We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #61 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Definitely not conventional or for those who are lovers of sleek modernism . Place crammed with fin- de - siècle furniture and artifacts.Wonderful sense of time and place. Well located for all attractions ,friendly staff and good value.

Room Tip: Back rooms on terrace are quieter - front rooms are larger and more stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Forget the boring "jelly mould" hotels - this place is crammed full of interesting stuff - it is just like staying at Grandma's. We stayed in 102 which had it's own private covered terrace which was at the front but we heard zero road noise with the doors closed - we had breakfast on the rear terrace as one of the rooms were vacant - which was great - when was the last time you had bone china cups and plates in a hotel?! Location is excellent - 5 mins walk from Plaça de Catalunya - so very central. My wife and absolutely I loved it. Having stayed in a mass of boring faceless corporate places this is truly a gem of a place. Just book it and be amazed!

The staff are all brilliant... friendly and helpful - making our stay feel like staying with friends or family - they really do care that you have a good time. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Room 102 is the large front room with it's own terrace, worth paying the little extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WithaLittled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here a year ago (I'm a bit delayed in writing my trip advisor reviews!). We only stayed one night because we were running out of time on our holiday, but should have stayed a few. This is a one of a kind type hotel, absolutely filled with lovely little knick-knacks and there is so much character in every room and public space in this hotel. I think it's a converted house, and you can tell so much love was put into all the details to make it feel like you're staying in a cozy homestead in the middle of a big city. The location is great, you can walk to most of the main attractions, and for being such a central location is was reasonably priced. The room backed onto a balcony where they served a continental breakfast, adding to the charming feeling of staying with perhaps an eccentric grandma! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avelynNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel, located right in the heart or Barcelona. As had been mentioned in other posts, the owners and staff really go out of there way to ensure your stay is pleasant and enjoyable. They truly care. We opted for the breakfast and it was very good. Our party stayed in 2 room 107 and 102. 102 opens to a courtyard where breakfast was served in the morning and where we enjoyed a couple glasses of wine in the evening.

Room Tip: 102 opens to courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smith803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We chose this little cute boutique hotel to stay at during our first visit in Barcelona. I don't think we could have made a better choice. The hotel had a very unique character and style and it was certainly not the standard soulless accommodation that you will find in big chain hotels. The owners were very helpful and quick to accommodate any need or question we had, and they really went out of their way to help us have a good experience as first time visitors in the city.
The hotel was clean, nicely decorated, and at a very central part of the city, made us enjoy every minute of our stay there. Although it was on one of the most central streets of the city, it was very quiet. The amazing patio complete with birds and plants was a big big plus. Will definitely visit again the next time we go to Barcelona!

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms but the room next to the patio was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

if you really want to enjoy Barcelona, this hotel is the best !!!
the rooms were very clean, big, quiet, and amazing terrace.
Abel was very nice with us and very helpful, he helped us with the maps, directions, reservations..etc.
they made our trip very smooth... helped us with the bus turistic tickets, entrance to Camp Nau, entrance to Sagrada Familia, and amazing flamenco show...
the breakfast was so good and on time!
I totally recommend this hotel if you want to visit Barcelona!!!! ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aiham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in late May 2014 to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is weird and quirky - but in a good way! It is stuffed full of antiques - furniture, paintings, objet d'art, even the coffee pots! It might not be to everyone's taste, especially if you're used to more modern hotels but if you like something interesting, this is well worth it. The staff were superb and helped us in any way we wanted.

The location is very good - 5 minute walk from the Placa de Catalunya (the airport buses stop there), 10 minute walk from Las Ramblas.. Also, the very excellent Metro underground system has a station a few hundred metres away.

We loved Barcelona (it was our first trip). The buildings are amazing.

My only small gripe would have been that our bed (room 102) was very hard - but there again, some people might prefer that!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeygeeWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#41 of 515 in Barcelona
521 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#157 of 515 in Barcelona
955 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#77 of 515 in Barcelona
2,125 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 515 in Barcelona
1,770 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#122 of 515 in Barcelona
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £72 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing