adjoining room. Initially we decided this was not so bad as they were pretty quiet after 11:30 or so. Also, the floor above is not part of the hotel but is an apartment and there was a lot of noise coming from up there as well. You could hear them talking and walking around ( sounded like high heels on hardwood). Again, no noise after midnight on our first 2 nights. On our last night however, the people who live in the apartment above had a party and the noise was unbelievable. It kept us awake until 4:00 am. We had to get up at 5:30 am that morning so we had a total of 1 hour of sleep. There is nobody at reception that early so we did not have a chance to complain to the owner. Once we reached our next destination we emailed them right away and complained. We received a short reply from one of the employees, not the owner, stating that no one else had heard anything and that if we look on trip advisor no one has complained about the noise. He did say that he complained to the people in the apartment above. We wrote back and suggested that at the prices that they are charging we would expect some sort of compensation for our last night. Even a refund of half the cost of that night would have been appreciated. We have heard nothing since. That was a month ago. We never did hear from the owner.
We are very unimpressed with the way he treats his guests and would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Vancouvertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
First, Thanks a lot for good opinion about our staff and our facilities / the terrace in this case, we are doing our best to please you all. On the other hand , when you mention that the wardrobe is too big , you have to understand that is purpose , the biggest itis the more things you can put inside. You said you couldn't use it properly, because it was locked, well let me tell you, that if you had told us, we would have fixed it for you. I can garantee you, that right now the wardrobe is ok. As you said it's to big, for that reason some doors are closed. Yes, the bikes made you feel the room was more cramped, but you were the one who brought those bikes, and the room is for you to sleep and relax not to storage bikes. Now our hotel needs to have spaces for bikes?? It's incredible. If you travel with all your house with you, of course, the room can be crowded.
About the noise, you can say you heard the guests in the other room , but that doesn't mean , this is a noisy hotel, which is a complete different thing. I was travelling a lot around the world and in a public place you always hear people comming and going. On regards of our neighbors, you see , it's an appartament building, it is true thaty people in every city have parties at home, but I can tell you for sure not every day, and once again that doesn't mean that the hostal is noisy, actually is a very quite place at night. But just to be fair, we went upstairs and made a complain to these persons and they apologise for that. If you had call us to inform when that happend we had avoid this problem.
It's correct our reception service is not 24 hours. If you buy a cheap fly ticket which is normally very early it don't mean i need to sit at the desk waiting that you leave.It is very clear in our web page that our reception is not open 24 hours.
The owner don't need to answer your requesting, it's enought if one employee do it. Beleive me, the owner have enought to do. Taking care of this place where everyday many people come and go.
You got a answer, of course, not the money. Maybe with this refund of money you will have not the time to sit and write this rewiew. It's not the way how the bussines go. If you have call us at the moment you were not able to sleep we had done something to avoid it. Who can tell us that it's correct? The only way it would be at the moment it happends we will got the information from you.
The only way to get your recomendation is to do what you want us to do, but I must tell you, we are not puppets.
Regards,
Abel Estévez González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I spent 4 nights in this hotel in a room with an access on a terrace. The room is without proper light and has horrible smell. Also be ready to get not properly washed dirty towels, as I got. First time I did not use that towel, second time I requested to change it. But “cherry on the cake” is the cockroaches in bathroom.
The cockroaches are of 2 types. The brown ones are running away quite quickly when you switch on the light, unfortunately I was not able to make photo of them. The gray cockroaches are quite “melancholic”; you can contemplate them for a long time and to make photos like I did.
Yes, this hostel is fancy and completely filled with looking antique things. But definitely it is better to go to the antique shop to have a look on it instead of sleeping in a hole with cockroaches.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Owner at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
First of all, It has to be said that , this room , as well as the rest of the 3 more that have access to the terrace, have exellent light, just beacuse they have big glass slide doors that opens to the terrace. So, in our opinion there's a contradiction here. On the other hand in our Service Offer we give the oportunity to the costumers to choose the Intensity and light quality. Where in the world you get this Service?
By the way ,it is the first time that , after all these years and the thousands of guests coming to L'Antic Espai, that anybody complains about the cleaness of our Boutique Hotel. Is not fair that you take a bathroom rug, and after using it for cleaning your feet and the the floor , you take a picture and posted as an example of our towels. Towels in our hotel don't have the hotel Logo.
As per the croaches, well we are the first feeling sorry about it. Just bare in mind the great effort we do to keep the hotel safe from them, taking in consideration, that we live in a old city with neighbors around and maybe the croaches come in the luggage of the customers , Who knows? But you see , it is more bizarre, that once you found the croach in your bathroom you didn't inform us in order to help you, of course, the best you could do was to take a picture together with the rug , so the world could see in colors your real desire: to stain our beatiful hostal reputation, Oh.. by the way , thanks for that. On the other side you forgot to do the picture from the other croaches that you mention, maybe it will help us to find them.
About your decision of staying in another place, it's up to you where you want to sleep , but in no case, is the same to see antics in a shop than in L' Antic Espai. Of course, not everybody can see the diference. In L' Antic Espai what do you expect to have?? Antique Stuff....
Regards,
Abel Estévez González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

What more could you want - located 5-10 mins walk from placa catalunya, this lovely boutique hotel / set of apartments has a unique feel, just check out their website to see for yourself. Rooms aren't spacious but they are big enough and there's a fair bit if storage. Breakfast is continental style but amazingly presented with antique cutlery/crockery and you really feel like you are somewhere special. The icing on the cake is the friendly guys on reception. Thanks for a wonderful stay. We will be back and you should visit too!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you're looking for some place different with antiques and character and don't mind a hotel without all the usual services, then this is perfect. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and it is in a nice, quiet location that is very near two metro stops and only a walk away from Ramblas and Passeig de Gracia. Rooms are lovely. Breakfast is the usual continental type but there are lots of lovely cafes around the corner.Cafe Pudding on Carrer de Pau Claris is lovely for lunch or breakfast. Will definitely return for lovely staff, location, and character of hotel. Also very near airport bus stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrouchingTigerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#79 of 513 in Barcelona
1,665 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#41 of 513 in Barcelona
475 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#56 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Property: Hostal L' Antic Espai
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing