We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I totally recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #60 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2014

if you really want to enjoy Barcelona, this hotel is the best !!!
the rooms were very clean, big, quiet, and amazing terrace.
Abel was very nice with us and very helpful, he helped us with the maps, directions, reservations..etc.
they made our trip very smooth... helped us with the bus turistic tickets, entrance to Camp Nau, entrance to Sagrada Familia, and amazing flamenco show...
the breakfast was so good and on time!
I totally recommend this hotel if you want to visit Barcelona!!!! ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aiham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
There are newer reviews for Hostal L' Antic Espai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in late May 2014 to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is weird and quirky - but in a good way! It is stuffed full of antiques - furniture, paintings, objet d'art, even the coffee pots! It might not be to everyone's taste, especially if you're used to more modern hotels but if you like something interesting, this is well worth it. The staff were superb and helped us in any way we wanted.

The location is very good - 5 minute walk from the Placa de Catalunya (the airport buses stop there), 10 minute walk from Las Ramblas.. Also, the very excellent Metro underground system has a station a few hundred metres away.

We loved Barcelona (it was our first trip). The buildings are amazing.

My only small gripe would have been that our bed (room 102) was very hard - but there again, some people might prefer that!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeygeeWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I picked this purely by chance off the Internet and what an amazing find. Very quirky with a complete overload of antiques everywhere. Very comfy room with sliding doors to an amazing shared patio complete with an abundance of lush greenery and pet birds. The staff were incredibly friendly and spoke very good English and couldn't help enough. Thoroughly recommended to anyone wanting something other than a boring hotel room which could be anywhere, a real " one off".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tribi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This quirky little boutique hotel is full of personality and is marvelous and the hosts are charming and accommodating. It is situated in a great spot in the city (close to Gaudi sites, not far from the beach, good restaurants close by, Metro close) and is secured by finger print technology. You open the front door and the door of the hotel with your finger! You have a normal key for your room. It is up a couple of flights of stairs but the staff are very helpful with your bags. We stayed on the room in the picture and it has its own terrace (which we had breakfast on one morning) and it is lovely. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishAudity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you like staying in boutique local accommodation, where the owner's personality, tastes and passions are part of the experience, then this is indeed a wonderful experience. I loved the attention to detail and little touches evident throughout my room and the hostal in general. I stayed in a single room facing on to the shared terrace and enjoyed a beautifully presented breakfast every morning before heading out to spend the days in one of the most amazing cities in the world. L'Antic Espai is perfectly located right between the Gothic quarter and all the Gaudi you could want.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice, quite, clean and safe boutique hotel, in a very confortable and strategic location with respect to underground and bus stops.
Personnel kind and effective will support for any need during the staying.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triphotour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Hostal L'Antic Espai. Our initial impression was good. The staff are very friendly and it has lots of unique character. Our room had a very nice terrace which was enclosed with glass to cut down on the street noise and we ate our dinner out there on one occasion. As others have mentioned, the hotel is very full of antiques and although this adds to its charm, the extremely large wardrobe in our room was much too big for that space and made the room feel extremely cramped. Only one small portion of this wardrobe was accessible to us as most of the doors were locked. This meant that we could not store very much inside of it. It seemed to us that if you want to put such an over-sized piece of furniture in an already small room it would make sense to at least let your guests use it to store their belongings. We had two extra suitcases with us which contained our bicycles so of course that made the room feel even more cramped but even if we didn't have those it would still be crowded.
The worst part of our stay, however, was the noise. The walls have no insulation, we are certain, so you can hear guests quite easily in the adjoining room. Initially we decided this was not so bad as they were pretty quiet after 11:30 or so. Also, the floor above is not part of the hotel but is an apartment and there was a lot of noise coming from up there as well. You could hear them talking and walking around ( sounded like high heels on hardwood). Again, no noise after midnight on our first 2 nights. On our last night however, the people who live in the apartment above had a party and the noise was unbelievable. It kept us awake until 4:00 am. We had to get up at 5:30 am that morning so we had a total of 1 hour of sleep. There is nobody at reception that early so we did not have a chance to complain to the owner. Once we reached our next destination we emailed them right away and complained. We received a short reply from one of the employees, not the owner, stating that no one else had heard anything and that if we look on trip advisor no one has complained about the noise. He did say that he complained to the people in the apartment above. We wrote back and suggested that at the prices that they are charging we would expect some sort of compensation for our last night. Even a refund of half the cost of that night would have been appreciated. We have heard nothing since. That was a month ago. We never did hear from the owner.
We are very unimpressed with the way he treats his guests and would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Vancouvertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

First, Thanks a lot for good opinion about our staff and our facilities / the terrace in this case, we are doing our best to please you all. On the other hand , when you mention that the wardrobe is too big , you have to understand that is purpose , the biggest itis the more things you can put inside. You said you couldn't use it properly, because it was locked, well let me tell you, that if you had told us, we would have fixed it for you. I can garantee you, that right now the wardrobe is ok. As you said it's to big, for that reason some doors are closed. Yes, the bikes made you feel the room was more cramped, but you were the one who brought those bikes, and the room is for you to sleep and relax not to storage bikes. Now our hotel needs to have spaces for bikes?? It's incredible. If you travel with all your house with you, of course, the room can be crowded.
About the noise, you can say you heard the guests in the other room , but that doesn't mean , this is a noisy hotel, which is a complete different thing. I was travelling a lot around the world and in a public place you always hear people comming and going. On regards of our neighbors, you see , it's an appartament building, it is true thaty people in every city have parties at home, but I can tell you for sure not every day, and once again that doesn't mean that the hostal is noisy, actually is a very quite place at night. But just to be fair, we went upstairs and made a complain to these persons and they apologise for that. If you had call us to inform when that happend we had avoid this problem.
It's correct our reception service is not 24 hours. If you buy a cheap fly ticket which is normally very early it don't mean i need to sit at the desk waiting that you leave.It is very clear in our web page that our reception is not open 24 hours.
The owner don't need to answer your requesting, it's enought if one employee do it. Beleive me, the owner have enought to do. Taking care of this place where everyday many people come and go.
You got a answer, of course, not the money. Maybe with this refund of money you will have not the time to sit and write this rewiew. It's not the way how the bussines go. If you have call us at the moment you were not able to sleep we had done something to avoid it. Who can tell us that it's correct? The only way it would be at the moment it happends we will got the information from you.
The only way to get your recomendation is to do what you want us to do, but I must tell you, we are not puppets.
Regards,
Abel Estévez González.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#150 of 513 in Barcelona
943 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#40 of 513 in Barcelona
510 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#109 of 513 in Barcelona
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
FisaRentals Gran Via Apartments
FisaRentals Gran Via Apartments
#118 of 732 in Barcelona
117 reviews
Barcino 147
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
601 reviews
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#5 of 308 in Barcelona
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £73 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing